We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“A lovely short break”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rowan Cottage

Approach to Rowan Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Approach to Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage rear view and adjacent car parking space with Court Farm stables in background Rowan Cottage Kitchen/diner
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
28 reviews
Approach to Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage rear view and adjacent car parking space with Court Farm stables in background
Rowan Cottage Kitchen/diner
Rowan kitchen/diner
Lounge
Double bedroom
Double bedroom
Twin bedroom
Rowan Cottage Bathroom
Enclosed rear garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Exford, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Availability of good walks
Liked least: Bathroom decor a bit poor
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caroline...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent relaxing break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

This was my second visit to Court Farm its one of the most dog friendly cottages I have stayed in. I went with my friend and our dogs (cocker spaniel and a boxer). The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing break. There is central heating and a log burner so its ideal for any time of the year (once you master the art of lighting the log burner!). There is a fully enclosed garden with table and chairs which would be ideal for sitting out in during the warmer months. There are nice walks directly from the cottage and its a short 5 minute walk along the river to the village of Exford. Exford has a general store, post office and a couple of pubs that allow dogs in. Exmoor has some stunning scenery and its only a 40 minute drive to the dog friendly beach at Woolacombe. David and Michelle are really friendly and welcoming hosts. They also offer a dog sitting service if you want to go somewhere for the day and cant take the dog with you.

We had a lovely stay and found Exmoor and very friendly place. We will definitely be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
debra930
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014

Stayed in Rowan Cottage for one night as a stop gap, this is a very large cottage, furnishings are a bit hit and miss, as in a lot of old furniture (granny style!!) mixed with new.

Found the kitchen very well equipped but again for the price alot of the items were old, things that you would pick up in the charity shop, very mix and match.
For the price of this cottage just expected something a bit more up to date.

It is a good job that there is a small woodburner in lounge as we found due to the size of the room the radiator is not effective enough and this room got cold when we stayed in the winter.
On a positive note it has a lovely enclosed garden ideal for dogs and some lovely walks over exmoor and also in the village.

So overall in a lovely location but cottage could do with being brought up to date with regards to it's furnishings.

3 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 3 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
3 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 3 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 3 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Location and secure garden
Liked least: Cold lounge
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2014
While one always would like to equip cottages with the latest equipment, reality means that this has to be done over a period of time. We have replaced much of the equipment in the two years we have been here and none of it came from charity shops. We continue to replace items as we are able to. Other people who stayed much longer seem to think that the cottage offers good value for money.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorna C
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Week, great hosts, catered for our needs completely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Visited Rowan cottage with my husband and our 18 month old son. (my brother in law and sister in law and their 18 month old rented next door)
Very friendly hosts and i kept in touch with them via email for 6 months prior to the hol and they also gave informative and helpful replies to my many questions!

the hosts went above and beyond to cater for our needs for our son, they offered us a cot and also bedding and blankets for it. there was also a highchair and they installed another safety gate for the top of the stairs for us which gave us peace of mind. (there was already one at the bottom)

we have stayed in a few S/C cottages in the past and this has been by far the best. everything you could possibly need was there for use, things like washing up liquid and dishwasher tablets, salt/pepper, milk in the fridge and tea bags which are only little touches but things holidaymakers usually forget to take with them so they were greatly appreciated.

Our only regret was that we didn't take our dog with us! we were worried about leaving him in the cottage if we went out for the day but michelle and dave offered a dog sitting service! Next time we visit the dog will be coming too!

Great cottage and surroundings we will definitely be back :)

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Secure garden for our son
Liked least: everything was great so nothing to report!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelly.bro...
Northampton
1 review
“Lovely Holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Hi,

Myself and my friend stayed at Court Farm with our two horses. The accomodation is brilliant, our own private garden, two pubs within walking distance.

The horse side of things was brilliant, fields a good size with good grazing, stables are lovely and cool. The only thing to mention is the hills and to check with Michele the best way to get to Exford as my little lorry struggled.

Michele and David were very friendly and we were sad to leave!

Highly recommend this and we will be back!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sparkly17
1 review
“Beautiful place - don't really want to share it's secret as is perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013

Lovely cottage in idyllic surroundings. Dogs were in paradise with a completely secure garden and choice of hundreds of walks from the doorstep and within a few miles drive. Local pubs and tearoom also very welcoming and serve delicious food. Child friendly too - our six month old little girl was very happy using the provided facilities.
Will definitely be back - have been on many self catering holidays in Somerset, Devon and Cornwall and in terms of facilities and location this one beats them all hands down.
We want to come back now!

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Location
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$64
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing