We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Acorns Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Acorns Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from home”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

A warm friendly welcome, clean comfortable rooms and delicious breakfasts! What more could you ask for...A great base to explore from, very helpful and friendly accomodation. Bar area, lounge space and a friendly cat too. Lovely well kept garden spaces, lots of lovely tubs and bright floral borders to admire. Great coastal walk from Combe Martin to Ilframcombe just left of the main car park. Such a wonderful place to explore, the bay the beautiful scenery and great places to sit and relax soaking up the sun and beauty of the gorgeous coast line.

Room Tip: Enjoy the moment and soak up all the lovely vibes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shylock1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
65
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We cannot fault the Acorns. The hospitality, rooms and location were excellent. The owners made us feel welcome and were happy to oblige.
The breakfast outstanding. Would happily stay there again and would recommend it for both couples and families.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alm76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

We have just spent a great 4 days at the Acorn Guest House with Denise and Steve. Lots of advice on what to do and where to go with our children. Lovely room in a fantastic location and a winning breakfast every day, couldnt have asked for more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fran s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Denise and Steve the owners what a lovely couple, so friendly and hospitable , nothing too much trouble ,will definitely stay again. Location perfect and rooms lovely , breakfast good too. Combe Martin is a fantastic place too, the locals made us so welcome lots of atmosphere . What a fantastic stay .

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 February 2013

A birthday surprise from my husband, our trip to Acorns and Coombe Martin was excellent. Steve and Denise have the 'hosting' thing just right. They were friendly and relaxed and gave us attention exactly when needed. The whole place was comfortable and clean with helpful touches like a dirty boot tray and towel in the hallway (for walkers & dogs) Cisco (our dog) loved his stay too. 'Dog friendly' often means, 'ok, bring it, but keep it quiet and in your room!' After dinner out one eve we found our boy snuggled by the fire with Steve and Denise. Breakfasts were great with full cooked veggie on offer (nice change) and Cisco got his own sausage. Thanks to Steve and Denise. We can recommend Acorns as the place to stay for this fab area. In our opinion Acorns is dog friendly, in Cisco's opinion it's very dog friendly (and that it's ok to take your humans too!)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frances f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Acorns is very welcoming, clean and nicely decorated. Rooms were nicely decorated, good bedding, lovely bathroom. All spotless and any concerns quickly attended to.
Owners were very welcomig and friendly and although we did not need any help I am sure they would have been very acomodating. Excellent service.
breakfasts were good and varied with veg alternative. Denise very friendly and gave us info on local places to eat.Nie dining area and good low music.
Would recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katharine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Really does have all the hospitality and ambience you could wish for. The lounge and bar is relaxing, the dining room wakes you up slowly with the quiet music playing over breakfast and the service is faultless, in fact our host went so far as to come down to the bar at 10:30pm and set up a chess table for us, complete with peanuts, ale and a bit of low lighting and jazz music to add some ambience to the whole scene. Little touches that add something for you too remember. The only reason I gave the room a four is because my room doesn't have a sea view. Some of the rooms do however so I think if id have requested one it wouldn't have been an issue. So yeah, a great, cosy place to stay if you're in this neck of the woods.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockington22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.6 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
557 reviews
2.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
402 reviews
0.0 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
185 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
2 reviews
1.2 mi away
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Guest House

Property: Acorns Guest House
Address: 2 Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, licensed guesthouse is just three minutes walk from the bay and the beach, We can offer long relaxing holidays, weekends away, romantic short breaks, coastal and country walks or cycling breaks. This late Victorian guest house is in the heart of Combe Martin. All rooms are well appointed with en-suite facilities,flat screen television with DVD player and most have either coastal or country views. We have our own parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Acorns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing