We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“stray dog” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Stag Hunters Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Brendon
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stag Hunters Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Certificate of Excellence
Axbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stray dog”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

thank you all for a lovely time over the bank holiday weekend,everyone was very helpful with whatever we needed,fantastic food every time.i just hope that doughnut the dog finds a good home after the dog shelter people turn up.yes Richard you got me that time!!! by the way wendy put me up to it.All the best Alison & tim

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay, it was fun, so was the ruse! We will look forward to your next visit. Best wishes, Richard and Wendy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    47
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
40
116
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
worcester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed at the stag hunters 40years ago on our honeymoon went back on our ruby annerversary this weekend and it was fantastic hotel and staff made us so welcome the hotel is in such a stunning location could not have chosen better to celebrate our weekend such a friendley place to stay it won't be 40years before we go back Trev Kay xx

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trev1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Dear Trevor and Kay, it was a pleasure to meet you both and do not forget what we agreed, you will not leave it for another 40 years!
Best wishes,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Recently visited The Stag Hunters Inn at Brendon whilst rambling between Brendon and Lynton/Lynmouth on Exmoor National Park. Just called in to the bar for a drink at lunchtime as the weather was not too good, and needed to rest some weary legs. Situated in a beautiful area on Exmoor. Muddy boots were welcomed along with dog walkers.Member of staff who served us (think it was owner) was lovely and very friendly and interested. He thanked us for our custom even though it was 2 drinks, as we left.I would imagine as a place to stay the food and service etc would be very adequate. We were made to feel more than welcome despite being 'passing trade'.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JaynieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for your appreciative review, it is always satisfying to get a positive response from customers, though we are doing something we enjoy. Please come again.
Best wishes,
Richard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

A friendly welcome from Simon got things off to a good start - he showed us to our room which was clean and attractively presented - it was lovely to find such a spacious en-suite,too. We soon discovered the large garden which can be used by guests as a delightful place to relax - the resident cat may join you there! We took our evening meals in the lounge and both of us thoroughly enjoyed them.There is also a bar, mostly used by locals.It was pleasant to take breakfast in a different room overlooking the garden - a full English available or something lighter if you prefer. There is a private lounge for residents which is useful for planning your activities for the day - in our case deciding which of the many and varied walks to tackle.After an excellent dinner and maybe a few drinks you will have no trouble sleeping in this quiet and peaceful location.We found all the family that we met and also the staff,particularly a young Bulgarian girl, both friendly and helpful.Richard told us something of the history of the building which was fascinating - it was once a coaching inn - built on the site of an abbey.I must mention Wendy who seems to put in a lot of work behind the scenes to ensure that guests have a lovely stay.We travelled from County Durham a distance of about 360 miles - if you live closer then you're lucky.Thanks to all at 'The Stag Hunters' Arthur and Kath

Room Tip: Room 1 is excellent - large en-suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 454chimera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Wow, thank you for such a splendid and well written review. It was a joy to make your acquaintance and we do hope the distance does not stand in the way of a repeat visit. Best wishes from Richard, Wendy, Simon, James, Chefs Sarah and Haley, Eva, our delightful Bulgarian, and the rest of our dedicated team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
231 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

The Stag Hunters Hotel is a lovely pub in the middle of a very beautiful spot on Exmoor. It is run by lovely staff who were welcoming and helpful. The rooms are comfortable, some of them (including the one we had) with a beautiful view out to the gardens at the rear. Breakfast was good, as was the service.

Recommended!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JackPudding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for the complimentary review, it was a delight to cater to such a friendly couple, we do hope you will return. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

Spent two nights here for my wifes birthday.Our kids and grandkids camped up the road at Riverside ( great site according to them)
Had a family meal Saturday night in the hotel then we all had a great time in the lounge bar as it was folk night, we were all made most welcome( even kids 5 & 9!) Sorry about my solo performance folks!!.
Great breakfast, lovely people even gave my wife a birthday card.
Would highly recommend this place and we will be back
Ian

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank I1668PKians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your weekend in our Inn, thank you for the positive review, we will look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thanks to all at the Stag Hunters Inn, what a home from home, only a lot more relaxing, from the moment we walked in we felt the stresses melt away, we were celebrating a birthday and our wedding anniversary, when Richard and the team found out they made our stay extra special. The room at the front of the Inn was great very comfortable and the river flowing by only yards away over the narrow road made it very relaxing, could not fault the excellent home cooked food, plenty of it!, all of the staff were very helpful and attentive. We are already planning our next visit, can't wait. Thanks again Adrian and Jennie Collins

Room Tip: We had room 15 excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you Adrian and Jennie for writing such a glowing review, it was a pleasure to meet you both and we sincerely hope to greet you again. Best wishes, Richard, family and team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brendon
14.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
7.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
5.5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stag Hunters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stag Hunters Hotel

Property: The Stag Hunters Hotel
Address: Brendon, Exmoor National Park EX35 6PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Brendon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Brendon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Stag Hunters Hotel
The Stag Hunters Hotel Brendon, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing