We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Ranked #2 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2013

Expected more, my opinion on arriving was one of general malaise. Shown to our room which initially looked bright and clean, but the bathroom had a stained and grubby toilet. The chap who I guess was in charge immediately sent a girl with cloth and spray to clean it give credit where credit is due and also offered to move us to another room. With the thought in my head if the toilet was not clean what else will be wrong, we decided to move to the other room, the man said it was a little dated again fair enough to forewarn us, he obviously knew it wasn't up to standard. It was very dated, especially the awful bathroom, dated, cigarette burn on bath (shows how dated, days of smoking in the room) stained at the bottom shower curtain, old fashioned shower attachment over dire bath dirt or mould on shower lead no idea which didn't like to look too hard scared what I would find so on so on. It was late we had driven a long way and we had a dog, it was also during the heatwave so whereas on another occasion would have left immediately we just couldn't we did say we would leave the next day and not stay the 2 days we had booked for. Bed although a large four poster was lumpy and there was a musty smell in room sheets on bed looked clean and fresh did not look any further. It was not cheap and no cheaper than the previous place we had stayed which was perfect 10/10 on every single count. So it was a huge disappointment especially as it was the last place we stayed and everywhere else had been 100% tip top. Had booked for bed breakfast and evening meal but was scared senseless to eat there in case the kitchen was anything like the bathroom. Didn't see it so cannot make judgement just used the usual rule if the bathroom/toilet isn't right then the kitchen might not be either. So had no evening meal, my partner did. Following morning had no breakfast. The man charged bed and breakfast despite not having any and did not charge for my evening meal fair enough on that count. There were lots of little things like grubby stains on the doors in public areas where handles are etc. To my mind it was all very depressing and drab and overpriced maybe once it was very nice but it just seemed again in my opinion to have lost any glory days if it ever had any. The man had been responsive so was obviously aware there were defects and he was friendly its a shame really it, in my opinion again, needs someone with lots of time and money to bring this place up and really I would have been utterly embarrassed to have charged anyone anything for that stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jals1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our rooms are deep cleaned on a regular basis and therefore should not have been as unclean as described, we will certainly look into all points raised and thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Best wishes - Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel, Exford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2013

Had an evening meal in the bar, as not reserved a table. However same menu as restaurant, good selection, and variety. Very welcoming, service was quick and friendly, with good portions, very tasty.

Their beer good with a nice selection.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alanjg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your meal in our bar. Our food is important to us and is locally sourced where possible so we aim to be a cut above the rest.
We hope to see you again next time you visit Exmoor.
Best wishes - Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

Just returned to the real world after a wonderful weekend.
Party of 42 took over all bedrooms and restuarant to celebrate a couple of big birthdays.
Wonderful service and food with all the staff at Crown going that extra mile to ensure a perfect weekend
Friday night we eat in the bar, Saturday formal 3 course dinner for 42 all sitting down together not an easy task but Sara and her team handled it brilliantly
Can't speak highly enough of the Crown
Also did a couple of enjoyable walks - Withypool to Tarr Steps and Exford to Winsford

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank johnlilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2013

Thank you for lovely comments, most appreciated. We are so glad you enjoyed your birthday weekend, you were a great crowd and we hope to see you all again sometime.
Very best wishes- Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Popped into the Crown for a midweek lunch treat while on vacation in the area with my hubby. We were made extrememly welcome, excellent real exmoor ales and fab food. Their hot bagettes were exceptionally good, served with some salad, coleslaw and crisps, just perfect for our lunch time nibbles. Staff were friendly and informative about the local area. Bathrooms extremely clean and nicely kept

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tigi_Higgins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your lunch with us and I will pass your comments onto our bar staff with regards their welcome and helpfulness. We always appreciate feedback and it's encouraging to know we are 'getting it right'.
Thanks again and hope to see you next time you're in the area. Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had dinner here and the food was very good, more than your standard pub grub. The pub is a busy 'local' so there were lots of people popping in for a drink as well as diners, but this was nice to see and did not put us off. A little more expensive than normal but to be expected for the standard. We did have a wait for our meal but they knocked off the price of our first 2 drinks because of this and without us asking which was good service. The toilets and corridor to the loos needs up grading. All in all and good country pub worth a visit if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 81Liz81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience in our 'country pub' and especially the food. Sorry for the wait, some nights we are so busy that a delay is inevitable but we do like to make still make sure our customers are happy.
We hope to see you again next time you're in the area.
Best wishes
Sara, Dan & Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013 via mobile

We didn't stay the night but came here for dinner one evening as we were staying in the area. The dining area is very much in the pub, but this was fine by us. The food was really tasty and filling, but a little bit on the expensive side for what it was. The service was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicia148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your meal. Our bar is quite lively and is where most people tend to dine due to it's more relaxed atmosphere.
our food is all freshly prepared and cooked by our team of chefs and uses quality ingredients and therefore is maybe that bit more expensive but hopefully worth it.
We hope you dine with us again next time you are in the area, Sara, Dan & Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in May for a relaxing break.

The staff are friendly, welcoming and can't do enough to help you. Hotel is spotlessly clean and nicely decorated.

Rooms are a good size and well equipped. Bed was comfortable and our room had both curtains and blinds which blocked out almost all light. This made for very good sleep which is exactly what you want after a day walking.

Breakfast is very good. We had full-English each morning and it was always nicely done. Dinner in the bar is very nice with a good menu which is varied enough to satisfy most palates. Good range of reasonably priced local ciders/ales.

The locals are all as friendly as the staff, and there is very much a family feel in the hotel with the regulars in the bar being friendly and genuinely interested in chatting.

Location is brilliant, with the Exmoor National Park centre just across the road. There are numerous walks from just outside the front door.

We will definitely be visiting the Exmoor national park again and will certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dsr58772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel, Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments and we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are at the heart of Exmoor so an ideal base for exploring this beautiful area.
We pride ourselves on our great food and friendly atmosphere and glad you enjoyed both.

We hope to see you again next time you visit, Sara, Dan & Chris.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.1 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
9.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
6.0 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.2 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
610 reviews
5.0 mi away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Simonsbath
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel, Exford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel, Exford

Address: Exmoor National Park | Exford, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range: £112 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel, Exford 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17th-century family-run coaching inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. Great food, real ales, fine wines, log fires & friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Crown Hotel, Exford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Crown Hotel, Exford Hotel Exford
The Crown Hotel, Exford Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing