We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tastiest Tea”
Review of Galleon Tea Room

Galleon Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tastiest Tea”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Cream tea is a must when visiting Devon and having looked on tripadvisor before my visit, I knew eating here was a must. The service was great. Very laid-back and happy to help.
We ordered two cream teas and were presented with 4 very large home-made plain scones, a heap of cream, a big dollop of jam, and a big enough pot of tea for two. After half a scone I was so full. The cream tea was fantastic and extremely well priced and this is the nicest 'tea and cake' I've ever had.
The one and only criticism I have was the use of the standard plain silver teapots. Useful and efficient, yes, but it would have been nice to be presented with a 'prettier' teapot. Nothing too fancy, just perhaps a ceramic one rather than a steel one. It would make the cream tea experience a little bit nicer (if that's even possible as this one was fantastic!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twistedtofu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    36
    5
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“The Galleon - Excellent and Efficient with a Great View”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Excellent, all round, no doubt. Support this Combe Martin tea shop because it is a hidden gem in Combe Martin. We've used the clean and comfortable Galleon upstairs restaurant for several months. The staff are friendly and efficient, the waiters are friendly, and the chap cooking is most proficient. We usually have their breakfasts or omelettes on the odd occasion, it's all perfectly fine and very good value. We do NOT go anywhere else when we are in Combe Martin and need cheering up with a good lunch.

Tip; go upstairs on their lovely balcony for a bird's eye view of the road and watch the world go by. I also know they welcome solo visitors, and they treat their locals very well. Their lovely welsh lady is a joy and an example to everybody. Well done :) Oh and try their omelettes, he is really very good at them. On the way out you will be greeted again by the lovely smiley lady downstairs in the shop.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“hello cream tea!”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

If you're looking for a satisfying, scrummy cream tea then this is the place to go! What was nice is that you are able to sit out on the balcony which has a lovely view of the beach. The scones, cream and jam were all lovely with a perfect pot of tea!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty Worsty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely views and food”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Took my mom and sister here, we sat outside with lovely views to the sea. Good food and friendly staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wobbs170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Brill afternoon tea”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Called in, on our first day of our holidays. We had a Devon Tea, with scones and clotted cream, it was lovely, fantastic value and would definitely recommend..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jenny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Galleon Tea Room also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Galleon Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing