We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Royal Marine - Decent Food Spoilt by the Service”
Review of The Royal Marine

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Combe Martin
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Royal Marine
Ranked #13 of 15 Combe Martin B&B and Inns
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Even locals are unwelcome outsiders around Ilfracombe it seems :( We popped over to Combe Martin Royal Marine Hotel from Ilfracombe for Sunday lunch, good value offer of £10 all in. Poor service. They know us well. Nice carvery and friendly staff, and our food was great. Just the service seemed confused and very disorganised. A slow Chef carving on his own, for big queues, long waits. Perhaps two chefs carving and one replenning is more efficient?

My friend is a hotel manager (never, ever, go out to dine in this area alone, unless you wanr to feel like rubbish). She was a tad annoyed at conflicting info and slow staff. A drink was included and cokes were offered by a waitress, they didn't appear. Another waitress was asked for cokes but she just disappeared. Finally, third time lucky? NOPE. At the bar we were refused a coke and were only offered coffee or tea, so we left it. Once again, Ilfracombe Pubs love their locals in the winter but ignore us in summer. I rather think some of us will avoid our locals this winter, as we don't seem to be much valued. I'm also not fond of dogs in public food areas to be honest.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pamela h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

We booked the Royal Marine for a 2 night stay from 31st july. Our twin room was up a dark dirty carpeted stair well at the top. To get to the ageing on suite I had to duck through a tiny passage in the wardrobe which was a first as I am only 5ft tall. This we can live with however, On the first Morning we went down to breakfast the food was pleasant enough but the grumpy service from the landlady put a dampner on it. The 2nd Morning she was down right insulting. We are a cheery couple who both work in the service industry and no one should have to put up with that. We left without eating the breakfast!!
Stay here at your peril, I wouldn't send my worst enemy to the Royal Marine!

Room Tip: Anywhere but in this Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Visiting north Devon with family I found myself short of accommodation for myself my partner and our two year old daughter due to a mix up in bookings. We found ourselves hunting around combe Martin trying to find somewhere to stay and the royal marine were there to help out. They only had a twin room to offer us but it was pretty large and had a fantastic view onto the beach just the other side of the road. The building in general seemed dated but I like that In the way that it holds onto its quiet and slow paced Devon charm. The floors were a little creaky and the lock on the door a little stiff but generally good, and was surprised to find fresh bottles of local spring water in the room everyday. The landlord couldn't have been more helpful and friendly and sorted out with some really good rates. We had breakfast every morning which had loads to offer for all tastes. We are staying in Devon a little longer but had to change accommodation as they didn't have room to keep us any longer but before leaving booked a table to go back for dinner.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

we booked a table for 12 with high hopes of a good meal.I ordered a steak approx 13/14 ouz if i can remember which if im honest came back no bigger than a 6 ouz and to be fair was tough and
very average at best.

My wife ordered a 4 mushroom stroganoff and to be fair to the menu as they said def had only 4 mushrooms in.

Kids meal of chicken nuggets and chips had 4 nuggets and we counted 10 chips so kids were still hungry after.

I did complain and in all fairness they offered to take money of the bill in which i said its not about the money i just feel a bit let down by the meal.

On a positive note a great cheese board.

In my opinion such a shame we got a raw deal this place has a loveley setting but because of where it is situated i feel in peak periods it does not not have to worry about quality as it knows it will always attract people in some ways always has a captaive audience where as somewhere like he george and dragon a mile and half away has t o be good to get people back and trust e is superb.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ipswichDagenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

Found this place to be absolutely brilliant , the food is amazing and worth every penny . The staff were marvellous and very friendly , they were also helpful . I would recommend anyone to go and try this lovely pub .

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vixon_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Have visited Combe Martin many times and can honestly say have never tasted such good food. Everything is laid out properly and the staff are extremely pleasant and welcoming.

So if you want good, excellently priced food this is the place to go, none of the other pubs etc match this one.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kate1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We have stayed 3 times in Combe Martin over the last 2yrs and always choose to eat here.the saver menu is very good value and freshly cooked too! The carvery is fantastic all home made and not your usual catering supplier rubbish! Home made puds were lovely especially with clotted cream.

If you want a bit more room at your table make sure you book in advance as the tables are a little small.

The host always seems friendly and smartly dressed! Serves a mean pint of Exmoor Stag as well!

We only come to Combe Martin out of season and there is a reason that this pub, by the beach,is always busy when the other pubs are dead!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Rosebudsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Combe Martin hotels
0.3 mi away
Saffron House Hotel
Saffron House Hotel
#8 of 15 in Combe Martin
62 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mellstock House
Mellstock House
#5 of 15 in Combe Martin
205 reviews
0.2 mi away
Acorns Guest House
Acorns Guest House
#3 of 15 in Combe Martin
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Manleigh Park
Manleigh Park
#4 of 7 in Combe Martin
117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Poplars Hotel
Poplars Hotel
#9 of 15 in Combe Martin
88 reviews
3.1 mi away
Stowford Farm Meadows
Stowford Farm Meadows
#3 of 7 in Combe Martin
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Royal Marine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Marine

Address: Seaside, Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park EX34 0AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Combe Martin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Combe Martin
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
The Royal Marine Combe Martin, Devon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing