We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cascade cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Edgcott House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Edgcott House
Ranked #1 of 8 Exford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Criccieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cascade cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

Lovely cottage, with excellent facilities and little extras such as home made cake on arrival. We had everything we needed, and it was a very relaxing holiday. Our daughter loved her bedroom which was ideal. We will definitely be going back !

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDavey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
91
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Edgcott House has been beautiflly restored by Simon and Penny.The whole house was completed to a very high standard and the attention to detail is phenominal. There are beautiful organic toiletries in the bathroom and cottonwool balls and cottonbuds in the bedroom along with a well stocked tea and coffee tray including fresh milk and wonderful homemade cakes each day. The breakfasts are out of this world and the choices which change daily too many to mention.
It is set on the edge of a very friendly village which serves excellent food at the Crown Inn.
I hope to return soon

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cashmanHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

We stayed here for two nights in a super-king room (number 2) and loved it. Other than the local cockerel, it was so quiet and the bed was unbelievably comfortable. The breakfasts changed every morning and were wonderful, I had a full english one morning and eggs Benedict the next and it couldn't be faulted. The owners were also very welcoming. The building is in really good condition having been recently refurbished and my partner sat in the living area one afternoon and said it was really comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west midlands
Level Contributor
227 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2012

Edgcott house is a beautiful period house that has been renovated to a wonderful standard by the current owners. It is furnished in keeping with the age of the house but all mod cons are also in abundance. It is situated on the edge of the village of Exford in the heart of Exmoor national park. A 10 minute stroll into the village & you find 2 good pubs for food together with a small general store & Post Office.
We had room 1 which was generous in size with a lovely view of the garden & countryside and as it faces south had the sun streaming in all day (yes we had lots of sun!!).
The small touches such as gorgeous toiletries, fresh milk in the rooms and delicious complimentary homemade cake provided each day were a great treat.
The breakfasts were phenomenal. Penny is obviously a great cook & the range of imaginative dishes that she offered were exceptional. As well as the usual 'full english' or continental styles of food you could expect smoothies, pancakes, waffles, kippers, porridge, smoked trout, duck eggs................I could go on! Most of the produce is also locally sourced & so tasty. Something for everyone.
These delightful owners make you feel very welcome & are very happy to advise on days out.
The whole experince was much more like a small country house hotel. Simon & Penny don't change a thing it's just perfect. 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francophile5310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Badminton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

I can only say that Edgcott House is one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed - faultless luxury in the bedroom and bathroom with wonderful toiletries and extra touches that we didn't expect like freshly made cake every day in our room! The breakfasts are out of this world - talk about fine dining! The hosts have just the right amount of interaction with you and are very welcoming. The whole place was superbly clean and fresh with the wonderful long room to relax by the fire. It was everything I wanted our three night stay to be and I very much hope to visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

Wow!
What a fantastic B&B. The house is simply stunning, clean, and everything to make your stay more comfortable has been thought of.
Penny and Simon deserve every credit as our week-end stay was simply perfect! I have never experienced a breakfast as good as that.
We intend returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debris36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Wow. This place is one of the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in, and we've stayed in a few! The food was incredible - a menu of prepared breakfasts, fruits, juices and smoothies - everything. One of the guests had a three course breakfast. The hosts were very friendly and helpful with local info. The place is beautiful, it was recently renovated to a very high standard. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pitchhiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.2 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
13.9 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
4.8 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgcott House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgcott House

Property: Edgcott House
Address: Edgcott Road | Nr Minehead, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7QG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgcott House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in peacefully surroundings a short walk from the centre of Exford. Edgcott House offers a luxurious and comfortable place to stay. Its rooms are plush and well appointed with 300 thread count bed linen that makes your time in bed a delight. Every room has a TV, tea and coffee making facilities, complimentary wifi and spacious en-suite facilities with a range of products with which to pamper yourself with. Downstairs the entrance hall offers a library of books to enjoy in front of its wood burning stove. The 50ft Long Room, with its Trompe l’oeil decoration, wood burners and sumptuous leather sofas and chairs offers the perfect place to relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edgcott House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgcott House Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing