We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rockford "ROCKS"”
Review of The Rockford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rockford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 February 2012

My wife and i have just returned from a few days staying at the Rockford inn, EXMOOR.
If by any chance you have time to go through reviews and comments? We would like to say THANK YOU
XX

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shar&kev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

216 - 222 of 267 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in January and it really was a brilliant stay.

Very warm and comfortable, excellent food at very reasonable prices and very helpful people. Whole place was very clean and well-kept.
Really great setting deep down in the valley (no mobile signal but free WiFi provided) alongside the East Lyn river - a perfect place for a short (or longer) stay. Very close to Lynton/Lynmouth, Ilfracombe etc.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willow1035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

I was tempted to give the Rockford Inn a horrific review in the hope that fewer people would go there and I could luxuriate in the peace and quiet on my next trip (which will be soon I hope) but my partner said that would be nasty because Tripadvisor readers are not known for their appreciation of irony. So let me put it this way - if your idea of heaven is a flash, trendy gastropub with a happening bar, a happening vibe, in one of the most happening areas of England you will be sorely disappointed if you stumble upon the Rockford Inn.

On the other hand, if you are seeking a place so obscure that calling it a 'village' would be the height of exaggeration, a place you will most certainly get lost finding, a place so peaceful it is creepy and you start to wonder whether it harbours cultish fiends (and since there is no cell phone service don't bother calling for help) then the Rockford may well tickle your fancy as much as it tickled mine.

Prosaically, Cathryn and Sarah (the couple who run it) were sweet as molasses, the food (especially the game pie) was yummy, the bar served beer and the rooms were surprisingly funky.

But when the sun dipped down, the sound of the river rose, the doors closed, the fire glowered, and the gnarled neighbour told the only two guests (us) about the Exmoor beast, our two nights at the Rockford nudged their way to being the most memorable of our one month trip.

Please stay away.

Room Tip: I'd suggest Room 1, but since I accidentally stole the key you may not be able to get in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sfdoddsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights when exploring the area by car. The homemade game pie was by far and away the best food I've eaten in England - flavourful but unfussy, a real masterpiece of country cooking. We ate by the lovely little fire in the pub, which just topped off the experience. The accommodation is very comfortable with modern ensuite bathrooms (a treat after some of the less pleasant surprises this trip!) - in fact we were so pleased we decided to stay another night.

The area is stunning - a wild little river directly across from the pub with otter burrows along the banks. Perfect for a bit of muddy tramping, followed by a defrost session in front of the fire.

Thanks also to the lovely ladies who provide warm, sincere and very accommodating hospitality. There should be more pubs in England like this!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Is_Ought_Paradigm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We needed a break away from it all and the Rockford didn't dissapoint. Excellent food, great beer including local ales that are well kept and served straight form the barrel and top class service all made the trip even better than we had hoped for.

The walks along the river were fantastic; we spotted lots of salmon in the pools and plenty of birdlife including Dippers, Herons, Buzzards and Sparrowhawks with the highlight being a Goosander that stuck around for a couple of days.

We did plenty of walking without needing to get in the car and couldn't have wished for a better location. The accommodation was first rate with a comfortable bed and quality bathroom. The lounge area was very comfortable and with free WiFi the kids were able to remain in touch with their friends and throughout the stay.

My wife and I shared our room with our son and our 15 year old daughter had her own room with an en-suite. The whole family had a great time and my wife and I are already planning to return later in the year to get one of those salmon on the hook!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Just spent two nights at this beautiful place. Quite simply heaven. River/rapids flow by outside while a wood fire burns away inside. Had a home-made steak and ale pie (chips, veggies, gravy) with my pint on the first night which was as good as I've had and the service was spot-on. On our second day, after a morning's driving (and lunch - ham, egg and chips), we treated ourselves to an afternoon snooze (we're over 50, it's allowed!). Breakfast was as it should be - big and British. Would like to return VERY soon for at least 3/4 full days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

What a wonderful place, I mean the pub and Exmoor. We stayed here recently during the Autumn and had a marvelous time.
The countryside is just amazing, such beautiful colours on the moor.
We had long walks and returned to
log fires and an even warmer welcome from Cathryn & Sarah. Our bedroom (room 2) was newly refurbished and spotlessly clean. They don't allow dogs to stay in the bedrooms so there wasnt that whiffy smell you sometimes get from places that do.
We met some nice people and the ambience in the pub was full of oldy worldy charm. We will try to come again maybe in the springtime to see what a different season brings,

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowdropfairy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
11.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
339 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
745 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
485 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
8.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn

Address: Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range: £63 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rockford Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th-century country inn set in the picturesque Brendon Valley deep in the heart of Exmoor National Park in Devon. Popular with farmers and ramblers alike, this riverside pub overlooks waterfalls and wooded gorges in a remote and isolated spot. We provide simple accommodation, good food, real ales served direct from the cask, log fires and permits to fish for salmon & trout in the East Lyn River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Rockford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockford Hotel Brendon
The Rockford Inn Brendon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing