We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and friendly”
Review of Poplars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplars Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Cliff and Jean made us so welcome and within a few short hours their friendly `nothing is too much trouble` attitude meant that we had two very pleasant nights at the poplars. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the morning breakfast was well worth waking up for. We were given a lift by Cliff when the taxi company let us down, on a very busy day for him. Thanks for that Cliff, we will certainly be seeing you again. Richard and Karen

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richiedevo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2011

It's 7 years since we last went to Combe Martin and the Poplars, but it felt like we'd never been away - in fact, Jean even remembered that Joy doesn't like bananas in her fruit salad !!! From the welcome, to the rooms (all now en-suite and looking fabulous), the food (oh, what food) and the entertainment, there is surely nowhere to match The Poplars for a relaxing, enjoyable holiday, with true friends. It certainly won't be 7 years before we're back again !

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TonyMoonWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

As usual we had a lovely stay,been visiting Combe Martin for over 20 years now and have seen a number of changes,most of all something that never changes is the warm welcome of the Poplars.This hotel always provides us with good clean rooms with hospitality tray and T.V with freeview in every room.Cliff & Jean are always striving to provide the best,every time we go there there are changes or work being done to upgrade the look and comfort of the hotel. This time we noticed a fabulous change to the frontage of the hotel and the seating area and garden that has been totally transformed and looks very pretty and welcoming.We had Cliff's own unique entertainment in the bar of an evening and although we only had a few meals this time Jean's cooking takes some beating using local fresh produce cooked to perfection as always.
The beach at Combe Martin is nice and when tide is low you can walk all round to the other side of the cliffs exploring many caves and rock pools on the way.There are plenty of pubs cafe's restaurants in this tiny village some more expensive than others it pays to shop around we found Debbie and Tony at the Harbour Cafe in the High St very welcoming and very good value for all meals from a snack on toast, to a nice rump steak and ingredients all sourced locally and cooked by Debbie herself. Well worth the visit.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DevoniaBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2011

This is a really nice hotel in a nice part of Combe Martin. I stayed in a double room for single use and couldn't fault it, the place is clean comfortable and welcoming.
I cant comment on the food because as usual never made it for breakfast and dinned
out at the local pubs.
It is a nice place to explore that particular area of Devon and I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Although we have visited Combe Martin on a number of occasions, this was the first time we have stayed at the Poplars and we thoroughly enjoyed Jean and Cliff's friendliness and hospitality. All the other guests had been visiting the Poplars for years, but we were very quickly made to feel at home and didn't feel "outsiders" at all. Jean's cooking was excellent and plentiful and Cliff's humour and conviviality very entertaining - especially in the bar in the evenings. We were also pleasantly surprised at the reasonable prices in the hotel bar. We had a room with a balcony and it was lovely to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the lovely views of countryside and sea. We intend to return in the not too distant future! - Ruth and Phil

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth_Phil_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2011

had an awesome time great good great company even the weather could not have been better would give it 6 if i could

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clarkkent186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2011

Everything said in my last review (17/7/09), still applies. The only difference being that I now give the location rating a full 5. This is because the tree that was spoiling the view to the sea has since been removed, making the balcony rooms even more appealing. The Poplars rating covers 5 in every category with ease. Reading all the reviews one will realise at least one common denominator - you cannot fault Cliff and Jean's hospitality. The prices remain very competitive and reasonable. We can't get enough of the place and are already booked for September!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FingersBiggleswade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.6 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
640 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
0 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#4 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
3 mi away
Stowford Farm Meadows
Stowford Farm Meadows
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Hotel

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range: £84 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Poplars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poplars Hotel Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing