We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Time”
Review of The Rockford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rockford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely Time”
Reviewed 30 December 2011

What a wonderful place, I mean the pub and Exmoor. We stayed here recently during the Autumn and had a marvelous time.
The countryside is just amazing, such beautiful colours on the moor.
We had long walks and returned to
log fires and an even warmer welcome from Cathryn & Sarah. Our bedroom (room 2) was newly refurbished and spotlessly clean. They don't allow dogs to stay in the bedrooms so there wasnt that whiffy smell you sometimes get from places that do.
We met some nice people and the ambience in the pub was full of oldy worldy charm. We will try to come again maybe in the springtime to see what a different season brings,

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowdropfairy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
166
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I was taken here for a Sunday lunch, also my birthday treat. We had heard many good reports of the food, especially the Sunday lunches, and I was looking forward to a good meal. The welcome was warm but the food was not. It was very mediocre, with a poor selection of vegetables and inedible roast potatoes. On the plus side, the beef was delicious, just not very warm. The glass of dry, white wine was obviously from an open bottle that hadn't been used for a little while. We decided not to stay for pudding and went to Lyndale Tea Rooms in Lynmouth for a delicious second course! Very disappointed and will not be returning or recommending.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LyntonLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
frankierosebud, Owner at The Rockford Inn, responded to this review, 5 December 2011
I was tempted not to bother to reply especially as the complaint was relatively minor in nature but it does give me the opportunity to make a point to her Highness the Lady of Lynton.

Its always disappointing to read a poor review especially when we try so hard to please. If there is some aspect of our service that makes you unhappy then I would always recommend you bring the matter to our attention on the day of concern. That way we can properly address the issue. We are here to serve and we only get satisfaction when guests leave on a positive note, especially those of a regal nature.

We are always looking to improve where we can and feedback is important to us. It doesn't help to have a review posted at a date later than we can be expected to remember and therefore understand what went wrong.

Maybe the limited choice of fresh vegetables were not to the Lady's liking. Maybe the wine was corked (this sometimes happens even in the Royal Household). Nobody else complained so maybe the wine just wasn't quite to her taste. Had we known we would have been happy to replace it with fresh glass from another bottle is she so wished. If the 'delicious beef' wasn't hot then that could have been remedied also. The point is if you don't bring it to our attention there is nothing we can do about it a month later. Except, that is, by making a groveling apology on Tripadvisor!

The decent and honest thing to do is to bring it to our attention on the day. We firmly believe that the customer is always right (even when they are wrong). We are not confrontational, and will genuinely take on board your criticism. Indeed, when Catherine asks: " How was your meal?" you have the perfect opportunity to make your point. Maybe its a little old fashioned and courteous, but thats what we would expect. Lady Lynton should have realized this when she acknowledged the 'warm welcome' she received. A more ladylike response would have been to talk to us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

My husband and I had been to this Inn 20 odd years ago and were pleasantly surprised by the changes that Sarah and Cathryn had made. We had a nice cosy room No 7 and we ate in the bar every night accompanied by a nice bottle of red! Can recommend the homemade pizza, steaks were very good and the slow cooked braised beef is to die for. Just the place to chill out and relax. If you were snowed in you could read from the extensive library of books they have in front of the fire with a good meal and a drink. We will return!

Room Tip: Room 7 is on the side double room with shower ensuite and you can just see the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mel0253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Exmoor can be a pretty lonely place. Just down the valley from where Lorna Doone met her untimely end, is this gem of a little pub, with rooms should you not be able to drag yourself away at the end of the evening. There's not much else around here....a wooded valley, the odd cottage and a river tumbling through which can get pretty angry in winter. Inside, it's as cosy as a 13 tog duvet - even in August. These days, the menu that claims "home made" and "locally sourced" is open to suspicion, but at the Rockford Inn, it really is just that. Pies, casseroles, stews, fish (and proper chips), all prepared by the people who serve you. As the saying goes, it's not fancy, but it's good - very good. A word of warning, though. If you're planning a walk up the river or over the moor, do it before you eat.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank david d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worksop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Our second visit to this b&b. It was as good as the first time and now even more en-suite rooms. This time we took our granson and he loved it as much as we did. Everything was comfortable and pleasant so that reflects on it's popularity. This time we did the Red Stag Safari this is a good trip for some of the history and wonderful views. I would recomend this as a good way to see some of Exmoor at it's best. Thanks Sarah and Cath for making it as good as the first time. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holstaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We went to the Rockford Inn for the night and just loved it. We arrived at lunchtime and had fresh fortifying homemade pizza before setting off on a local walk along the river. Stunning scenery and a cream tea reward at Watersmeet. Back to the Rockford to be joined by friends from nearby for an excellent supper. Fish pie, steak and ale pie, delicious fresh mussels. Hospitality next to none. We had the good luck to be joined by Mark the owner but the prize for looking after us brilliantly must go to Sarah and Cathryn who are so welcoming and whose attention to detail is next to none.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Rockford Inn is a charming place, in an idylic setting on the East Lyn River.
WIfe and I had 2 nights there, while we were travelling around Somerset, North Devon & North Cornwall. Food was fantastic - all home made, as very reasonable cost. Also a bonus was the fact they did Real Ales !
Perfect environment for walkers. Beautiful setting for a wonderful break. Sarah & Catherine were wonderful hosts, nothing was to much trouble. Two rooms have to share a bathroom on the landing, whereas the rest are en suite - might inconvenience some, but for us it was no problem at all.
Would really recommend this place if you like an idylic setting, great food, good beer, and great hospitality ! We would love to return again one day.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ken186402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
8.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
1.3 mi away
Blue Ball Inn
Blue Ball Inn
#1 of 2 in Countisbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#4 of 15 in Lynmouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn

Property: The Rockford Inn
Address: Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rockford Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th-century country inn set in the picturesque Brendon Valley deep in the heart of Exmoor National Park in Devon. Popular with farmers and ramblers alike, this riverside pub overlooks waterfalls and wooded gorges in a remote and isolated spot. We provide simple accommodation, good food, real ales served direct from the cask, log fires and permits to fish for salmon & trout in the East Lyn River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rockford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockford Hotel Brendon
The Rockford Inn Brendon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing