We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent place to stay in North Devon”
Review of Poplars Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Poplars Hotel
Ranked #9 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 October 2011

We've been visiting Jean and Cliff ever since they took over at Poplars. This is our 17th year with them, we come back three or four times a year - they're perfect hosts, and great friends. Friendly atmosphere, food is excellent and the entertainment is first class. The only place to go in the West Country. Can't speak too highly about Jean and Cliff and Poplars!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2011

Discovered this gem in 2003 and have returned every year since. The hotel is situated a short walk from the beach and is ideally situated for exploring Noth Devon. Cliff and Jean are the ideal hosts. From your first visit you are made to feel very welcome and are treated like old friends (which we now are). The atmosphere is such that it is the ideal place to make new friends. Jean's cooking is superb and there is a varied menu. You will not find better meals anywhere. The bar is well stocked and with Cliff's entertaiment you are ensured a fun filled evening. The rooms are very comfortable and have been updated to an excellent standard.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2011

We stayed for 3 wonderful nights with Cliff and Jean, and would definitely recommend it. Cliff's evening entertainment in the bar is second to none, he had us in hysterics at times. Jean cooks a really quite superb breakfast, and Cliff is on hand to give ideas for what to do and where to go for the day. The rooms were clean and the beds comfy, just what you need at the end of a long day.

The location is superb as well, with easy access to the main tourist attractions, and its just a 5 minute walk to the center of Combe Martin.

We hope to go back soon, and have already recommended it to my parents as they like to visit the area regularly.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are superb, offering an excellent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Clean, comfortable, Hosts are what hoteliers should be, Welcoming and affable,
Situated a short walk from beach area ( uphill on way back ) but not a problem. parking limited as it is everywhere in that area, Kids would love decent size outdoor pool ( Not used when we visited as weather not suitable, More than adequate well cooked and presented breakfast. Without a doubt would be our first choice when next visiting that area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Very nice hotel with a great host & hostess cliff and jean.They will aim to make your stay as nice as they can. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the beds comfourtable and the bar is well stocked. Note the pool can be a real sun trap so beware and it is cheeper to stay here than rent a caravan.Now a word about the food you will not get better food in a top restaurant .Tip the braised steak is worth the trip alone and if there is a meal you like just ask and i am sure it would not be a problem .this is not a 5star hotel but you will get a 5star welcome.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paul m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

We visit the Poplars once or twice a year and Cliff and Jean have now become very good friends. The food, accommodation and entertainment are first class and we are all looking to returning again next year.
From when you first turn up at the hotel and Cliff offers you a very welcoming pot of tea or coffee; to when you leave with both Cliff and Jean waving you off you are made to feel right at home.
It's a very friendly hotel, with everyone made to feel part of it.

Room Tip: Rear first floor bedrooms are away from the street and have balconies overlooking the swimmimg pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaveKirton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Cliff and Jean made us so welcome and within a few short hours their friendly `nothing is too much trouble` attitude meant that we had two very pleasant nights at the poplars. The rooms were comfortable and clean and the morning breakfast was well worth waking up for. We were given a lift by Cliff when the taxi company let us down, on a very busy day for him. Thanks for that Cliff, we will certainly be seeing you again. Richard and Karen

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richiedevo1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
0.6 mi away
Sandy Cove Hotel
Sandy Cove Hotel
#1 of 1 in Berrynarbor
633 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Hillside House
Hillside House
#7 of 15 in Lynmouth
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
Newberry Beach Lodge B&B
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
13 reviews
0.0 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poplars Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poplars Hotel

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Price Range: £83 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Poplars Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poplars Hotel Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing