We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
174
53
10
6
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
174
53
10
6
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews stag hunters family run the river beer garden home from home pool table beautiful village owners and staff two sons for sunday lunch exmoor ale lovely place excellent value for money great weekend short break the pub great food
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Want a quiet hotel nestling between a babbling river in front and open countryside behind?

Then make your way to The Staghunters Inn/Hotel, owned by the warm and welcoming Wyburn family and just oozing with olde worlde charm in the bar, restaurant and lounge downstairs. Our first floor bedroom and en suite were spotlessly clean and stylishly appointed, with satellite TV and tea/coffee making facilities.

If you’re doing DB&B then you’ll not need to have lunch! Breakfasts, with or without gluten, can be as hearty as you want , and are served in the main dining room overlooking the back garden with its shrubs, trees and bird-feeders - all well used! The delicious home cooked evening meals are served in the restaurant bar. The fare is sourced locally and, as this is "hunting shooting fishing" territory, venison and trout are naturally on the menu - but vegetarians are also well catered for.

The Staghunters did us proud for our weekend stay, and the Wyburn family & their staff really made us feel at home by presenting us with a surprise Wedding Anniversary cake and accompanying card.

We’d “popped” in to the Staghunters several times over the years when we’d been in the area, but this was our first stay since we honeymooned there ................ 42years & 2 days ago!

We’ll definitely return for another stay (or 2) but it’s going to be sooner than another 42 years.

Would we recommend The Staghunters? You bet we would!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C96C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for your amazing review. We are very happy to have been a part of your anniversary celebration, 42years, congratulations and what a lovely couple you are.
We will look forward to your return.
Love to you both,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

A very friendly, family run inn, set in beautiful countryside, where we enjoyed a short stay.

The food and facilities were both excellent and the room had everything we needed. We appreciated being able to control the heating and open the window at night.

There are some lovely walks directly from the front door.

Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 186411Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for taking the trouble to review our hotel and so favorably.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and will hopefully welcome you back, as you say there are pleasant Exmoor walks in all directions.
Best wishes,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

We were looking for an iconic inn, located along the Coleridge Way (which we were hiking) and this lovely inn was exactly what we hoped it would be. Not only was the room comfortable and well-furnished, but the pub and restaurant are absolutely topnotch: the ales and gourmet meal were fabulous.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pjwazzit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for your very favorable review. Perhaps you will return for a longer, more leisurely, stay in the future we will be delighted to see you.
Best wishes,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Simply perfect, Country pub with a homely feel. Very welcoming & relaxing.
Many guests had dogs, if you want somewhere to bring your four legged friend then this is it.
Lovely food, all usual pub favourites plus a specials board. We found the portions quite large & delicious.
Parking looks limited but proceed down the lane on the left that runs along the side of the building, Hotel guests have additional parking plus a separate entry.
We will definately return. Superb area for walkers, easy drive to Lynmouth with stunning coastal views along the road.

Room tip: Room 5 is on the ground floor, there are a couple of steps, fabulous views of the garden
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank The2urers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel so favorably. We would be delighted to welcome you as staying guests then you could sample our true hospitality.
Best wishes,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

We stayed here for one night whilst doing the Coleridge Way Walk. From checking in we were greeted cordially. The accommodation is situated away from the bar with its own guests sitting room. When we stayed there were quite a few guests staying, and it is an extremely dog friendly place. It is situated in a lovely location in Exmoor with lovely walks and countryside all around it. We were very content with our stay but what impressed us more was in talking to the other guests that were staying was the fact that all of them were repeat visitors ,often coming on a annual basis to stay for a week or more not just a night. We would always consider it if in the area again.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank LeedsLassNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Stag Hunters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2017

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel so favourably. We would be delighted to welcome you back for a longer more leisurely stay.
Best wishes,
Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews