We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Ranked #2 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

On our second trip to Exmoor & Exford we stayed here. The inn was lovely, great breakfast, snggly, just what we were after. Evening food at the inn was great too (they made us food even though we had arrived loads later than planned at 9.40pm) and the atmosphere in the bar with the very friendly locals was perfect. Very enjoyable and certainly having stayed in Exford before, The Crown would still be my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PLease_take_me_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    52
    10
    2
    4
See reviews for
24
107
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

A very warm welcome as you arrive (albeit a little trak from the car park around to the front with heavy bags). Nice little garden and stream to have a nice walk to stretch your legs too!
Good sized clean room with all the "extras" provided. Limted amout of eatieries in the village so chose to eat dinner in house. We were not disappointed! Decor, cleanliness and waiting staff were all first class. The dishes were perfectly presented and a good choice of wines completed our day on a high. Many thanks again to Georgina our waitress.

A spot-on hearty breakfast fuelled us for the next leg of our trip.

Special offers have arrived through the post for our next vsit as well, what more could you want?!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We have just arrived home from a stay at the crown ,and loved it.The bar was busy and you have to wait for your food ,but as it is home cooked , it is so worth waiting for .The lamb and the steak pie were some of the best we have had.The breakfast was just as good although I would have liked more than one slice of bacon .The prices are a bit higher than usual pub food but we were given a menu on arrival so knew what we were getting.
The room was lovely and clean, the bathroom modern.and the heated towel rail on which although it is june makes all the difference.
The staff are friendly and helpfull .The hotel has lovely gardens .
We would certainly recomend this for any one wanting to unwind.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zoidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

This is a wonderfull,friendly hotel in a beautifull setting.Rooms are very clean with great comfy beds.breakfast was superb as was the food in the bar....cozy fire in the lounge area...will stay here again next time in the area...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janlomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

7 of us went here for dinner after a days' long walk on Dartmoor. We had to change time of booking last minute, which caused no fuss at all (less common than you might think!). Great beers, good homemade food (at reasonable £12 - £15 a head prices), and warm (Northern!) service. Will absolutely return. Any minuses? Maybe deserts (around £7) a little pricey.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelHappyExeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham
Level Contributor
218 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We ate here while staying at Westermill Farm in April. We chose to eat in the bar which was clearly busy. Initially it looked like there were no tables available but we were found a table and warned that food may take a while. Well, it didn't. We chose the Somerset belly of pork from the specials board and really enjoyed it. There was a large portion of slow cooked, tender meat although I would have liked a little more veg to go with it.
We finished with sticky toffee pudding which was amazing. I am glad that we ordered on portion and two spoons as the serving was enormous.
The service was excellent and the atmosphere in this rural, country pub was perfect. I would love to eat here again. Total cost £40 for 2x mains, 2x pints and 1 pudding.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SnowWhite78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
242 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2012

This is a comment on the food offered in the'The Crown' pub in Exford.
Whilst staying locally at a B&B we ate here twice in the bar (not restaurant area.)

The bar area is unpretentious and friendly with locals enjoying a pint & a chat.

We were amazed at the quality of the food on offer at a very reasonable price-better than some restaurants I have frequented. There is a good choice with the usual 'pub favourites'-such as fish and chips or beef & ale pie together with 'daily specials' and a range of other meals. We can recommed the following: braised pork cheek; steak & ale pie (one of the best ever tasted); supreme of chicken and braised shoulder of lamb. The mains were around £12-£15 each.
Even the offering of ice-cream or sorbet selections was beautifully presented and the flavours very intense. The mango panacotta with pineapple sorbet was a real winner. Puds are £5-6.

Service was good & the staff cheery.

Overall the chef in this pub is very talented-enjoy his food.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
9.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
676 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
139 reviews
5.5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
159 reviews
10.9 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel, Exford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel, Exford

Property: The Crown Hotel, Exford
Address: Exmoor National Park | Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel, Exford 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century family-run coaching inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. Great food, real ales, fine wines, log fires & friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel, Exford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel, Exford Hotel Exford
The Crown Hotel, Exford Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing