We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely superb”
Review of The Rockford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rockford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 December 2012

My partner and I stayed for a one night break between xmas and new year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this lovely Inn full of character in a beautiful setting. We stayed in room 4 which although is classed as a small double was plenty big enough and very well decorated and immaculately clean with a nice view of the river opposite. The dinner menu had a nice selection of meals and both our meals were beautifully presented and tasted excellent. The breakfast menu was also very good and service excellent. I am sure we will stay here again in the future and would highly recommend the Rockford Inn to all our friends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Di M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
There are newer reviews for The Rockford Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 10 December 2012

If like me you love a fantastic traditional pub then the Rockford Inn is for you. It has plenty of character real log fires, superb real ales straight from the barrell and the food was outstanding.
Our visit was christmas time, the pub was simply magical with a number of real trees and traditional decorations. The hosts were unbeleivable so welcoming and friendly they could not do enough for you. The rooms were excellent nicely decorated and plush. We will definetly be returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nigel j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Third visit - just as fabulous as the first time. I can not fault this place. If you want to get away from the stress of work and pause your hectic life for a moment then the Rockford Inn is the answer. Room 2 was lovely, very spacious with a fab bathroom, having been revamped recently. We'll be returning again and again! This place has really taken off and is now very popular - make sure you book in advance! Lots of walks to be found on the doorstep and a warm welcome and roaring fire when you return.

Room Tip: All double rooms are lovely but Room 2 and Room 6 are particularly fab.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliH_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have been to the Rockford twice now. The first time we stayed the night.....it was great. Lovely big clean en suite room and lovely english breakfast......not to mention all the lovely walks you can do straight from the door! The second time we popped in for a meal after a walk at Malmsmead. On both occasions the evening meal was delicious. The 'Moo & Blue (think that's right!) pie was delicious and as for the Stickey Toffee Pudding....well my husband who is an expert on these things declared it the best he had ever tasted. All this along with good ale and red wine....what more could you want? The hostesses were brilliant, warm and welcoming. We will certainly return soon( can't wait!).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazzer31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

Spent one night here with my 8 year old son. Despite it hailing outside, we had a lovely break here. The owners made us feel very welcome. I don't think we would've found it without Sat Nav though, especially with the awfull weather! Nothing better than a log fire in the bar area to greet you! The evening meal was excellent, I had the chilli.

The room was comfortable, although a little cold. The radiator worked, though didn't seem up to the job. I rarely feel the cold, but this time I did. I did overhear another guest complaining about the same problem. I guess its normal for countryside living this time of year? Once under the warm duvet all was good!

Breakfast was spot on. Would definately return here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark_Hanrahan, Owner at The Rockford Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2012

Thank you Roy for bringing the coldness to our attention. I guess you stayed in Room 5 which is the last room in the building. We will supplement the heating with another radiator to alleviate the problem at this time of year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

A wonderful old pub that provides great accommodation, food and hospitality. The hamlet of Rockford is beautiful, and the inn sits along side the river. The welcome from both Cathryn and Sarah could not be faulted. They are both friendly, caring, hard working, and very professional. The b & b accommodation we had, was spotlessly clean, homely, and totally in keeping with the beautiful pub. The breakfasts and evening meals within the pub were the best we have had in ages. Our daughter did not want to come away, nor did we, and we would love to go back there again. Both Cathryn and Sarah are a credit to their profession. Its great to see it!.

Room Tip: We had room 5, a family room to the front with a wonderful view of the river.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gskj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Arrived in dark so didn't fully appreciate the stunning location until the morning.
Catherine and Sarah are fantastic hosts and incredibly friendly and efficient. Lovely bar serving really well kept beer and we couldn't fault our meal it was superb.
We booked the small double at the front of pub and I can't see what peoples problems are with this room. It is small, their website says it is, so why the surprise when you get there. You don't have to jump over your case to get to the bathroom, you can put it on top of wardrobe or on floor of wardrobe, it really isn't a problem!!
The room was sparklingly clean, with a decent sized equally clean en-suite, with all the tea/coffee facilities you could want. Very reasonably priced when you also get a fantastic breakfast included in the price.
Do make the effort to walk along the river if you can, it is spectacular to say the least.
We will definitely be staying here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
11.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
339 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
334 reviews
8.1 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn

Address: Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range: £62 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rockford Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th-century country inn set in the picturesque Brendon Valley deep in the heart of Exmoor National Park in Devon. Popular with farmers and ramblers alike, this riverside pub overlooks waterfalls and wooded gorges in a remote and isolated spot. We provide simple accommodation, good food, real ales served direct from the cask, log fires and permits to fish for salmon & trout in the East Lyn River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rockford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockford Hotel Brendon
The Rockford Inn Brendon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing