We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, friendly, relaxed and lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is not your average country house hotel; an extraordinary jumble of buildings and rooms with an old farm extended and re-extended, in lovely surroundings deep in the Devon countryside, the rooms all furnished with taste, all very comfortable. The owners, Richard and Sheila, make you feel you are guests in their private house. Dogs wander around, you help yourself from the bar, they light a fire on a May evening because it feels a bit chilly, the food is excellent fresh local produce very well cooked. This is a lovely relaxing experience - and we fortunately did not have any harridans on a hen party so very quiet. To be recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank hampshiredv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely words and recommendation. There is nothing nicer than a cosy fire in winter but if spring demands the same we're happy to oblige! We would love to see you again if you are ever back in Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I and our 2 children (aged 6 and 3) spent 2 nights at Fingals. When booking Richard advised we stayed in The Folly as we said we wanted a restful time. What a choice! We not only LOVED the hotel for its unique charm and friendly vibe but we really appreciated the Folly. With the children in bed early it was lovely to be able to enjoy the self catering accommodation (as well as the multiple balconies in the Folly) Fingals is a truly beautiful Hotel in a magnifient location. The gardens are beautiful. The food (even the shortbread with afternoon tea) was fantastic, the breakfast enormous! The pool, the tennis court and the games room were all utilised by our family and were of a high standard. It's not a square sterile box of a Hotel for certain, and not for everyone BUT it is our kind of Hotel. We will definitely be back to Fingals.

Room Tip: The folly is amazing for families....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Liz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Oh we're so pleased that you say you will be back we and look forward to it. We're also thrilled that The Folly fulfilled your expectations and gave you the escape you were seeking, you fitted right in!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Fingals Hotel in Dittisham describes itself as ‘unusual.’ It certainly lives up to its description and its excellent reputation. Set in an ideal location just out of the village, it’s the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. The hotel itself exudes homeliness and friendliness from the cosy bar to the comfortable lounge and the various dining rooms. The food is first class and the furnishings are fascinating with all manner of intriguing pictures, ornaments, bric-a-brac, maps, guide books and magazines at hand. The bedrooms are excellent and have great character. The bedroom my wife and I stayed in was quite something. Situated above the gym, with a veranda overlooking an idyllic stream, the room was the equal of any I have stayed in anywhere in the world. The exposed beams, the bath in the corner and the shower room created a one-room en suite bedroom that was both unique and outstanding. There are all manner of different short-and-long-distance scenic walks from the hotel, and from Dittisham village you can take a water taxi downstream to the ancient and interesting town of Dartmouth. There’s also the intriguing old market town of Totnes within a short drive and the beaches of Blackpool, Torcross plus the sailing mecca of Salcombe on your doorstep. Fingals really does have everything for everyone but its greatest asset is its hoteliers, Richard and Sheila Johnston. They are both wonderful personalities with a mine of information about the local area. They couldn’t have made us more welcome. We highly recommend Fingals to anyone who enjoys something different and unusual. My wife and I will be back down to Fingals at Dittisham at the next available opportunity.
Mike Gallemore, Publisher and former Fleet Street Editor.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the bedroom above the gym, next to the stream. It's unique and outstanding
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

What a delightful weekend that was - thank you so much for sharing your thoughts about it here. We'd love to continue our rambling conversations and ideas just as soon as you can escape the real world again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My family organised a trip away to Fingals for my recent birthday celebrations, we first came here about 17 years ago with our then small children, so it was wonderful to return with my grand children who were welcomed with open arms, as were the dogs.
The hotel is unique, we spent two afternoons in the garden with no one else around, and the dogs and children had a wonderful time chasing each other round the lawns.
The self catering barn gave us space to relax in the evening and we always felt hugely at home and consequently felt completely chilled.
The two dinners that we ate in the restaurant were absolutely delicious and fantastic value for money, and very importantly the bed was huge and very comfortable.
This place is like no other i've visited, it is so calm and relaxed, it is hidden away in a deep valley adjacent to a tumbling steam with beautiful gardens. Please don't expect waiters on the terrace serving drinks you are trusted to serve yourself. This is no place for a hen party,it is where you come after a hen party to recover.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicola W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Fingals just loves celebrating - and when people remember us and bring their families for the occasion it is wonderful. The younger element seemed to think they were on an adventure the whole time and that was a joy to see! Thank you for choosing us and we look forward to the next birthday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Anne and I spent 3 nights at Fingals to celebrate her birthday towards the end of April along with our two Cavalier King Charles who were made so welcome. Our dogs were able to sit by our chairs at breakfast and dinner - thank you. Upon arrival at 5.30pm, we were warmly welcomed by Richard and Sheila and provided with complimentary tea and cakes. We stayed in the Stream Room for 2 nights which was outstanding with a balcony overlooking the stream. You could relax in the bath in the bedroom with the windows open listening to the stream. The mattress was the most comfortable we have ever encountered. The room was spotlessly clean. Bathrobes were provided.Breakfast was lovely and kept us going until the afternoon.

Fingals is a delightful place to unwind, put your feet up and read a book. There are many places to sit in such as the lounge, library and even the reception area never mind various spots in the gardens. On the third night we moved into one of the family rooms as we were joined by our two sons on the day of Anne's birthday. We had dinner at Fingals on the evening of Anne's birthday and at the end they brought out a piece of cake with what can be best described as a firework - fantastic!

Whilst their we were shown around The Folly which is a self catering unit - wow!

The whole place is quintessentially English and we will definitely return. Thank you to Richard, Sheila and your staff - don't change a thing.

Regards

Alan Hope

Room Tip: The Stream Room has to be experienced - perfection in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanHope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Thank you for these lovely words - we're always thrilled when people arrive and 'slow down' to Devon Time! Of course we had to celebrate the birthday with a bang! We look forward to your next visit - in The Folly this time?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful part of the world. We were sorry to read the negative reviews by some as this is clearly no place for a hen night. We are a family and were thrilled with the beautiful lawns, the hothouse pool, the faded aristocratic feel of the rooms, the honesty bar, the tea and shortbread, the enormous breakfasts with homemade jams and marmalade, high tea for the children on a white tablecloth in the garden, freedom for our dog, the delicious dinners and the feeling that we were welcome to make ourselves at home. Our rooms and bathrooms were spotlessly clean. Sheila and Richard were gracious hosts and the place is full of their character in a way that is now extremely rare. It is properly English and eccentric. We also loved walking down to Dittisham and catching the boat to Dartmouth. It couldn't have been more lovely.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Honeydrudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

Hello and thank you so much for your lovely review. Fingals was made for families like yours and we are so happy that you all relaxed and made yourselves at home here. Do come back for some more exploring another time, we’d love to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Fingals is a quite delightful Farmhouse Hotel / Guest House the like of which is now sadly seldom found.
From arrival to departure Richard & Sheila were perfect hosts in their rambling lovely farmhouse home. On arrival after a fairly long drive with our two dogs Richard was there to dispense the much needed drink and to show us to a spotless and very pleasant room.

The whole experience here is one of a restful house party and is superb if you wish to unwind and restore the senses . In actual fact the hotel is very well run indeed and the laissez-faire and relaxed atmosphere is achieved by careful planning not by "mistake" .

The farmhouse is an ecletic mix of new oak floors , antique kilims , well suited "brown" furniture and quirky objets - and it works!

They have been running this home from home for over thirty years and believe me they have got it right!

The grub is really jolly good - suppered there one evening and breakfasted each day. Good steaks and really lovely vichsoisse using fresh wild garlic.

So if you want to relax and restore this is the place but if you want a "glass & graphpaper" town centre experience - keep way .

If this is "your bag" - go now - I am sure they may want to wind down before long!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Hello - how lovely to hear from you. We did enjoy your visit - dogs included of course - and are really so glad that you relaxed and settled in as our guests are supposed to! Lucky you were here for our first tasting of the delicious wild garlic - we'll have to see what we can rustle up next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
3.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,063 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
193 reviews
2.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse
Townstal Farmhouse
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
124 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range: £92 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 34 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. Fingals offers 5 self catering units and 3 bed and breakfast rooms which share the facilities yet are all completely private. There is a heated swimming pool, grass tennis court, Games Room and Gym for all our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing