We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice pub to stop at with decent food”
Review of Pack of Cards

Pack of Cards
Ranked #4 of 16 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
UK
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice pub to stop at with decent food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stopped here for lunch after hiking around the local area. The outside of the inn is unusual, and i didn't quite know what to expect from the inside, but we were pleasantly surprised. Good selection of ales, nice indoor seating and a good garden as well. I would recommend the local mussels, and we also had a crab and lobster burger which was good. Friendly staff, and overall a solid lunchtime stop

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank UKhattrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    159
    77
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“lovely pub”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This was recommended to us by the camp site we were staying on. Just on the edge of Combe Martin. Lovely conservatory at the back so aim for there. There was a bit of a wait fo the meal but it was a friday night. We were not disappointed with the food.The staff were really friendly too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackso57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint pub”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

A lovely quaint pub with a large pleasant beer garden. We have been here a few times each time we visit Sandy Cove Hotel. The food is always good and value for money and the staff pleasant.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“amazing food”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was the best food that we have eaten in a restaurant. went 3 times while on holiday, and all 3 times the food was excellent, Portion sizes are huge, im a big eater and i was defeated. prices are good to. Also the staff are so friendly and polite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food,Good beer,great staff.”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Having read some other reviews we were in two minds about eating here. There had been some criticism of the quality of food, some people complained that the decor was tired and that the dinning rooms were less than comfortable. They must be very lucky in the places they usually eat. Because we found this place to be just great.

The first time we went, we were in the conservatory , and the view over the garden was everything you can hope for. The food was very reasonably priced so would it be good. Yes , hearty portions , cooked well and presented excellently too. Our starters were a meal in themselves,the steaks were cooked to perfection and had flavour. The service was cheerful and helpful and very prompt. Oh and my pints of Tribune were in very good nick too. We were impressed and left well sated.

After a massive disappointment at another place up the coast line that considers itself to be , upmarket, we voted with our feet and turned up at the Pack of Cards unbooked .

The hostess who had served us so well on our previous trip found us space in an inside room. It was clean and well furnished. Now second meals can disappoint, but not here. We were delighted to receive equally good meals.

Worth mentioning were the big portions and well presented main course, but star of the show was my wifes pudding. Triple ginger, Stem Ginger ice cream , Ginger sponge and a Stem ginger cheesecake served with home made ginger custard. She says you can't have too much of a good thing and loved it.

We loved the Pack of Cards, the chef can really cook, the staff are warm , welcoming and efficient (many thanks Hayley, Annie & Frankie). The beer was good, the building very interesting and the grounds a joy.

Thank you to them , we really enjoyed our visits.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corwenred74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pack of Cards also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Pack of Cards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing