We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little chip shop”
Review of Top Chippy

Top Chippy
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great little chip shop”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stopped here to get a bag of chips and walk on the beach but ended up getting a value box which consisted of chips, small fish and sausage along with curry sauce, have to say it was really good and great value and the staff very friendly and welcoming. We will return and try out some of the other menu items as they all looked great many of which are not available at your normal chip shop !

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank as50215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review of top chippy, I am so glad you enjoyed your value box and saw what great value they are.
We look forward to seeing you again very soon, make sure you visit hungry as there is so much more for you to try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    21
    2
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Late Night Dinner”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Excellent food friendly staff particularly as we got there just on closing time and they cooked it for us to order.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Manager at Top Chippy, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you Ian for taking the time to write a great review of my chippy. We like to think we deliver great product and a full menu freshly prepared and cooked right up to closing time. We look forward to seeing you and your family on your next visit to Combe Martin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best chippy in the area”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Lovely chippy, great staff and the value boxes are exactly that - fantastic value. Sometimes a bit of a wait on food, but would sooner have it freshly cooked than sat around for ages.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank S0phie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Thank you Sophie for taking the time to write a lovely review, I am glad you enjoyed our food and thought we gave you good service. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Combe Martin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lush Takeaway”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A brilliant take away with a wide range of freshly prepared food.
My partner had the Greedy B*****d Burger and managed to demolish it all, it was huge! He loved it!
They had a brilliant range and could of tried them all but doubt my boot camp instructor would be too pleased.
The surf and turf looked gorgeous definately would recommend and very friendly staff

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Hi Sophie, thank you for a fantastic review and taking the time to do it.

We are so pleased your partner enjoyed his greedy bast**d burger it is a monster and not for the faint hearted so well done to him for finishing it.
Remember we do a great range of healthier options that will please you boot camp instructor including our tortia salad baskets to our oven roasted chicken breast and our oven baked chicken salad wraps.

We hope yo see you both soon, so you can try the fab surf and turf box.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilfracombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best chippy in the village !”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Bright,clean, always cook to order, good value and always greeted with a smile!We go there regularly and as 'locals',that's always a good sign !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bracks2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for a fantastic review.
I am always so pleased when we get reviews from our regular customers,as we don't have the advantage of a seaside location our business is built on our local regulars so we have to strive to deliver great food and service all the time.

Thank you for your continued support, and I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Chippy also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Top Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing