We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality, Well Run Campsite the Whole Family can enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stowford Farm Meadows
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Quality, Well Run Campsite the Whole Family can enjoy”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We drove from Kent in the pouring rain to stay over the May bank holiday weekend (Saturday - Tuesday). After a really long journey we finally arrived and were delighted with the welcome we received. I'd booked the non-electric tent pitch before hand over the phone in field 1 which they try to keep dog free. We pitched our brand new tent in the drizzle (thankfully no bits were missing!), which was easy enough although the ground had quite a bit of slate/rock so getting the tent pegs in was a bit of a wiggle job.

There is an onsite take-away (fish & chips), a cafe/restaurant, a family bar with (free) indoor soft play area and a bar/restaurant with large screen TVs and they were showing football in there. We decided to eat in the cafe/restuarant which was fine. On Saturday evening they had mini disco for the children which went down well with our 4 and 6 year olds and on Sunday at 10am they had Captain Coconut making enormous bubbles in the family bar which again our kids really enjoyed.

The shower block on our field was lovely and warm with individual shower cubicles that had a plastic stool/seat that you could move about to put your clothes on to keep them dry as well as a couple of hangers on the back of the door. The water was on a sensor system which went off after a good few minutes but that was fine. We did go to the block in field 2 on our last day and they didn't seem so modern as in field 1 but were more than adequate and were spotlessly clean which was amazing with the amount of rain that we had.

There is a laundry room adjacent to each shower/toilet block with wasing up sinks and washing machines and tumble dryers. The block in field 1 had 10 washing up sinks in!

We used the swimming pool on site which was at a charge of £1.60 per person and i thought that was thoroughly reasonable.

Our daughters enjoyed the Petorama - especially the ferret racing on Sunday evening! They saw a duck hatching from its shell and held baby rabbits. My eldest daughter even enjoyed handling the mice! There were also kittens, puppies, lambs, turtles and many others i can't recall.

The highlight though for our girls was a 10 minute pony ride in the adjacent stables costing £5.

The onsite shop was well stocked and not over priced at all serving everything from magazines, freshly baked bread to toiletries and kids games.

We saw 2 outdoor kids play areas. The one near the take away and shop only had a slide as the seats for the swings had been taken down but the one near the swimming pool was large and on a field set aside for children to play in (and shielded off from the camping fields by mature trees).

The location is just a few miles from Combe Martin beach and Ilfracome is a short drive away where there is a big Tesco as well as town, harbour and a few shops.

The only downside for us was that it is not nearer to where we live as i can imagine we would be regular visitors if so. the next time we go to North Devon we will definately stay here but for longer than 3 nights as it just wasn't long enough. Also be aware we couldn't get a mobile signal at all for the whole weekend (EE network) so bear this in mind if you need to be contacted whilst away.

I did take some photos and will try and upload them once the review has been published (although i'm not sure if that's possible).

All in all I would highly recommend this site.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MrsMakewell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thanks very much for reviewing our site, we're pleased that you and your girls enjoyed it so much. Hope you do make it back again :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    107
    54
    21
    19
See reviews for
273
91
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

over the past few years we have stayed at stowford and an evening in the club house can be quite boring but this weekend was by far the best we have had for a change the people in the club house looked like they was enjoying themselves jonathan mark was brilliant we will be back and hope we can have more nights like this ... the site is very clean and friendly food good value but the prices of the drinks seems to rising all in all not a bad site

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paula h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks we have passed on your comments to Jonathan Mark :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wellington somerset
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Just returned from 4 days at Stowford, we were in field 4 with a large grass pitch,nice and quiet
The staff were excellent right from booking to arriving and while we were there.
Swimming pool was great, nice and warm £1.60
the 9 hole golf was excellent only £1.60
Stowford is a very large site mainly tourers and permanent tourers,with the odd tent
definatly go back again

Room Tip: field 4 or 5 for a quiet break
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oggdog1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We recently stayed at Stowford Farm for the first time, and whilst there is no denying that the site provides all the facilities that you could possibly need, on a personal level it just felt too big. I suppose that with over 800 pitches that was always going to be the case. Don't get me wrong, if you enjoy large sites then this has everything that you need. Restaurants, bars, shop, pool and shower blocks are all of an extremely high standard. Located on the outskirts of Combe Martin, we found that public transport was restricted so we had to use our motorhome for transport. It is still a very good quality site and ideal for families.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayceyBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed the site and surrounding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We've stayed at Stowford before as we like the area. Close to Ilfracombe, Coombe Martin, Saunton Sands and Westward Ho, all brilliant places to go. However with a pool, pony rides, petorama, mini golf (all extra charge) and trees to climb, parks, walks and play areas you can stay on site. We went Early May Bank Holiday and the wonderful staff suggested we join the rally, so saving money on the already reasonable pitch prices and including us in all events. A huge marquee housed free teas and coffees, BBQ saturday and ice cream and cream tea on Sunday too. With dog shows, brass band, games, quizzes face painting and all manor of entertainment with such happy helpers our weekend was a blast! Along with large, well equipped beautifully maintained facilities and a bar and restaurant Stowford with its generous pitches and large open spaces is unrivalled for value and quality.

Room Tip: Field 3 is a good family field
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yopiyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Glad you enjoyed our site and all the facilities, hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

this is the 5th time we have staid at this site, this time in field 1. We were told when we booked it was all full ,but 2 pitches left on field 1 . we stayed all week ,within a virtually empty field to ourselves , I think they call it solitude . My son was put into the rally field , yet he could have quite easily stayed next to us on the empty pitches that were there . The only faults I could find was that the water in the shower block in field 1 was just luke warm , so we resorted to using field 3 facilities on the last 3 days , as theirs was piping hot .
We had a meal in the stable bar , which was cottage pie, but I also ordered a side plate of chips ,what I got was a load of bits rather than chips , and to cap it all I found , and stopped eating the chips ,as there was a crust from a pastry in with them .
I now refuse to eat at that place again , Their chip shop was far superior.
Regarding the workshop and reception at workshop , they were 2nd to none , I had the misfortune to have 3 sidewall failures on my way up from Plymouth , even though it was recently inspected a month ago ,and all were fine .
As we were staying until this Thursday , they booked me a slot on Thursday morning and fitted 4 new tyres , as we waited all hooked up in the workshop ,A very well organised and professional service by all staff concerned .
The staff that keep the toilets etc, did a brilliant job of the toilets ,despite the grass everywhere , The two wardens that looked after no 1 , were exemplary , the lady was even tending the flowers outside , and they were also friendly to talk with , not just glancing at you as some sites we have stayed on. This is the 5th year we have stayed here , and yes we certainly will be back.
Hopefully less wind and rain on the day we left .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ersanmine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Glad you found everyone so helpful and friendly. Sorry about your experience with the food in the bar, please try us again when you come :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stowford Motor home Rally was enjoyed by every one who attended, This is the third time I have been to the Rally , My friend and her husband also came this year, we really enjoyed the barbi and the cream tea . The Morris dancers and the sheepdog with the ducks were great and the weather was good also.The dog walks are ideal and I met lots of people to talk to, hopeing to go again next year to the Rally as it was good fun .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StowfordFarmMeadows, General Manager at Stowford Farm Meadows, responded to this review, 11 May 2014
Thanks for your review, glad you enjoyed the rally and met so many lovely people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
5.5 mi away
Barnstaple Hotel
Barnstaple Hotel
#3 of 6 in Barnstaple
1,237 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#3 of 25 in Ilfracombe
431 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Unison Croyde Bay Holiday Resort
9.7 mi away
Treyhill Farm
Treyhill Farm
#7 of 36 in Bideford
50 reviews
3.0 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stowford Farm Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stowford Farm Meadows

Property: Stowford Farm Meadows
Address: Stowford Farm | Berry Down, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0PW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Stowford Farm Meadows 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of north Devon, a mile from the nearest main road along its own private drive, Stowford Farm Meadows has a superb rural setting. There are 500 acres of rolling Devon countryside, mature woodland and lush green meadows. The site makes an ideal base for exploring outstanding scenery and family attractions.Here is a summary of our excellent facilities:- Indoor heated swimming pool- Shop for food & supplies- Take-away cafe & 'The Wild Pheasant' - Old Stable & Old Barn bars - Family orientated entertainment - Horse riding centre -Kiddies cars - Petorama undercover Mini-Zoo - 9-hole fun golf - 9 -hole crazy golf - Sports field and play areas - Disabled washroom facilities - Family bath and shower rooms - Fully equipped laundry rooms - Extensive waymarked woodland walks - Caravan sales, servicing and repairs - Caravan accessories shop ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Stowford Farm Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stowford Farm Meadows Hotel Combe Martin
Stowford Farm Meadows Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing