We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Guest House”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
299 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Fantastic Guest House”
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We spent only one night at Blair Lodge, as we were walking the South West Coast Path, and moving on the following day. Over the past twenty plus years, we have walked at least ten 'long distance' footpaths in UK and hence used several dozen B&B's, which have ranged from the 'sublime' to the 'cor blimey' but we can honestly say that it was one of the best B&B experiences we have ever had.
Our room was warm and comfortable, the evening meal was great, with breakfast of similar proportions.
Nick and Rachel were superb hosts, engaging in interesting conversation and also going the extra mile by washing our muddy gloves and socks with out charge
Their bar was well stocked with Sauvignon Blanc and Single Malts.
If we are ever in the area again we would certainly use this facility again and can highly recommend Blair Lodge.
Long may Nick and Rachel continue in business.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rochesterrambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    250
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
138
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Visits to Blair Lodge are becoming an annual event as we feel very at home with the proprietors Rachel and Nick Brown. This year was our fourth visit and as usual the hospitality was warm and welcoming. Excellent home cooked food and a great choice of menu. Combe Martin is an ideal base for exploring the beautiful surrounding area and Rachel and Nick can always recommend activities, including interesting walks and pubs.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have lovely sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This was our first visit to Blair Lodge it definately won't be our last. The service and food along with our hosts was first class, hopefully will be there in the summer

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thegilesies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2011

We have visited this Hotel for many years, having just returned from a Chrismas break. Food and service are exeptional as usual. Nick and Rachel are the best ever!!

Room Tip: Good views from front rooms of Combe Martin
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malcolm W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herefordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Just returned from an exceptional Xmas stay. Food and service great as usual.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2011

Once again Nick and Rachel have given us a wonderful warm experience. This was our 4th trip to Blair Lodge and each time we have been received with such a warm and welcoming atmosphere it is a pleasure to return. As a single parent of two boys, their family room has been ideal, providing a separate room for the boys and a door I can shut for privacy for myself. The food is splendid and Rachel has always provided for my very picky eater of a younger son , with no complaints, making the whole experience very relaxing.
I would strongly recommend Blair Lodge for their warm and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

Returned yesterday from a wonderful 6 night stay at Blair Lodge. Having stayed there last October it was not a case of if we would go back but when. On arrival we were greeted as old friends with tea & cake. The sea view room was clean,light & airy with comfortable bed, tea/coffee making facilities & home made cookies! ..Rooms are refreshed & restocked daily.

The food is home made to order, there is a varied breakfast menu and an extensive menu for evening meals.Rachel is an excellent cook..she should be on Masterchef..during our stay there was a choice of 4 starters,mains & desserts every night ..none of them repeated over the 6 nights, even the vegetables & home made breads were different..how amazing is that!.
(eat in 1 night & see for yourself you wont be disappointed!)
Meanwhile, Nick is kept busy with "front of house" service delivering meals & drinks with a friendly word & smile. His vast knowledge of the area & its history,walks,places to go,things to do is priceless.

Blair Lodge is at the end of a private road with private car park opposite, a quiet location just minutes from the beach,pubs & the 'Hangman'/ coastpath walks.

Nick & Rachel are excellent hosts, nothing is too much trouble..they always find time to have a chat no matter how busy they are..This creates a relaxing friendly atmosphere of a family home- we will keep going back just like other guests do. Outstanding in every way!

Dawn & Kim, Bristol

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
2.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
403 reviews
0.2 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
116 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
2 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge Guest House

Property: Blair Lodge Guest House
Address: Moory Meadow | Ilfracombe, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing