We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unwelcoming owner treated us like school children and overpriced rooms mill flat that was dirty.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fingals Boutique B&B
Ranked #2 of 5 Dittisham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unwelcoming owner treated us like school children and overpriced rooms mill flat that was dirty.”
Reviewed 8 April 2010

As my 1st line suggests we had an unfortunate stay in Fingles.
We were firstly sent an email telling us we would not be in the barn we had booked.
We ended up staying below the grumpy owner Richards' flat. Where you can here every movement.
I am not sure when people last stayed in this Mill cottage(2 bed 1 bath 1 floor) but we dusted most things down and felt as if the sofas held animals in them as there were no springs in them. We ended up boiling water to fill the bath and had to share baths. Having been told the barn we were meant to be in had 2 ensuites this was a let down but as 30 year olds from the countryside we can manage this kind of issue.
We had nothing but chippy comments from Richard who made us feel very uncomfortable being there and he suggested we needed to keep the place clean.
Well if he had had it cleaned in the 1st place it would have been nice. We left there with the flat in better cleanliness than we found it.
Richard still charged us the barns rate.
We are 2 couples who are well brought up and very understanding of anything and did not complain at the time.
The staff and Richards wife seem very agreeable and I am sorry we did not leave a tip but I was loathed to put this into Richards hands as he overcharged us at the end for a very uncomfortable stay.
He never asked how our stay had been as I presume he knew it was grim.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sudsheps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    26
    17
    20
    14
See reviews for
74
80
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bath
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I liked Fingals and I didn't like Fingals. I can understand how some reviewers seem to rave and also how some are not. Our experience (small family) goes like this:

Positive
Location - lovely and hidden away
Staff - all the ladies and the chef were lovely and very helpful
Food - what we had was good - great coffee and orange juice for breakfast
Room - ours was very nice

Negative
Owners - were stand off-ish but could be charming
Food - breakfast was small and no evening option other than the full monty starting at 8.30pm
Upkeep - fine line between shabby chic and shabby was unfortunately crossed
Flexibility - we felt that the anything goes ethos was confused and applied more to the owners than the guests e.g don't lock your door but leave a £20 deposit for a DVD

I think we wanted to like it and can see the potential but overall we weren't convinced that the label of "eccentricity" isn't an excuse for a lack of care but that with a bit more effort this could be a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2010

We stayed here as a party of six familes and 25 people. celebrating a significant birthday, and Richard and Sheila handled it with their usual laidback aplomb. the other reviews explain what kind of place it is - and you can tell from Dingals' critics that if you lack a sense of humour or adventure, and only dehumanised five star will do, then this is not for you. All the better for the rest of us, who love to embrace British eccentricity! How does the wiring get past safety tests?. When did the duster last pass through here? But then again - isn't this a great grass tennis court? What a fabulous old building? Kids can run around to their hearts' content, adults can languish for hours over breakfast, or read papers in peace. It really is in a category of its own (for the older ones among you, a cinematic equivalent might be Sir Henry at Rawlinson End), and you have to experience it to decide if you want to be in or out of the Dingals Supporters Club. We all absolutely loved it. So there!
PS And there's no mobile reception either - even better!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redfred1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medstead Hants UK
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We booked our New Year break with friends a year ago and knew the hotel was 'Quirky'. This hotel is deffinately that. Although Richard and Sheila were friendly there was also an indifference to us as guests. The other staff were excellent and friendly. Thought it was rather overpriced and although we had been told it was black tie for NYE it was only 'us' in Black tie everyone else was very casual. That's fine, if we had known this we probably wouldn't have chosen Fingals as our New Year break as we rather like to make an occassion of this time. As a base for walking and dogs at another time of year no problem. The rooms were clean the beds great, bathrooms very dated and in need of updating. Our room was warm almost too warm and our friends too cool. The place needs some work as sitting downstairs even with roaring fires you needed thermals to go to dinner (and I live in the counrty). Food ok disapointed with the meal on NYE. Breakfast great but had to ask for two eggs and two rashers of bacon. This place is pushing it to be 4 star. Other guests, dogs etc very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Medstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2009

I've only just chanced upon this site, and am frankly amazed at some of the comments. We had no prior knowledge of Fingals when we visited, having booked on the strength of their website.

There is clearly scope to be disappointed when you make a booking this way, but I have to say that our stay met all our expectations and then some. With 3 children aged between 10 and 14, we were concerned that any formality may lead to them not being overly welcome. We needn't have worried - having been given a leisurely tour by the Australian girl on reception (whose name I'm afraid I've forgotten) the lack of formality around bar operation, room keys etc made it clear that we had nothing to fear in this respect. The adjoining rooms were perfect for us, the food was superb, and the ability to have our own space but still chat to other guests (and the proprietors) was greatly appreciated. A few games of tennis on a grass court every bit as good as those I've played on at various clubs over the years, and immaculate gardens just added to the attraction.

The area is one we know well, but this was the best holiday we have had there, and we'll return again soon. We wanted laid back and unstuffy, and that's exactly what we got. An added attraction is that being located in a valley, the work Blackberry proved completely useless all week - perfect!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue-Moonies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2009

on arrival, first impressions not good,reception and lounge area smelt of dogs, with two dogs laying over sofas, everywhere needed a good clean, bedroom was damp with flies,spiders and cobwebs,heating was controlled but not by us, for a four star hotel we would expect far better, we booked after viewing their website for a special birthday weekend but comparing the two in real life you need a dam good imagination,
On the plus side,breakfast was good,but could not wait to leave and if not already left card details would have gone as soon as we had arrived.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank softtouchSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2009

We booked on the phone and i said that i was taking my girlfriend. The chap on the phone offered us a one bedroom detached cottage overlooking the lawn tennis court. It was a little extra but i thought what the hell.. It was full of character, had a reception room on the first floor full of nik naks and the bedroom on the ground floor with doors opening out to a decked area and a stream flowing slowly past. Increadible. What with the setting, the pool and jaccuzzi, food and service this was the most romantic weekend I have ever had, dont tell the present girlfriend.. It was a few years ago now but i will always remember The Fingals.

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravellingMacUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dittisham
2.8 mi away
Dart Marina Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Royal Castle Hotel
Royal Castle Hotel
#2 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
2.9 mi away
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
Browns Hotel Dartmouth
#3 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
Townstal Farmhouse Hotel
#6 of 6 in Dartmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
The Dartmouth Boutique B&B
#1 of 52 in Dartmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kerswell Farmhouse
Kerswell Farmhouse
#2 of 3 in Cornworthy
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fingals Boutique B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fingals Boutique B&B

Property: Fingals Boutique B&B
Address: Coombe Manor Farm, Dittisham, Dartmouth TQ6 0JA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Dartmouth > Dittisham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Dittisham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eccentric, quirky, unique, relaxed, different - Fingals is all of these and much, much more! A handsome Grade 2 listed Devon farmhouse which is mentioned in the Doomesday Book, Fingals has been family owned and run by Richard Johnston for the past 30 years. Richard has lovingly transformed the farmhouse into a luxurious country house bed and breakfast with self-catering cottages nestling in a tranquil Devon valley set back from the River Dart. As soon as you step through the front door you experience the warmth, relaxation and comfort which seems to hug you as you arrive! It is a home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fingals Boutique B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fingals Hotel Dittisham
Fingals Boutique B&B Dittisham, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing