We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and great value”
Review of Top Chippy

Top Chippy
Ranked #2 of 17 Restaurants in Combe Martin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Great fish and chips and really good value, we visited with our 9 year old son and 5 year old twin boys, we were served by the most friendly lady who was happy to chat to my very talkative 5 year olds whilst we were waiting for our food. Food was great and the welcome was fab xx

Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

hi debbie, thank you for a wonderful review.

my wife can remember you and the boys and wishes you all the best.

we do try to make time to chat to all of our customers even in the busy times as its you guys who make our business.

we our so pleased you and the family enjoyed your food and we look forward to you visiting us again.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 154 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Arrived in Combe Martin Saturday evening needed to feed group of 13 - house that we were renting had a visitors book that recommended the Top chippy as the place to get the best fish and chips- was very busy but the wait was worth it - highly recommended

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

hi patrica, thank you for taking time to write such a positive review of our chippy.

i am pleased we could be of help in feeding your family and made up that you all enjoyed your food very much.
its great when we get new customers from other peoples recommendations as it shows we are doing the right thing.

we hope that you all visit us again very soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The nearest built up area is Comb Martin. A bustling cheery little place where just about anything can be bought.
Friendly shops and good prices.

1  Thank Helenduncan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

thanks you helen and duncan for taking time to write a positive review.

i am very pleased you enjoyed your lunch time fish and chip treat, and we hope to see you back in combe martin very soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I think this is the best Fish and Chip Shop in North Devon and I have tried them all many many times. They have the best food and are a lovely bunch of people too. When my wife and I are back in North Devon from the USA she always insists we go there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

hi andrew, thanks for a great review.

i remember you and you wife visiting us and we are so pleased you come back to us every time you are back in the uk.

thank you for the great accolade as "the best fish and chips in north devon" as we do try so hard to deliver what we feel to be that.

we look forward to seeing you both on your next visit.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We visited this Fish and Chip shop on both of our breaks in Combe Martin. The prices are great, the choice of food (including pizzas) was huge and if you time it right there are benches outside on the green to sit and enjoy your fare in the sunshine! Worth a visit.

1  Thank IanJulie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton737, Owner at Top Chippy, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2014

thank you ian and julie for a great review.
it is fantastic when our visiting customers keep returning to us when there is so much choice in and around combe martin, we thank you for that.

we hope to see you very soon.

kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top Chippy also viewed

Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Top Chippy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing