We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Ye Olde George and Dragon
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$27
Cuisines: British, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: North Devon EX34 0HX
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Lots of positives and only one negative and that was the length of time we waited for our meals we booked for 7pm and we arrived early but our main meals were not out untill 8.30pm and we had 2 children with us who were very tired.
Meals i cannot fault good size portions very tasty and resonably priced. Friendly staff and good atmosphere.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank BiffaChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    28
    8
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A must visit!!”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We came here on the last day of our holiday (really wish we had gone sooner as it was streets ahead of the other pubs/ restaurants we had visited!). Our party had 5 adults and 3 children (4, 7 and 11 months) and we were made to feel very welcome. The staff were fantastic, the food was excellent (and we have some fussy people in our party!) and the wine was very reasonably priced (£12.50 for a bottle of Pinot Grigio which for the quality of the restaurant was unusual good value!). It is further from the centre of Combe Martin but it is well worth the drive/ walk. It took us 25 minutes from our house which was just the other side of the beach from the George so very easy to walk. Very tastefully renovated and decorated inside. Very highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MAP882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“A fantastic restaurant !!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Myself and my wife had a wonderful experience at this restaurant, the food, staff and even decor was fantastic !! This is a family run business and they have really paid attention to detail with everything, I honestly believe you would struggle to find a restaurant anywhere that could beat their high standards. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anybody visiting Combe Martin.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frank l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The food was really good with an extensive menu, not the cheapest pub food, but very generous portions. More restaurant than pub.
The Sunday menu is only carvery but with a choice of turkey, beef, gammon, pork and belly pork and a choice of a dozen or so vegetables it was good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank bazm69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Portugal
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

Wow what a gem!!Great Food and Service,nothing too much trouble.
'Excellent',well worth visit.Parking for a £,near by in village car park near church.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ye Olde George and Dragon also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Ye Olde George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing