We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable food but too expensive”
Review of The Royal Marine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Marine
Ranked #13 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Visited in June 2012 for an evening meal. Service was fairly slow, but not too bad and was friendly. Food was nice and well-cooked but a bit boring Most main courses were over £11 and arrived with just one vegetable. Ok, but not worth the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank alfredston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 28 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but I recommend the food at the restaurant. We had two evening meals and both were very good. I recommend having fish if it's on the specials board. The lady who served us was really friendly. We had our 7 week old baby with us and were made to feel very welcome. It's a nice atmosphere. I wasn't as impressed with the dessert, but that's just my taste.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank Frez77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Didn't stay overnight at this inn but we sampled all three harbourside pubs in Combe Martin and although all were OK this was the best for food. Fresh lobster was a rare treat and the highlight of my pub eats during a week in Devon, it wasn't even the most expensive item on the menu, priced the same as the other mains on the specials board. The best fresh fish specials sell out fast, probably because of the early bird offers, so if you fancy the menu go early.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Staff were miserable! Cheer up guys! Veg was cold as were the plates.
Disappointingly average.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sarah c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.1 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
115 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stowford Farm Meadows
Stowford Farm Meadows
#4 of 7 in Combe Martin
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Marine

Address: Seaside, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Royal Marine Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing