We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely site in an excellent location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Reviewed 29 July 2013

We have just returned from a week's break at The Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, staying in a friends caravan. The site is perfectly located just a short walk down to the town and bay. The scenery is beautiful and the sunshine only added to what was a brilliant holiday. The site was quiet, but we found the staff welcoming and we enjoyed time in the bar/clubhouse most evenings. Our two young sons enjoyed the activities on offer and we were impressed with the friendliness and generosity of the entertainment team (particularly Gareth). Our only disappointment was that the swimming pool had no water in for the whole of our stay, the first week of the school summer holidays. For those who like to get out and about, it is just a short drive to Ilfracombe, Woolacombe, Lynton and Lynmouth, which all come highly recommended. Overall, we had a great holiday and look forward to returning again soon!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank nataliesiviter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Once again our entertainments team have been singled out for extra praise and there is no doubt that they deserve it. They are all doing a brilliant job this year and work extremely hard to ensure everyone has a great holiday.

With regard to the swimming pool, this has not been mentioned or promised in any of our publicity. It only usually opens during August and comes as a bonus that our guests are not ecpecting.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 16 July 2013

We booked our break through the sun holidays for a 6 berth bronze caravan for just the two of us, you have to pay for 4 but well worth it, 3 nights including £20 for the dog cost under £100. We had caravan Number 48, right up the top against the woodland so it was nice and cool all day and evening. It was clean and had everything you would need, even a large fridge freezer. There are no supermarkets in Combe Martin apart from the Spa Shop in the town, which isn't that far from the park but Hike up and down. Staff were cheerful and helpful. Didn't use the club house as we had a dog with us, but you could sit in the garden which over looked the bay. If you are walkers then I suggest Broad Sands Beach, 239 steps down and about 45 min walk but well worth it as its breath taking location and not too busy due to the steps down and you can take your dog on the beach too. Had a overall brilliant stay would defo book again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maxie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2013

Yet another 5 star review for The Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, thank you, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Hi this is a lovely smal quiet site in a great location. The caravan we had however was not in the best condition. It was clean however nearly every window was broken in some way, one was off its hinges completely, the fridge was all rusted up at the front and the floor was sloping badly towards the sides and the shower had been patched up. In fairness when I reported the window it was repaired immediately and the repair man was excellent and courteous. It is probably testiment to his skills that the caravan was still going as he had seemed to have patched up everything. If the caravan had been better this site would have had my best ever vote!

Room Tip: Avoid caravan 59, which was the one I had, not sure about the others but the conversation I had with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our holiday park. We certainly do not ignore any constructive criticism and perhaps there are some areas that could be improved in the interest of future guests.

Your comments have been passed on to all departments and we really hope that you will visit us again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Have just returned from a short break at this sight and was very apprehensive after reading some of the reviews as the only accommodation left was the bronze standard. The van was a little dated as expected but was lovely and clean and the position of the van more than made up,the site is so picturesque and the view from the club window is second to none. The site is within easy walking distance of the little town and makes for an excellent base for exploring north Devon .I would strongly recommend a visit to Lynmouth and Lynton the scenery is breathtaking.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
12  Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed to all departments.

The park does not deserve poor reviews and thankfully they are few and far between. We simply do not understand why some people choose to post them, when all the staff work really hard to make everyone feel welcome. However, we are all individuals and we can all have vastly different opinions on the same subject. We welcome all reviews because sometimes constructive criticism can be useful for making improvements for the benefit of future guests

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

The whole family enjoyed the week we stayed . The food was great and always came with a smile . The rooms were clean and the issue with hot water was sorted within hours. The bar staff were friendly and polite. Thank you for a great time.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jmmilligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2013

Thank you very much for leaving us such a fantastic 5 star review, we really appreciate it. Your comments have been passed on to all departments.

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We have just returned from a short break staying at this park. We upgraded to a Gold caravan which was very clean, spacious and well laid out. Definitely worth the upgrade.
We were also right next to the play area which made our 5 year old daughter very happy and, surprisingly, was still very quiet.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
We only used the clubhouse on 1 night due to being very busy exploring the area. We found the food served there to be very good value.

Room Tip: Worth upgrading. A great base to explore North Devon
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank markmckenzie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2013

What a wonderful review, thank you, we really appreciate it.

Your praise will mean so much to the management and staff at the park. They all work extremely hard to make everyone’s stay enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

The building housing the main reception,bar and restaurant is dated but that can be rather appealing, it was kept clean and the service was efficient, drinks very expensive, meals priced ok but the dishes served were very basic, if you paid anymore you would be very unhappy. evening entertainment was mediocre. We had upgraded to Gold caravan which was very clean,spacious and well equipped, could not really fault it and as we were on a sun holiday it turned out excellent value all round. The park is in a great location for exploring North Devon.

Room Tip: I think its worth upgrading to get the better caravans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Trevor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick_Jennings, Guest Relations Manager at Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review.

Your comments have been passed to all departments, especially the housekeeping team, who will be delighted to hear your thoughts.

The main building was a former lovely old Manor House and while it could be perhaps brought up to date, would it benefit from modernisation - the jury is still out on that one?

We really hope to see you again in the near future.

By the way, congratulations on your team's promotion to the Championship. Some achievement in such a short time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.2 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
637 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
0.4 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
0 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park

Address: Woodlands, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AS, England (Formerly John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Combe Martin
Price Range: £36 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Combe Martin Holiday Park is situated in the heart of a North Devon valley. The site and its surrounding woodlands provide an excellent area for kids to play and adults to relax. The kids’ play area, our Sea Spray Club (great for a meal or drink) and access to our private beach are all within easy reach of your holiday accommodation, provide the perfect North Devon holiday.The park overlooks Combe Martin public beach as well as our very own private Newberry beach, where you can spend the day relaxing in the sun whilst the kids play in the sea nearby. In the evening, you can enjoy a variety of entertainment in the free clubhouse. Bingo, party games and folk singers are all regular events to keep you entertained throughout your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
John Fowler Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Hotel Combe Martin
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing