We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FULL MARKS TO CSMA LEISURE RETREATS - THEY HAVE THOUGHT OF EVERYTHING”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wheel Farm Cottages
Reviewed 4 December 2012

We were thoroughly spoiled by our short stay (4 days) in Wheel Farm Cottages. The standard of the cottage was excellent. We stayed in one that sleeps two, but the standard of fittings and equipment was the same for all cottages (sleeping from 2 to 8 persons). The standard of cleanliness of the cottage, and the linen and towels was faultless. The site staff were welcoming, and each cottage is well stocked with walk guides cycling guides, local guidebooks, where to eat guides, etc, etc.
Our only comment that was that were in Lower Mill Cottage. The footfalls of the people upstairs (Upper Mill Cottage) was an occasional annoyance. There is a duplex cottage (Hayloft) which does not have this small problem.
The location is in the heart of the countryside and walking from the site is not recommended (narrow Devon roads where motorists do not look out for pedestrians), but a short car ride away is the South West Coastal path and other gloriously scenic places to walk or simply visit.

Room Tip: Any cottage will be of a high standard but the Hayloft is duplex and therefore nobody upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travellerjunorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 67 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

Wheel farm what a find! All you could ever wish for from a cottage, I stayed with my family at the farmhouse on this exclusive complex. We were warmly welcomed onto the site and quickly shown to our cottage we were given an information file with O/S maps places of interest (with relevant sat nav details) information on all the appliances even the wifi code for the site.
The beds were ready made with beautiful white sheets and fluffy white towels the presentation for all the rooms was just perfect we had vases of flowers in the main reception rooms including the kitchen. It was all the little touches and the thought and care that just made our stay so special.
Attached to our cottage was a private garden which included a barbeque and garden furniture we had every breakfast and evening meal outside as the weather was just so perfect, if it had rained we would not have been bothered as we would have had meals in the farmhouse style kitchen.
The lounge was great with a huge LCD TV and several large comfy sofas, included in the price a basket with logs so that we could light the log burner. With five bedrooms and three bathrooms we did not feel overcrowded or short of space.
The grounds were beautiful maintained with a play area for children, tennis court and various garden games available to use, with BBQ stands, chairs and tables set around the grounds you could have easily stayed on site and just enjoyed the peace and tranquillity. The swimming pool and sauna were clean and well maintained. The reception area was fantastic with a selection of DVD’s that you could borrow and a collection of reference books and information leaflets including restaurant menus very useful if you wanted to have a rest from cooking.
Would I recommend to friends and family, of course I would. You would have to be a committed townie not to enjoy the delights of Wheel farm. I hope to return in the near future with even more members of my family.

Room Tip: Farm house is good for large groups 8 and 12 people lots of space bonus with private garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whiteharte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Hoping for a quiet relaxing break where we could go out and explore the area and sit out for breakfast and in the evenings on our return. Unfortunatley the sitting out in the evenings was cut short to only a couple of times due to the weather, we still managed to get out and explore.

The area is great if you are National Trust members as they own alot of the land and Arlington Court is close by.

You do need a car to get out unless you don't mind very long walks or even cycling around the area, not sure what the public transport system is like, and how you would get to the property doing this.

It is also a good spot to stay if you are going to Lundy island for the day check out with Devon council about parking offers before hand as you would need to park in Ilfracombe for the day, and check website for sailings as it is not everyday.

That said if you did find your self confined to the property it was equipped with all mod cons. The cottage had board games, and the reception had plenty DVD's and books to borrow. There was also a lovely small indoor pool.

If you feel the need to do your laundry then there is a washer and dryer on the site.

Outside our window even when it was raining the surprise was there was all kinds of birds who visited the feeders, so you could have sat and watched for hours, even if you are not into bird watching it was nice to see the range visitng crows wood pigeons chaffinches, woodpecker thrushes and even cheeky squirrals doing acrobatics on the bird feeders, and there seemed to be an order as to the time of day they visited. It was an unexpected delight. The women who look after the site ask for a donation for the food, and the birds go through alot of food, but there are large amounts visiting (nice to see we still have some wildlife left) we bought some bird seed and fat balls as we were in Barnstaple so went into Wilkinsons for supplies, so a thought if you are visiting to stock up before you go, as there are no shops on sites (something I would not want to see) and no cheaper outlets locally selling bird feed. And the site is very clean even with the number of birds visiitng.The accommodation was well equipped. I think the dishwasher was unecessary in a property for 2 people, we never used it. If for some reason you had wanted to put on a full 5 course meal then you could have done this as there was enough equipment to prepare and cook this from sratch.

The ladies who ran the property were friendly and helpful and I believe from what I saw that they have put a lot of time effort and hard work into this property (gone the extra mile and more than required which you don't find very often today) to make it a relaxing pleasant quite retreat and I hope it stays this way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crossey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2012

This was our first stay at Wheel Farm and was during the winter. The cottage was comfortable, clean, warm and was well equipped. However, having only one bathroom did prove somewhat inconvenient in a 6 - 8 person accommodation.

The location was very isolated, and with no footpaths accessible from the site, this necessitated use of the car every time one wanted to leave the site.

Didn't use any of the on-site facilities, mainly due to our absence during opening hours, however, the tennis court was not in use due to maintenance issues.

Not sure whether we would return to Wheel Farm as we prefer to leave the car in the car park park and explore more on foot.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alpha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

As new members to the CSMA we found this accommodation when lookin through our CSMA magazine. We booked to stay in lower mill cottage and upon our arrival early evening and the pouring down rain, we found our cottage and a member of staff on hand as soon as we arrived to show us round. Upon opening the door the cottage was warm and cosey and exemplary clean !! A nice flat screen television with freeview, cd player and digital radio along with DVD player on the one wall, a log burner complete with a basket full of logs ready to burn in the corner, and a kitchen fully equipped with all the essential utensils you will need. A microwave, oven, dishwasher, dish washing tablets, washing up liquid and tea towels provided was a bit of a shock (nice shock) and upon entering a very modern bathroom with heated towel rail with clean bath towels was another shock. The bedroom was like the living room, clean and very cosey. The rooms all overlook the gorgeous peaceful garden and when you walk out of the front door, it's about ten steps to the indoor swimming pool and sauna !!
The member of staff who was on hand to show us round was very polite and very helpful and a credit to the site.
The reception area was full of information along with a huge selection of DVDs all free to borrow !!
The cottage has a landline phone and part of the holiday is to give you £5 worth of calls. It will also allow incoming calls.
Just one down side which I am sure we can all live with, is the fact mobile phone and wifi signals are very weak.
The cottage is very quiet and the only thing you can hear from the cottage above is the occasional floor board creek. What do you expect from an old mill ????
In all we are very very inpressed and will certainly be recomending the place and most definatley be booking to come again no matter what time of the year !!!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Humpo1646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
1.0 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
1.5 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
1.6 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
1.5 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
1.7 mi away
Stowford Farm Meadows
Stowford Farm Meadows
#4 of 7 in Combe Martin
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wheel Farm Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheel Farm Cottages

Address: | Berry Down, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0NT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range: £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheel Farm Cottages 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wheel Farm Cottage's bookings and marketing are managed by My Favourite Holiday Cottages. The cottages are situated in the stunning landscape of Exmoor National Park, a designated Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and just a few miles from some of North Devon's finest coastline and countryside. Converted from a 17th century watermill and farm barns, the cottages retain the original features. More modern additions include an indoor swimming pool and sauna, a tennis court and a children's play area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wheel Farm Cottages Hotel Combe Martin
Wheel Farm Cottages Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing