We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful location for a fun filled holiday.”

Review of Horizon

View from Horizon
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Horizon
Horizon Sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
View from Horizon
Horizon
Sitting room
Sitting room, view towards the bay window, patio and sea beyond.
Dining room
Kitchen
King bedroom on the first floor
Balcony view from the king bedroom on the first floor
Balcony view from the first floor king bedroom
Twin bedroom on the first floor
Family bathroom on the first floor
Shower in family bathroom on the first floor
King bedroom on the second floor
King bedroom on second floor with door leading to the ensuite shower room
Ensuite to the king bedroom on the second floor
Bunk bedroom on the second floor
Family shower room on the second floor
View from Horizon at low tide
Combe Martin
Wistmoorland Reservoir
Woolacombe Beach
Sunset view from Horizon
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Combe Martin, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
phcycle
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful location for a fun filled holiday.”
Reviewed 24 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Horizon delivered everything it promised, with stunning views, excellent accommodation, and a location that made family trips to the beach a 'spur of the moment' event; whilst the shops were a short walk away for any provisions we needed.
We are sure to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Being on holiday with the family.
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jellyfire
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Idyllic”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed here with our two young children (2 &4) and had a wonderful time in July 2015. The house was immaculate, and was perfect for our needs. We only needed two of the four bedrooms, but the location alone was what led us to book Horizon, and it didn't disappoint. The children were very excited to sleep in the bunk beds on one of the 2nd floor rooms, with a magnificent view of the beach, and we chose the 1st floor master, again with stunning views. We spent many hours reading on the balcony, and listening to the waves crash over the rocks on a night was a real treat.
The house was very well equipped with everything we needed, plus there were toys and games aplenty to keep two very active toddlers entertained whenever we were at home, along with fishing nets, buckets and spades for when we were out.
The patio in front of the house was great for evening meals and barbecues. There is a road in front of the house, but it is only really used by residents so traffic was practically non-existent, so the only sounds were of the sea.
We were able to walk down to the quieter beach in front of the house in literally a couple of minutes, and the larger main beach and village centre was just a 5 minute walk away.
Combe Martin itself is a quaint little town, with enough shops, eateries and pubs to fill the week with, but still fairly quiet, even in July.
Overall we had a great time staying at Horizon, the house was faultless, and the location is second to none. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil B
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed 6 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Horizon is the perfect holiday rental. There were seven of us (me, my wife, son, other son and girlfriend, mother and father in-law) and there was plenty of space for everyone both in the bedrooms and in the living areas. It had everything you could require for a week away (and probably for two), the kitchenware was plentiful, the oven worked really well, the washing machine was a bonus and the wifi was excellent! All the bedrooms were beautifully equipped and the two bathrooms on the top floor were fantastic.

It's location was spot on, right next to a pebble beach with fantastic rock formations and just a short walk from Combe Martin village centre and it's sandy beach. Both pubs in the village were great, good drinks and excellent food, and the Indian beach cafe is well worth a visit.

It was good to have two off road parking spaces to the rear of the property as well, which meant you could park your car and forget it for the week if you wanted to. Combe Martin is very hilly though so you should bear this in mind if any of your party has walking difficulties.

Overall I would highly recommend a stay in Horizon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and space in the property offered, especially 3 bathrooms.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bellabell...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great house”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A really great holiday house. Perfect for 2 families. The views from the property are amazing and the house is over the road from a great pebble beach. Combe Martin main beach is a 3 min walk away. The top floor has a double room with en suite and bunk bed room with shower/toilet bathroom. The middle floor has a large double, with great sea views, twin bedded room, and large bathroom with bath and separate shower.

Great fully equipped kitchen. 2 parking spaces behind property. The front of the property looks onto a pebble beach, which the children loved. Exmoor Zoo and Watermouth Castle are nearby and highly recommended if you have children.

The owner is very helpful with email correspondence and prompt to sort out any problems quickly. We had a great week and hope to go back. Would recommend this property.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Becky G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Perfect, just perfect”
Reviewed 30 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

A beautiful old Victorian house perfectly modernised with amazing views! We have stayed in many holiday homes over the years but when we arrive arrived here for our holiday this year it was way above expectation. The house is very well presented, three large bedrooms (two double and one with two single beds) and one smaller room with bunk beds. Plenty of bathrooms, large kitchen, large living room with gorgeous views out over the sea and dining room. Combe Martin itself is a lovely little seaside town close to bigger towns and attractions. Horizon was just wonderful, extremely well equipped with everything you could need. I fell in love with this place and sitting in the front yard watching the tide come in was my favourite thing to do. We will definitely be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maxine J
Bad Wimpfen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just the place for a perfect holiday!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We fell in love with the fantastic views and the spectacular countryside which surrounds Combe Martin - brilliant for hiking! Horizon is a lovingly decorated and beautifully furnished house which is perfectly equipped for a brilliant family holiday - all the way down to buckets, spades and fishing nets. It was lovely to sit on the patio in front of the house and enjoy meals, drinks and the view of the sea, the rugged coastline and Wales in the distance. The people in Combe Martin were very welcoming and the owner of the house is helpful and friendly.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynnie140...
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful house in a perfect setting - just right for us”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We came across Horizon whilst on holiday a few years ago and saw it was now a holiday let so took a photo of the details displayed on the front of the house. My brother lived there more than ten years ago and sadly died recently so we wanted to have a reunion with his friends in Combe Martin. Horizon was a perfect base to have our holiday and all of our visitors were very impressed with the work that has been done on the property in recent years . Would recommend to all for a stay - ideal for two families as the two top floors give plenty of privacy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;