We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay”
Review of The Rockford Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rockford Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Brendon B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and nothing was too much trouble. Very welcoming, warm & cosy, comfortable room & bed. Food was excellent. Brilliant location for walking.lovely tranquil spot beside the river. We plan to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    41
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
169
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

From fishing rights on the adjacent river, to facilities for walkers' mucky boots, this small, but perfectly formed INN is both functional and charming,Very well equipped rooms, good breakfasting area, welcoming bar with log fire and an acceptable choice of malt whisky.
The service is personal, welcoming and unobtrusive.
Breakfast was extensive and well cooked, as was the evening meal we enjoyed.
Well done Catherine and Sarah for surpassing the high standards you set.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john_abw_harris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We only ate at the inn but the reception from the landlady was welcoming and the food was very good.
For those real ale drinkers out there, the beer is served straight from the barrels behind the bar and is well kept.
If you want to eat here, go early as the kitchen closes just after 8pm in the winter and it's best to book as it seems to be busy food wise most evenings.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Clive B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

A very beautiful setting, great food, lovely characterful bar, cosy log fires and friendly staff. What could be better? We stayed here for 3 nights on recommendation and were not disappointed. Loved the food, and everything we ate was very good value too. Breakfast is delicious. I guess if someone held a gun to my head and asked what could have made it absolutely perfect, I would have to say - some proper soap in the bathroom rather than just a medicated hand-wash (my skin is a bit too sensitive to use that on my whole body when having a shower) - or alternatively provide another shower gel tube after the first night, as we needed a couple of showers and baths, what with muddy walks etc, so ran out after a day and a half! (But if we'd really been bothered about this we would have just asked for some and I'm sure the friendly staff would have provided it.) Everything else was flawless - in fact, I wanted to stay for much longer and I'm sure we'll be back! Thank you, everyone at Rockford Inn - Leonie and Jonathan

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leonie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2014

From the moment me and my boyfriend arrived we were made to feel welcome. Our room was well presented with a lovely view of the river.
The owner (unsure of her name) was friendly and helpful and helped us to plan our day out in Exmoor.
Great food, a lovely open fire and welcoming atmosphere. I genuinely have nothing negative to say about our stay here and look forward to visiting again.
If your looking to get away from city life and have some time out in the country then this Inn is a gorgeous place to stay,

Room Tip: We had a standard double which suited us fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snooker_loopy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

The Rockford Inn is deep in the East Lyn valley on the windy road from Brendon to Lynmouth in the northern heart of Exmoor. You have to struggle to find it down some narrow roads - but once found, you can abandon the car and enter the warm glow of a well run pub with rooms. While the East Lyn river roars by on the other side of the road, you get shown to a surprisingly modern room - lovely big bed with good cotton sheets, all new stuff, bathroom clean & modern, shower that works! Flat screen TV, free WiFi.
Go down to the bar and enjoy the log fire. The draught beer is from the Cotleigh Brewery - a local microbrewery making 4 or 5 great beers. Only one on at this time of year, but jolly good it is. Above the bar is a legend showing all the local producers who supply the Rockford Inn. They will enjoy reading this - the butcher supplied local wild venison (in season) - the fishman had some wonderful cod - the poulterer did a great chicken - super bacon at breakfast.....and so on.
Like walking? - a footbridge across the river leads to Watersmeet or Brendon - and a huge variety of valley or moorland walks.
The two ladies running this place are friendly, helpful and smiley. I think they enjoy their work. And so they may - they have a great business.

Room Tip: no noise anywhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

We had a 2 night stay,the room was lovely and big and spacious with all the facilities.food and drink was great and the staff were very friendly and helpful.good walks from the pub both ways along the river,A must visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank darrandleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
14.8 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
8.5 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
560 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
456 reviews
11.4 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
2.2 mi away
Bonnicott House Hotel
Bonnicott House Hotel
#3 of 15 in Lynmouth
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rockford Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rockford Inn

Property: The Rockford Inn
Address: Lynton & Lynmouth, Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rockford Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Traditional 17th-century country inn set in the picturesque Brendon Valley deep in the heart of Exmoor National Park in Devon. Popular with farmers and ramblers alike, this riverside pub overlooks waterfalls and wooded gorges in a remote and isolated spot. We provide simple accommodation, good food, real ales served direct from the cask, log fires and permits to fish for salmon & trout in the East Lyn River. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rockford Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Rockford Hotel Brendon
The Rockford Inn Brendon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing