We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous, as usual!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Royal Marine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Marine
Ranked #15 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous, as usual!”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

As locals we often pop in for a pint or a bite to eat. We recently booked a table for a Sunday evening to enjoy the, now legendary, carvery with family visiting for the weekend.
We always find the staff attentive, more so on this visit when we had a problem with our daughter who was ill (before we'd ordered I hasten to add) - they were so helpful and showed genuine care and concern for her.
Anyway, we still managed to have a lovely evening - the food (carvery) was plentiful and just gorgeous (as ever).
Thank you and well done to Merv and the team fo consistently providing great food, great service and such great value!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0phie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    8
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I started a 5 day break in Combe Martin 8/10/12. Went into the Royal Marine on the sea front for food and drink. Whilst in the bar iwas approached by a Tipsy male who mistakenly took me for someone famous. I am not. Without being rude i persuaded him to go away. The Host came to the table and was concerned i might be offended
by what was said to me. I was not. After our meal we left. Because the Food, beer etc was so good, we went in the next day[every day] Once again the Host approached me, quite suprised to see us again. His handling of the situation was superb. Myself and my family Will visit again. Fantastic Food and atmosphere[Recommend Highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Called the hotel on the off chance of a vacancy during August this year and were offered the two bedroom self catering apartment overlooking the harbour for only £70. This was great value, the apartment is very well equipped, newly decorated and very spacious and would suit a family very well for a summer getaway. I arrived with a friend soaked from a day out on our motorbikes and we were welcomed by the friendly staff. The food was great, the breakfast (included) was superb.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury st. Edmunds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Called in here on the off chance on a Friday night and the helpful staff managed to find us a table for four. Its not very often that four people can order four different dishes and all be completely satisfied with their choices, but that was the case with us. Everything was perfecly cooked and presented and the service was fast and friendly. I recommend this restaurant highly and would go again. If you are looking for a cosy/romantic evening some of the tables nearer the door may be best avoided as this is close to the bar area which was quite busy.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

This typically charming hostelry offers diners a wonderful varied menu with something for everyone
There is a large selection of ales and lagers to tempt you and the guinness is superb .The hosts
Pat and Merv made us feel completely at home and ensured that our dining experience with them was a memorable night ,good food ,good staff, good price ,we will be back

Room Tip: Just ask and they will try their best to accommodate you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ggmDevonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Beer is averagely priced, food reasonable but over priced. The main problem for most here is that the landlord is well known for making jibes about peoples skin colour and sexual orientation, it's not somewhere I will ever spend money again.
If you are coloured in any way, or are not completely heterosexual then i'd steer well clear of Merv and take your money somewhere else. Consistant jibes about 'jungle bunnies' when you're drinking in the bar with your Mauritian fiancee and her family is not exactly welcoming........

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HonestnTrue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

After a lovely sunny afternoon on the beach at Combe Martin we decided to eat in the Royal Marine who were offering a "saver" deal on adult and child meals. They advised us to book which we did and turned up at 7pm to be shown to table in a somewhat dingy part of the blue painted dining room. Two tables in the spacious, brightly lit bay windows at the front of the room remained unoccupied throughout our meal.
The deal allowed us to choose adult meals from the standard menu for £6.00 (not the carvery which was running on this Sunday and cost £8.95). The children's menu was £4.95 a head and contained all the usual kids favourites. Our order was taken and the food arrived fairly promptly. My wife and I both had steak and kidney pie with chips- only one veg accompaniment provided with this- some frozen peas. A request for extra gravy was met quickly. The individual pies were home made, packed with meat and the pastry was delicious. My daughter's burger was fine except it arrived with chips when we had ordered potato shapes. My 6 year old son's "fish o saurus" was not the dinosaur shaped fish cake we'd expected but three star shaped fish cakes. No explanation was given for this substitution.
A pint of Doom Bar at £3.00 was keenly priced for this area but desserts for the kids were an extra £1.60. Service was variable with a variety of very young staff attending to us at different times-thanks to the more mature lady who sorted out the kids' desserts after we had been left unattended for some time.
So in summary, reasonable food with slightly haphazard service but when your final bill rolls in don't expect to make any significant saving on a similar meal elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barto6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.1 mi away
Channel Vista Guest House
Channel Vista Guest House
#1 of 15 in Combe Martin
180 reviews
1.2 mi away
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
La-Gallerie Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
89 reviews
0.3 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#10 of 15 in Combe Martin
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#7 of 15 in Combe Martin
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#4 of 15 in Combe Martin
110 reviews
0.9 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#3 of 8 in Combe Martin
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Marine

Property: The Royal Marine
Address: Seaside, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Royal Marine Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing