We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Outstanding”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blair Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

I'm very apprehensive about writing this review because if I tell the truth so many people will want to stay there that we probably won't be able to book again. Therefore I feel that I must suitably moderate my comments, so here goes;-
Rachel and Nick are fantastic hosts. They are welcoming, helpful and full of information regarding places to visit etc. Absolutely nothing is too much trouble.
Rachel's evening meals are to die for !. To stay there without sampling her excellent cooking is to miss a real treat. The breakfasts are delicious, with a good choice of dishes including an excellent full English.
The way that they care for their guests is outstanding, for example, my wife has mobility problems so Nick fixed a safety-grip handle to the wall of the shower, I am on a minimum dairy diet so Rachel took pains to ensure that meals were prepared accordingly (soya milk etc).
The hotel is clean, comfortable and definitely great value
This is our third stay at Blair Lodge and it certainly won't be our last ( if we can still manage to book !)..

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank benji53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2012

I had a lovely stay at Blair Lodge. The b&b was nicely decorated, very clean and great value. Rachel and Nick were fantastic hosts and did a great job of catering for my friends vegan diet and were supportive of her charity walk. I would highly recommend the evening meal which was delicious. I enjoyed everything about my stay at Blair Lodge.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grumpy28chips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

We stayed here for one night and found the owners very welcoming. The room was clean and comfortable and breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Outstanding breakfasts; kippers, smoked haddock, fresh fruit and continental as well as an excellent full English. We didn't try the evening meals but those who did said they were excellent and at £13 for two courses good value. The bar is a bonus for weary walkers at the end of one of the tougher days on the SWCP and the choice of packed lunches is excellent and again good value for money. Friendly, helpful hosts who will do your laundry too for £1 per item. The only niggle was our room was a bit on the small side for two people with walking gear plus luggage and the bedroom room and bathroom could have done with a a couple of shelves and hooks to compensate, very comfy bed though and lots of hot water for a long soak in the bath. Close to the harbour, the SWCP plus a free car park so a good location all round.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

This is the fourth time my wife and I have stayed at Blair Lodge. As usual, Nick and Rachel were wonderful hosts. They help you in any way they can. From advice on walks to the offer of lifts to and from places, nothing is too much trouble. The best way I can explain it is that you feel like your staying with friends rather than as guests. I cannot recommend Blair Lodge enough.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room at the front of the hotel. The view of the bay is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We stopped off one night here while walking the SWC path. Although we were late arriving, Rachel and Nick were very welcoming. The dinner was delicious and Rachel did an excellent job of remembering our special dietary needs. The room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the stay and would recommend the Blair Lodge.

Room Tip: The room we got was nice even though it was not one of the sea view rooms but I would recommend the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Recently returned from a 5 day visit to Coombe Martin and a second stay at Blair Lodge. As before we were extremely impressed at the lengths Nick and Rachel go to to make their guests welcome and comfrtable.We stayed in room 3 again and were pleasantly surprised to find it re-furbished.Rachel's evening dinners are fabulous-tasty and varied . Highly recommendable for comfort ,cleanliness and a quiet,peaceful break.

Room Tip: If possible ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.2 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
243 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
13 reviews
0.2 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blair Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blair Lodge Guest House

Address: Moory Meadow | Ilfracombe, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0DG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blair Lodge is a licensed guest house on the South West Coast Path, yards from the beach and Exmoor National Park. We offer Bed and Breakfast, excellent home made meals, a friendly atmosphere and great ambiance. Situated in the historic seaside town of Combe Martin on the North Devon Coast, it is the ideal place for a wonderful break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blair Hotel Combe Martin
Blair Lodge Guest House Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing