We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Totally refreshing & relaxing! STUNNING VIEWS...”

Review of St Crispins

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Chesfamil...
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Totally refreshing & relaxing! STUNNING VIEWS! Would we return-hell yes!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

We stopped at St Crispins the 1st week in October and what a surprise we had.

On arrival we were very impressed, My partner was bowled over by the 3D views.

When we did manage to come away from the window we found the rest of St Crispins just as impressive, plenty of room and very well stocked for self catering, which included a Playstation with Plasma TV and BT Infinity superfast Broadband...WOW.

Lovely big showers and a large bath all of which are new.

Combe Martin is a place I've never been before so I didn't know what to expect but, it was like going back in time with just a few shops for the essentials and a very friendly Fish & Chip shop called the Black & White just 5 mins walk away.
Lovely beech with awards and very clean see through water, you can see fish swimming if you look in the pools left by the tide.

Also I must mention Combe Martin has one of the quickest and highest Tides so the views changed every 6 hours which was lovely to watch.

The only down side were the windows needed to be cleaned but, that was the only negative and my partner was more than happy to clean them (he needs the exercise anyway lol), that was all we could find wrong which I think is pretty good.

The road up to the place is tight and steep but we managed fine with a medium size car, I saw a Land rover Defender going up there so that gives you a guide.

I think St Crispins is Family owned which means your dealing direct and makes the transaction very simple, plus it cut's out any of the hassle from Agents.

My most enjoyable experiences were dining in the window watching the tide and picture post card buildings over the bay at dusk, walking on the beech and exploring the caves in the cliffs under St Crispins.

To sum up-
Stunning is the only word I can use to describe St Crispins.
Lovely views.
Very well equipped for cooking and entertainment etc
Spacious.
Parking for 2 cars.
Nicely furnished.
Dinning in the windows.

I only hope Alix will allow us to return sometime.

Thanks for a well needed break you made our year xx

Date of stay: October 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views and the Property.
Liked least: Window cleaning
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mrs-KaMo
Newport, Shropshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Impressive!”
Reviewed 12 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013

When we arrived at St Crispins we were very impressed by the house and felt that the owners had gone out of their way to make guests feel welcome and at home. The views overlooking the bay were stunning, with the scenery changing all the time depending on the tide, weather and time of day (some magnificent sunsets!).

The owners provided much more than is usual with rented accommodation. We were surprised to see complimentary tea, coffee, sugar and biscuits. There were also washing machine and dishwasher tablets. Some of the cupboards also had store cupboard products such as cooking oil etc.

The younger members of our party (21 - 23 years old!) enjoyed playing on the Playstation and using the wifi. We also enjoyed playing the board games and completing the jigsaws.

There was plenty of information on places to visit and activities to do in the area. I also found the OS map invaluable especially when we found ourselves lost on a scarey coastal path!

Date of stay: August 2013
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the dishwasher!
Liked least: Having to strip the beds as your packing to leave - not been asked to do that with holiday rentals before.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dogwalker...
1 review
“We were very pleased with the cottage.”
Reviewed 25 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The cottage has all the creature comforts you could wish for - a home from home. The rooms are spacious and clean. The cottage is also in an excellent location with a fantastic view of the beach and sea. If you're looking for a quiet relaxing holiday with great accommodation - look no further.

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
4Dr_Jon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Home from home with fantastic view”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

The bungalow is in a quiet location and is approached up a narrow steep road which can be tricky if you drive a large car. The interior of the property is very modern and comfortable and a "home from home" with every facility you may need. The kitchen is clean and very well equipped and a pleasure to cook in. The living room and kitchen areas have hard floor surfaces which are ideal for keeping clean, particularly if you have your beloved family dog on holiday with you. There is an outside tap which is handy to wash sand from dog's paws and family members feet before entering the property following time spent on the beach and rock pooling. The beach is just a short walk away and there is a panoramic view of the bay from the bungalow's balcony which is just great. The general rear garden area of the property was a little untidy, but we spent most of our time on the balcony enjoying the views. In conclusion, a brilliant holiday was had by all and we'll have to go a long way to find a holiday home better than St Crispins. Congratulations to the owners.

Date of stay: July 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secure balcony for family dog with fantastic view. Modern interior with a great kitchen.
Liked least: Bed mattresses were a little hard for some members of our family.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Friedrichsdorf
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The magnificent view
Liked least: The steep hill you have to climb before you get there
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Keighley, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view and balcony
Liked least: the beds were a little hard for us
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2013 for a stay in March 2013

Date of stay: March 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !!!
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
$USD
United Kingdom
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.