We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intimate dinner for two”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brendon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag Hunters Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Certificate of Excellence
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Intimate dinner for two”
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Booked in advance for dinner for two. Food was average, but the evening was really spoiled by the presence of a total of eight dogs in the restaurant, The one at the next table was big enough to open its jaws and swallow someone and was quite intimidating.. I was more than surprised that dogs were allowed at all in a restaurant which boasts of its excellence.tHe garden would have been more suitable for them. Put us right off as we hasd to listen to panting, and also to owners disciplining their pets. What a shame. Ruined our evening.

f

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Exmoormaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, 4 July 2013
I am sorry your fellow diners spoilt your intimate evening but I feel your complaint is with them, unless you expect us to ban dogs from the Inn. You need to understand that you are in the countryside where some customers enjoy coming to relax and enjoy their evening with like minded people and their canine family.
We do not boast about anything, however we do take a pride in what we do and I think my chefs are first class and you dined in the bar lounge not the restaurant.
To any future potential diners, please request to eat in the restaurant if you do not enjoy the company of dogs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    47
    8
    6
    7
See reviews for
43
120
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I have eaten at this hotel many times over the years but this time decided to stay for four nights and enjoy the whole ambiance! I was not disappointed everything that has been said before I agree with.
I had a lovely single room with superb shower room and no single supplement! That in itself is very welcome to the single traveler who frequently gets charged a supplement despite not occupying a double room. My beagle Molly was very welcome too. The setting is spectacular on the banks of the East Lynn and there is a magnificent garden available to guests.

I don't understand one or two comments about the welcome received as Richard, Wendy, James and Simon could not have been more welcoming. The food is all home made and abundant. Breakfast is a delight taken in the residents dining room overlooking the garden. My only query is why this room is not available for dinner? Although the pub bar is large it can get very busy and sometimes very difficult to get a table if you are not a guest. Dogs are welcome everywhere other than the resident's dining room and garden. If you don't like dogs don't go.

Finally various offers are available which include the evening dinner and they are very good value.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dalehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

We have just returned from a 5 night stay and both had a very enjoyable stay. The room we were allocated had a balcony with beautiful views over the landscaped gardens and paddocks beyond. From the minute we arrived both the owners and staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. We had opted for bed breakfast and evening meal and the food was excellent. Very well presented and delicious. We visited with friends and both had our dogs with us. The dogs were made just as welcome as we were. Nothing seemed too much trouble for the owners or staff and we would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a great place to stay. Also has great walks on the doorstep. A perfect retreat in a perfect location. Thank you to all for making it such a memorable and pleasant stay. Mick, joe and Oscy the border terrier.

Room Tip: The rooms at the rear of hotel have outside seating areas with lovely views. These are rooms 7 8 9 a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickalan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This was our first stay at the Staghunters, but not our first visit, as we have often dined here when staying in a local cottage, but as there was 4 of us this time we booked the entire stay at the staghunters, and we were glad we did!! The rooms were comfortable and with the lovely balcony the ideal place to enjoy your morning brew. But what really makes this place deserve it's 5 star rating is the staff. They are wonderful, helpful, friendly and nothing is too much for them and all members of our party were treated as good friends (including our four legged members!!) the food was lovely, and all cooked to order, but a few pounds may have been gained during this stay!! Everything you expect from a country pub but also a great homely feel, so great thanks to everyone for really making this a great visit, and I am sure we will be back as soon as we can!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleverCut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Having stayed there 3 nights i must say the welcome we got from the staff was excellent and the food was delivered to a very high standard with all needs met i.e veggi, and the room we stayed in was newly decorated with a bath to die for.
There were walks all around aswell with there breath taking views, Waters meet, lynton, The Ale they served would be the best you would drink around very reasonably priced.
I must agree with some reviews i would i liked to have sat in the restaurant for evening meals but it still was'nt a problem has the bar was very spaceous and warm with the output of heat from the nice log burner, The owners and the staff really could'nt do enough for us all and for that i would highly recommend this place to anyone and everyone for a real nice chill of a break to get back to basics and really appreciate what we have in our country.

Room Tip: The rooms over looking the garden on the 1st floor Excellent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendip Hills Somerset
Level Contributor
374 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 423 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Hubby and I visited while staying on Exmoor and required an evening meal. We were made welcome as walk ins and waiting staff were very attentive, even though clearly quite busy. Hubby had and excellent liver and bacon and I have a great scampi and chips. Reasonably priced and well served.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tigi_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Having stayed for three nights in May 2013 we found this small inn to be a great place with terrific food , large portions and welcoming staff. Rooms were excellent, clean, airy and light and appear recently decorated. My only criticism is that 'dessert' should not be charged as an extra to a DBB booking and perhaps the restaurant should be open in the evenings rather that having to eat in the bar and having to order at the bar, Gardens are tidy and the wildlife in them are great. Also , although I am a dog lover myself I do not believe dogs should be allowed in the eating area. However, for the rate we paid we would most definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onmyhols6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
14.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
5.5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
3.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag Hunters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hunters Hotel

Property: The Stag Hunters Hotel
Address: Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stag Hunters Hotel
The Stag Hunters Hotel Brendon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing