We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tatty”

The Staghunters Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Brendon
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The food was good and plentiful with an excellent selection of beers. The dining area is large but a bit tatty, as the name suggests so much more. We only ate here once.
Disappointing.

Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staghunters, Owner at The Staghunters Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

We at the Staghunters are pleased you enjoyed your dinner and range of ales.

We would, of course, preferred the term RUSTIC as opposed to tatty after all we are an Olde

Worlde Country Inn, however we are planning to spruce up the bars, lounge areas and exterior

this winter. We have concentrated our efforts on refurbishing the 14 bedrooms, adding balconies

to the garden and countryside facing ones and extra effort to the river aspect ones.

Perhaps if you return we will give you a tour. Kind regards, Richard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 99 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

Been coming here every year for five years and it's as good as ever. Family run and nothing too much trouble. The food is excellent and by far exceeds others in area. Lovely riverside garden to chill out on warm day very dog friendly .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Michelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was already expecting good local beers but was particularly surprised by the standard, variety and quality of the food as well as the welcoming atmosphere. We stayed down the road at Meadpool House B & B and this is the nearest place to eat. Having already had a week of travelling and evening meals in various pubs we were getting very jaded with bog-standard unimaginative pub fare, (with chips of course), and then being presented with a hefty bill. Over three nights at the Staghunters we sampled various things including venison in red wine sauce and a vegetarian chilli that is probably the best I've ever had. The food was superb, plentiful without being too much, and everything was cooked to perfection. Lots of lovely veg available too. Interesting puds include lime and chilli ice cream. Great service, cheerful and helpful staff and extremely reasonable prices. I wish this was my local.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Kate N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We have just had another very enjoyable stay at The Staghunters. The inn is run by Richard, Wendy and family and a more friendly and warm welcome you could not wish for. Our room had been refurbished and the decor was lovely. The bathroom was a really good size and the shower powerful. The food was of a very high standard and plentiful. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay thanks to all the staff being so friendly, the state of our bedroom and the food. I can find nothing to criticise it was all so good. This was our second visit and I hope we will be able to return next year. Thanks to all for a wonderful stay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank hopingone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Hidden away in the picturesque village of Brendon on Exmoor, the Staghunters inn is well worth seeking out. Generous portions of well cooked food, great real ales from the Cotleigh & Exmoor breweries & proper old world charm that was most welcome at the end of a long wet days hiking along the scenic river Lyn valley. The Venison casserole was excellent. definitely worth heading off the beaten track to find this hidden gem.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Staghunters Inn also viewed

Brendon, Exmoor National Park

Been to The Staghunters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing