We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots that's good but strangely unwelcoming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

It's a wonderful house in a lovely location. We stayed in the Folly which was a self-catering self-contained little house in the grounds. It was very charming and - contrary to other reviews - clean and modern where it mattered, authentically antique and quirky elsewhere. No complaints and loved it. The tennis court is wonderful and the honesty bar is a nice touch. The pool is unusual but works. The games room is a bit of a wreck but no matter.

So why didn't we love it? It was the atmosphere and general frostiness emanating from the owners. You can get a flavour of it in other reviews and even more in the intemperate responses from the owner on here.

There didn't seem to be any concept of service from the two owners. Rather you felt as if you were being done the honour of being allowed to stay in their house. Despite paying for the privilege of being there, we felt tolerated. The other staff seemed very nice but in their shadow. I felt a real sense of relief on departing and when we arrived in our much less grand (and far cheaper) hotel the next night, it was a pleasure to be greeted with a smile and made to feel at home.

So, it's a lovely house and a lovely location but I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rob_burley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank you for your nice remarks about The Folly where you stayed last week. We do apologise if you felt that you weren't being looked after - we try to leave our self catering guests in peace and quiet while at the same time being on hand for help if needed. Possibly it was our request that you download movies at night, instead of during the day when it slowed our computers down to a halt which upset you, but we are really sorry if you did not enjoy your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I can't believe it's taken me this long to discover this wonderful retreat from the stresses and cares of life. We had four beautiful days exploring this remarkably unspoiled part of South Devon and enjoying the luxuries of Fingals. The silence and pervading peace was therapeutic: I've long felt such places should be treasured and available on prescription. The beds were the most comfortable I've ever slept in. Beyond the slightly chaotic ambiance I suspect there is a slick, well oiled system behind the scenes: but maybe a system for communicating better with guests wouldn't go amiss sometimes! The B&B deal seemed excellent value and we enjoyed both sampling the local hostelries as well as the very good Fingals dinners. We were a bit disappointed that the communal dining table wasn't in use during our stay as we might have enjoyed an opportunity to get to know some of the other guests. I hope there will be opportunities for us to return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ssifd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for saying such lovely things about Fingals - maybe you should write our next editorial! We will obviously be delighted if you ever find the opportunity to visit us again - you can explore a little further and discover even more delights! We hope you enjoy the rest of your summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We needed a place for my parents in law to enjoy their family as they celebrated 50 years together - Fingalls provided us with glorious surroundings, excellent food and service and everything we could have wished for - charming and maybe a little eccentric one feels like one is at a friends for the weekend but without the need to help - what more can one ask for!

Room Tip: The family room is a little dated but the best from and family suite were lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2014

Hello and Thank You for taking the time to put up this lovely review. We also had a card from your parents in law - they seem to have thoroughly enjoyed the occasion, said it was a perfect way to remember their Anniversary and are talking about coming back! We're delighted that it all went so well and look forward to entertaining you again at any time! Best wishes from us all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I have never stayed at a B&B with such a magnificent setting as at Fingals. With an immaculate grass tennis court right outside our bedroom window and exquisite gardens, you are struck by the natural beauty of the place as soon as you arrive. Richard and Sheila are wonderful hosts and we loved the relaxed ethos which meant you could serve yourself drinks from the main bar and generally feel much more at home than at other hotels. The breakfasts were very good too, and the service was never less than warm and helpful. This is a truly unique establishment in a stunning part of the countryside and one we would recommend to anyone looking for a restorative holiday. Five stars! Nick and Julie

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank NickTuffnelPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We're so very pleased that you had such a relaxing time here - well Julie did, you certainly made the most of the tennis court! Thank you so much for this lovely review - obviously we would love to welcome you both back and to meet whoever will be coming with you next time! Our best wishes to you both for the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We last stayed here 12 years ago. We loved it then for its informality. Fortunately little has changed. It is more like staying in someone else's home than most hotels. No fawning staff here! Our room was very comfortable. The evening meal on the one night available offered several choices of starter, but only one main course, so seemed slightly over-priced.
We have already booked to come back later in the year with a group of friends as it is ideal for such.

Room Tip: We had the four poster room at the front of the house which overlooks the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DavidY121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Hello David, How lovely it was to see you both again and we're so pleased that you've chosen Fingals for your walking holiday. We look forward to seeing you all in November and hope that you get some good weather - but better bring your wellies just in case!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Hotel in an out of the way location. Very casual approach which makes for a relaxing stay but fraught booking experience.
Rooms were large, clean, interesting and comfortable. The hotel tries for a country house party approach and this works well but obviously includes shared tables, young children and dogs running around. If you don't like this or want more privacy then there are other options. Despite this, service is extremely good.
Good choice of wine, beer is bottled with no knowledge about how to keep it, what to chill etc. Food is sometimes excellent but at the same time we had cold mashed potato and raw broccoli - so best described as variable.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wiltsman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Hello, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Fingals. You are quite right, we do try for a casual rather than a formal approach to our guests and therefore there is generally a fairly relaxed atmosphere here. I will pass on your lovely remarks about service to our staff - they will be delighted and I hope that we can give you a smoother ride with your next booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is not your average country house hotel; an extraordinary jumble of buildings and rooms with an old farm extended and re-extended, in lovely surroundings deep in the Devon countryside, the rooms all furnished with taste, all very comfortable. The owners, Richard and Sheila, make you feel you are guests in their private house. Dogs wander around, you help yourself from the bar, they light a fire on a May evening because it feels a bit chilly, the food is excellent fresh local produce very well cooked. This is a lovely relaxing experience - and we fortunately did not have any harridans on a hen party so very quiet. To be recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank hampshiredv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FenSouthWest, Public Relations Manager at Fingals Boutique B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Thank you for your lovely words and recommendation. There is nothing nicer than a cosy fire in winter but if spring demands the same we're happy to oblige! We would love to see you again if you are ever back in Devon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
3 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
1,068 reviews
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Stoke Lodge Hotel
Stoke Lodge Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dartmouth
194 reviews
3.1 mi away
Bayards Cove Inn
Bayards Cove Inn
#4 of 52 in Dartmouth
493 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#2 of 52 in Dartmouth
377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range: £90 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 34 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. Fingals offers 5 self catering units and 3 bed and breakfast rooms which share the facilities yet are all completely private. There is a heated swimming pool, grass tennis court, Games Room and Gym for all our guests to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing