We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brendon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag Hunters Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the stag hunters 40years ago on our honeymoon went back on our ruby annerversary this weekend and it was fantastic hotel and staff made us so welcome the hotel is in such a stunning location could not have chosen better to celebrate our weekend such a friendley place to stay it won't be 40years before we go back Trev Kay xx

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank trev1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Dear Trevor and Kay, it was a pleasure to meet you both and do not forget what we agreed, you will not leave it for another 40 years!
Best wishes,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (231)
There are newer reviews for The Stag Hunters Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently visited The Stag Hunters Inn at Brendon whilst rambling between Brendon and Lynton/Lynmouth on Exmoor National Park. Just called in to the bar for a drink at lunchtime as the weather was not too good, and needed to rest some weary legs. Situated in a beautiful area on Exmoor. Muddy boots were welcomed along with dog walkers.Member of staff who served us (think it was owner) was lovely and very friendly and interested. He thanked us for our custom even though it was 2 drinks, as we left.I would imagine as a place to stay the food and service etc would be very adequate. We were made to feel more than welcome despite being 'passing trade'.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank JaynieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2014

Thank you for your appreciative review, it is always satisfying to get a positive response from customers, though we are doing something we enjoy. Please come again.
Best wishes,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

A friendly welcome from Simon got things off to a good start - he showed us to our room which was clean and attractively presented - it was lovely to find such a spacious en-suite,too. We soon discovered the large garden which can be used by guests as a delightful place to relax - the resident cat may join you there! We took our evening meals in the lounge and both of us thoroughly enjoyed them.There is also a bar, mostly used by locals.It was pleasant to take breakfast in a different room overlooking the garden - a full English available or something lighter if you prefer. There is a private lounge for residents which is useful for planning your activities for the day - in our case deciding which of the many and varied walks to tackle.After an excellent dinner and maybe a few drinks you will have no trouble sleeping in this quiet and peaceful location.We found all the family that we met and also the staff,particularly a young Bulgarian girl, both friendly and helpful.Richard told us something of the history of the building which was fascinating - it was once a coaching inn - built on the site of an abbey.I must mention Wendy who seems to put in a lot of work behind the scenes to ensure that guests have a lovely stay.We travelled from County Durham a distance of about 360 miles - if you live closer then you're lucky.Thanks to all at 'The Stag Hunters' Arthur and Kath

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent - large en-suite
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 454chimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Wow, thank you for such a splendid and well written review. It was a joy to make your acquaintance and we do hope the distance does not stand in the way of a repeat visit. Best wishes from Richard, Wendy, Simon, James, Chefs Sarah and Haley, Eva, our delightful Bulgarian, and the rest of our dedicated team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Stag Hunters Hotel is a lovely pub in the middle of a very beautiful spot on Exmoor. It is run by lovely staff who were welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, some of them (including the one we had) with a beautiful view out to the gardens at the rear. Breakfast was good, as was the service.

Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JackPudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you for the complimentary review, it was a delight to cater to such a friendly couple, we do hope you will return. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent two nights here for my wifes birthday.Our kids and grandkids camped up the road at Riverside ( great site according to them)
Had a family meal Saturday night in the hotel then we all had a great time in the lounge bar as it was folk night, we were all made most welcome( even kids 5 & 9!) Sorry about my solo performance folks!!.
Great breakfast, lovely people even gave my wife a birthday card.
Would highly recommend this place and we will be back
Ian

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank I1668PKians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend in our Inn, thank you for the positive review, we will look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thanks to all at the Stag Hunters Inn, what a home from home, only a lot more relaxing, from the moment we walked in we felt the stresses melt away, we were celebrating a birthday and our wedding anniversary, when Richard and the team found out they made our stay extra special. The room at the front of the Inn was great very comfortable and the river flowing by only yards away over the narrow road made it very relaxing, could not fault the excellent home cooked food, plenty of it!, all of the staff were very helpful and attentive. We are already planning our next visit, can't wait. Thanks again Adrian and Jennie Collins

Room Tip: We had room 15 excellent
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Thank you Adrian and Jennie for writing such a glowing review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we sincerely hope to greet you again. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We needed to stay in the Exmoor area for two nights over the May day bank holiday and we thought we would take our two dogs (first time). Stag hunters came up on a dog friendly search, what a treat, we would highly recommend it. Lovely setting within walking distance of Lynton and Lynmouth. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Ground floor room over looking the garden which was ideal for the dogs. Very clean and comfortable room, was expecting a certain type of accommodation if dogs in the room but we were pleasantly surprised. BB and evening meal good value, simple home cooked food . Wonderful facilities for the dogs, paddock to run them and they were welcome in pub and sat under our tables. WE WILL BE BACK.

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor room if you are taking your dog.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

We, at the Staghunters, are very happy you and your pets enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to your next visit.
Best wishes. From Richard, family and team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
14.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
723 reviews
7.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
180 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Rectory Hotel
The Old Rectory Hotel
#1 of 1 in Martinhoe
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
2.7 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
45 reviews
2.9 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag Hunters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hunters Hotel

Address: Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Price Range: £53 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stag Hunters Hotel
The Stag Hunters Hotel Brendon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing