We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay at lovely, friendly Guest House” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Acorns Guest House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Acorns Guest House
Ranked #4 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at lovely, friendly Guest House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed 2 nights at this lovely Guest House. The owners, Steve and Denise, are friendly and definitely in the right business for customer satisfaction! Breakfast was lovely with lots of choices. Nothing was too much trouble. Enjoyed a drink in the bar with other guests one evening on returning from a local restaurant. Our double room with en-suite was spotless and had just been decorated with a new en-suite fitted, which was fantastic. Will definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone. Even Tykoh the big friendly cat deserves a mention!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beena_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our Guest house, we are both pleased you enjoyed your stay and for leaving such nice comments. We are also pleased that our cat got a mention. Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    21
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
20
59
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

A gem of a B & B in lovely Combe Martin. Spacious and tastefully decorated room with excellent breakfasts. Steve was a very warm and friendly host and made me feel very welcome.
Excellent location being only a short walk to the main street. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dzintra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, 14 October 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to leave us a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope your enjoyed the rest of your holiday. Thanks again Denise & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

Spent a lovely week here (stayed Monday to Friday) with Steve and Denise. So friendly and such a nice place to stay. Lovely room, great food from Steve and helpful suggestions from Denise on places to eat and to visit including easy directions. Very happy to recommend them to anyone - it was very relaxing and I thoroughly enjoyed my visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank missmuppet257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, we are both pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Thanks for your kind comments, Denise & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Axminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Good value - most excellent hosts - and fab breakfast nosh! If you wish to stay perfectly adequate surroundings; Acorns is for you. A most welcoming couple - Steve had to do most tasks with Denise having recently had an operation so even more commendable. His breakfast skills are not bad at all! For anyone who has provided unkind reviews in the past I simply suggest they get a life. Acorns is very clean, well maintained and has a warm feeling about it. Combe Martin is a remote village in North Devon - and Acorns is just the ticket in that location! Thank you both - and you will see us again without doubt. Ren and I were very happy :o)

Room Tip: Room 7 provides a seaview to the right - which is just fine. Rooms at the front doubtless suffer fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devonrilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your stay.
We are both pleased you enjoyed your stay and looking forward to you returning. Denise should be up to hosting then and serve breakfast, while Steve makes the breakfast. Thanks again Denise & Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

Excellent room, Food & owners. Steve & Denise were wonderful hosts & lovely people. Thank you so much for such a wonderful room & a lovely stay, we would definitely recommend your B&B to friends & stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 31Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, 18 September 2013
Thank you for your kinds comments, we are both pleased you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again sometime, thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I and our dog sally stayed at the Acorns for four nights and we enjoyed our stay so much that it was the first time that we have never looked forward to going home, we could have stayed another four nights. Steve and Denise were the perfect hosts they really made us feel at home. The house was spotlessly clean throughout and the breakfast was perfectly cooked everyday. We will be going back there next year for a longer stay.Many thanks Steve and Denise for welcomming us into your home. Ray, Sheila and Sally

Room Tip: room 3 was ideal for us
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raymond h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, is was a pleasure to have you stay here. We absolutely loved your dog sally, and look forward to you coming back and will have the sausages ready for her.
Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Well, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

Had a fabulous week at Acorns which made this summer holiday perfect. My husband, son and I stayed in the family room which was en-suite and just right for our needs. After all it is only for sleeping in, TV had a DVD player and the wi-fi was free. Very lucky to find a place that has free parking too which was a one minute walk from the back door one of the reasons we chose Acorns. Typical British hols with a full English to start the day then numerous HUGE Combe Martin rock pools to explore and ice creams and dinner in the 'Pack o' Cards' pub garden up the main street which had a good play area too. When you've stayed in Premier Inns and Travelodges around the country you certainly appreciate the individual attention from a friendly guest house. Denise and Steve were welcoming and ready with advice and info on the local area. Would definitely recommend for anyone who loves Devon and the sea.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 534Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeniseandSteve2, Owner at Acorns Guest House, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, it was a pleasure having you all stay. It was lovely that you all spent so much time in Combe Martin, and enjoying our beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
7.6 mi away
Watersmeet Hotel
Watersmeet Hotel
#1 of 4 in Woolacombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
4.0 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.0 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.2 mi away
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acorns Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorns Guest House

Property: Acorns Guest House
Address: 2 Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorns Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly, licensed guesthouse is just three minutes walk from the bay and the beach, We can offer long relaxing holidays, weekends away, romantic short breaks, coastal and country walks or cycling breaks. This late Victorian guest house is in the heart of Combe Martin. All rooms are well appointed with en-suite facilities,flat screen television with DVD player and most have either coastal or country views. We have our own parking and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Acorns Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorns Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing