We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant Too.”
Review of The Royal Marine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Marine
Ranked #13 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Called in here on the off chance on a Friday night and the helpful staff managed to find us a table for four. Its not very often that four people can order four different dishes and all be completely satisfied with their choices, but that was the case with us. Everything was perfecly cooked and presented and the service was fast and friendly. I recommend this restaurant highly and would go again. If you are looking for a cosy/romantic evening some of the tables nearer the door may be best avoided as this is close to the bar area which was quite busy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2012

This typically charming hostelry offers diners a wonderful varied menu with something for everyone
There is a large selection of ales and lagers to tempt you and the guinness is superb .The hosts
Pat and Merv made us feel completely at home and ensured that our dining experience with them was a memorable night ,good food ,good staff, good price ,we will be back

Room Tip: Just ask and they will try their best to accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank ggmDevonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Beer is averagely priced, food reasonable but over priced. The main problem for most here is that the landlord is well known for making jibes about peoples skin colour and sexual orientation, it's not somewhere I will ever spend money again.
If you are coloured in any way, or are not completely heterosexual then i'd steer well clear of Merv and take your money somewhere else. Consistant jibes about 'jungle bunnies' when you're drinking in the bar with your Mauritian fiancee and her family is not exactly welcoming........

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank HonestnTrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After a lovely sunny afternoon on the beach at Combe Martin we decided to eat in the Royal Marine who were offering a "saver" deal on adult and child meals. They advised us to book which we did and turned up at 7pm to be shown to table in a somewhat dingy part of the blue painted dining room. Two tables in the spacious, brightly lit bay windows at the front of the room remained unoccupied throughout our meal.
The deal allowed us to choose adult meals from the standard menu for £6.00 (not the carvery which was running on this Sunday and cost £8.95). The children's menu was £4.95 a head and contained all the usual kids favourites. Our order was taken and the food arrived fairly promptly. My wife and I both had steak and kidney pie with chips- only one veg accompaniment provided with this- some frozen peas. A request for extra gravy was met quickly. The individual pies were home made, packed with meat and the pastry was delicious. My daughter's burger was fine except it arrived with chips when we had ordered potato shapes. My 6 year old son's "fish o saurus" was not the dinosaur shaped fish cake we'd expected but three star shaped fish cakes. No explanation was given for this substitution.
A pint of Doom Bar at £3.00 was keenly priced for this area but desserts for the kids were an extra £1.60. Service was variable with a variety of very young staff attending to us at different times-thanks to the more mature lady who sorted out the kids' desserts after we had been left unattended for some time.
So in summary, reasonable food with slightly haphazard service but when your final bill rolls in don't expect to make any significant saving on a similar meal elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank barto6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2012

I chose to eat here last Wednesday 1st August, and had the carvery. I was told to book as it would be busy. It was, however the service was excellent and staff were attentive without being too keen.
The food was excellent and priced well for what you get. The beef was prepared well, I didn't have the turkey though, as they had run out. The vegetables were cooked well and the parsnips were the best I have had. Potatoes could have been cooked a little more for my liking. Plenty of condiments to compliment the meal.
The restaurant was nicely finished and the bar area is welcoming. Great selection of ales including Doom Bar and Exmoor Stag. The locals provided a good atmosphere in the bar area, also. The landlord was welcoming and attentive also.
Overall, I woud recommend both the food and drink, especially the carvery. I had no issue with the staff as per previous comments, they were all friendly and helpful.
One of the best carvery's in North Devon, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mr B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We didnt stay here but we used the restaurant...we found the food over-priced and poorly prepared and presented. My husband had a lovely steak, my niece enjoyed the sausage and chips but the rest of us were disappointed. Nice location, good atmosphere ... maybe the chef was having a bad night, but we would never eat here again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lu_Chan68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2012

The place is very clean and tidy throughout and looks well,the
Meals were very nice and cooked with quality foods,the service really
Let this place down,we sat looking at our empty plates for 25 minutes after we'd had finished eating!
We gave up waiting for someone to clear out table and offer us puddings,we ended up leaving our table and paying at the bar so we could leave,the staff we did come into contact with were miserable.
Terrible customer service,such a shame as the rest was great!
Maybe they should employ people instead of zombies!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Fcukruss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.1 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#6 of 15 in Combe Martin
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#4 of 7 in Combe Martin
115 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stowford Farm Meadows
Stowford Farm Meadows
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Marine

Address: Seaside, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Royal Marine Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing