We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
somerset uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet holiday”
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed here during October half term and got back yesterday. Found our stay to be lovely. This is a quiet holiday park but just what we were looking for. The caravan we stayed in (gold accommodation) was very clean and very well equipped. There isn't much entertainment on site but I believe you can use the other parks facilities near by if needed. The staff were very professional and friendly and always helpful. We visited the bar on a few of the evenings which was very quiet but still cosy. We had 3 children with us and my son is autistic and when the music got too much for him they were good enough to turn the music down for him, which they didn't have to do at all. The food was also good and very good value for money. The site is very hilly so wouldn't recommend to anyone with mobility problems but all in all, I couldn't fault the place and it was a shame we could only stay for the 4 nights. I will definitely be returning!

Room Tip: definitely opt for god accommodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank vicks27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 6 November 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    66
    47
    27
    28
See reviews for
126
80
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

The positives we had was the caravan was reasonably clean, we checked in having upgraded to a Silver caravan, the first thing we did was check for cleanliness, this was ok a bit of dust on the shelving but the kitchen and bathroom was clean. The bedrooms when you put your sunglasses on as the bedding was so garish were small but ok,the door to the main bedroom was hanging off the hinges and we reported it straight away and was told that it will be fixed next day...never got done! the light above the bed had a silver piece of duck tape to pull it on and off as the knob was missing,the drawers on the front the veneer was peeling off.. The light fitting in the kitchen was hanging by the cords as the unit was broken and there was loads of draughts coming in from the windows as there was loads of gaps.
The entertainment..what entertainment??? there was a young girl sitting telling us no one would take part in anything so what was the point in doing anything, she asked us if we wanted to take part in a quiz but it was probably pointless as there was only one other group and we would have to move seats to see the TV as it was a picture quiz..On a better note the food served in the club was good and very reasonable prices the poor girl was rushed off her feet though having to do everything from the order, cooking and clearing. The views from the site were lovely but if you have any mobility issues or can't walk very well then this is not the site for you. The whole site looks very dated and needs everything updating oh and the so called pool well....it had about a foot of dirty water in it as apparently the pump has blown up. best of all when we spoke to housekeeping apparently ours was one of the better caravans as it had recently been refurbished!!!!! Top marks to the Back and White fish and chip shop EXCELLENT! also to the royal Marine pub the meal was lovely.

Room Tip: If our caravan (No 11) is one of the better ones i would hate to be in any other, it was very basic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Poidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 8 October 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

There is a swimming pool on the park but it is not featured in our brochure or on the website. Normally it is only opened during the summer school holidays and therefore becomes an unexpected bonus for everyone staying at the time..

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cam, Gloucestershire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We had an excellent 3 day stay here, the kids loved it. Excellent views from the site with Ilfracombe, Woolacombe and Croyde not far away. Combe Martin has some good pubs with good food. The site has a bar with food, a pool table, some entertainment, etc. The staff were professional, helpful and friendly. The caravan was old but clean, tidy and well appointed. The swimming pool was not available on this visit. We will be visiting again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alex T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

We do not advertise a swimming pool on this park - but we have one and when it is open it comes as a pleasant bonus.

We really hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Initially was going to book one of the chalets until I read the reviews and saw the pics on this site. Another reviewer on this site suggested booking one of the caravans so that's what I did. I have stopped in many caravan site with various company's but never John fowler so this was my first and if I am honest with you I will never again! On arrival staff were pleasant, we made our way to the caravan which wAs in the middle surrounded by others. They were all placed very close so you would quite often here noise from surrounding caravans. I booked a silver two bed. When comparing to other caravans I have stopped in this caravan wouldn't even meet the standards of a bronze class. Dred to think what the bronze in this site may have been like. The caravan was filthy infact my partner complained that the sofa smelt of urine. One morning I spotted the cleaner going into clean a caravan with just a duster in one hand and a small bag on her shoulder which must of had a few cleaning things. No vacum insight! The caravans were very tired and there were broken or damaged. Bits everywhere. Be warned you must take every little thing you may need. Ie loo roll, tea towels etc... Nothing is provided and when it came to cooking there were hardly any pans etc so I was not able to cook for the family. Instead we decided to stay out all day and only come back to sleep. The location itself is brill and that made up for the negatives about the accommodation. What I would say is try and avoid this company as it seems there standards are very poor everywhere. Hope this review helps.

Room Tip: If you are going to book I would say that the caravans may be silightly better than the chalets
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kymrai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
It was such a shame to read your remarks regarding your stay at our holiday park when most reviews paint a totally different picture.

I feel sure that many people reading your review would find it difficult to understand why you did not tell the management of your displeasure while you were there and insist to be moved elsewhere.

I have to question why yours is the only bad caravan review we have received this year. If the park was really as bad as you say then thousands of families would not return to us year after year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Had a lovely stay here, staff were all lovely and the stripey coat great with the kids! However, the site is tiny - clubhouse was more like your local pub than anything else! We didn't spend much time on the site, there really is nothing to do with the children here - although there was a play area right outside the caravan which was good for the kids to play on while we got the car packed for a day out! The site is ideally placed for lots of local attractions though, so was ideal for us - we do like to get out and about! Really would advise people to go to Watermouth caste - great day out!! So in summary, if you want a base to explore North Devon stay here - if you want a park to keep the kids entertained all day every day go somewhere else!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T1cky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 5 September 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park.

You are quite right, of course, it is one of the quietest of our 14 parks, but that in itself holds an appeal to so many of our regular returning guests.

It's a shame you hadn't asked for a transfer to our larger park at Ilfracombe - that could have been arranged so easily. These problems are so difficult for us to deal with when we are not informed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

The holiday park was lovely had an amazing view, the Caravan was very clean and very homely. The staff were very friendly and always willing to have a chat! The night club for the family always has something fun and exciting going on for all the family! i had a fantastic holiday staying here! i would definitely recommend coming here for a perfect holiday!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank georgina c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

First impressions of the site were positive. Clean site and well positioned clubhouse. The clubhouse has excellent views towards the water. A brilliant place to relax with one of the bar meals or a drink after a busy day.

All the staff are cheery and helpful.

Food prices and bar prices are reasonable. On site shop for food, groceries, newspapers etc.

The entertainment area is small but the entertainers worked their hearts out which was appreciated by the holidaymakers.

There is one pool table and a few amusement games for adults and children alike. In the clubhouse bookworms can borrow books.

The site is on a hill so a bit of a challenge for those with mobility issues. However there is a car park right outside the clubhouse.

The swimming pool also has wonderful views out to sea and a life guard was present.

The caravan was clean, everything worked and the beds were made up on arrival.

Well worth a visit for a location that is 5-10 mins walk to the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick J, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Combe Martin
2.7 mi away
Varley House
Varley House
#2 of 20 in Ilfracombe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
20.4 mi away
Bideford Bay Holiday Park - Park Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hele Valley Holiday Park
Hele Valley Holiday Park
#2 of 25 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#4 of 8 in Combe Martin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grattons Cedar Lodges
Grattons Cedar Lodges
#11 of 25 in Ilfracombe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park

Property: Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AS, England (Formerly John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combe Martin Holiday Park is situated in the heart of a North Devon valley. The site and its surrounding woodlands provide an excellent area for kids to play and adults to relax. The kids’ play area, our Sea Spray Club (great for a meal or drink) and access to our private beach are all within easy reach of your holiday accommodation, provide the perfect North Devon holiday.The park overlooks Combe Martin public beach as well as our very own private Newberry beach, where you can spend the day relaxing in the sun whilst the kids play in the sea nearby. In the evening, you can enjoy a variety of entertainment in the free clubhouse. Bingo, party games and folk singers are all regular events to keep you entertained throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Hotel Combe Martin
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing