We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good central location”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the owners very welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    19
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
61
136
22
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Outstanding breakfasts; kippers, smoked haddock, fresh fruit and continental as well as an excellent full English. We didn't try the evening meals but those who did said they were excellent and at £13 for two courses good value. The bar is a bonus for weary walkers at the end of one of the tougher days on the SWCP and the choice of packed lunches is excellent and again good value for money. Friendly, helpful hosts who will do your laundry too for £1 per item. The only niggle was our room was a bit on the small side for two people with walking gear plus luggage and the bedroom room and bathroom could have done with a a couple of shelves and hooks to compensate, very comfy bed though and lots of hot water for a long soak in the bath. Close to the harbour, the SWCP plus a free car park so a good location all round.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank curlewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is the fourth time my wife and I have stayed at Blair Lodge. As usual, Nick and Rachel were wonderful hosts. They help you in any way they can. From advice on walks to the offer of lifts to and from places, nothing is too much trouble. The best way I can explain it is that you feel like your staying with friends rather than as guests. I cannot recommend Blair Lodge enough.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room at the front of the hotel. The view of the bay is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stopped off one night here while walking the SWC path. Although we were late arriving, Rachel and Nick were very welcoming. The dinner was delicious and Rachel did an excellent job of remembering our special dietary needs. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the stay and would recommend the Blair Lodge.

Room Tip: The room we got was nice even though it was not one of the sea view rooms but I would recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brum in paris
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Recently returned from a 5 day visit to Coombe Martin and a second stay at Blair Lodge. As before we were extremely impressed at the lengths Nick and Rachel go to to make their guests welcome and comfrtable.We stayed in room 3 again and were pleasantly surprised to find it re-furbished.Rachel's evening dinners are fabulous-tasty and varied . Highly recommendable for comfort ,cleanliness and a quiet,peaceful break.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

Rachel and Nick are very welcoming and the accommodation was comfortable and clean. The food was excellent with lots of choice and it was all fresh and home cooked. Free wi-fi was available and the location is very picturesque. We thoroughly enjoyed our weekend and would happily stay there again. Keith & Sandra D.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sankei49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, West Sussex
Level Contributor
78 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I came here to attend an Italian language weekend which is something offered at Blair Lodge several times a year. In addition to receiving excellent tuition, there were interesting and delicious Italian style meals provided, something I was not expecting but much appreciated. The rooms are very comfortable, and there is a nice bar in the dining room.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Benn_Tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
2.9 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
1.1 mi away
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge Guest House

Property: Blair Lodge Guest House
Address: Moory Meadow | Ilfracombe, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing