We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
Dunkery Beacon Hotel(Wootton Courtenay)
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Simonsbath House(Simonsbath)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marston Lodge Hotel(Minehead)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
294
143
58
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
294
143
58
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite horsethe rivercream teasconesvenisonluxury roombar menusunday carveryself servicethe main hotelfour poster bednothing is too much troublelovely breakbooked a tableevening mealplenty of choicemy partner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
462 - 467 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have been going to this hotel for 20 years and it never disappoints. Peter and Linda Hendrie and their loyal staff are always welcoming, courteous and efficient. Much work has been undertaken over the years to keep the hotel up to date with bedrooms delightfully decorated and really comfy beds . The food is excellent with a wide choice and legendary breakfasts. Detailed information can be obtained from Reception and staff as to the best places to walk on the moors, see deer and birdlife and you can even take an Exmoor Safari to the places on the moor you would not normally reach. All in all excellent place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at front of Hotel give you view of village and river.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank millhouse22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

All your comments are gratefully received and "Thank You" for taking the time to leave them. We sincerely hope we will be welcoming you back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn for many more years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Lovely location and hotel, staff could not be more attentive!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you. Exmoor, and The Exmoor White Horse Inn, awaits your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife and I choose this hotel in which to celebrate our wedding anniversary, partly because of the predominantly positive reviews here, and partly because we wanted to stay in The Exmoor National Park. We were not disappointed. Room 37 in The Lodge was well appointed with a view of the River Ex, comfy beds, lighting you could read by, room heating you could control with individual radiator thermostats - our first night was forecast to be very cold with possible snow. An extra blanket was provided for aged guests like me if required. The breakfasts were excellent with good choice of ingredients and hot plates - a must with me. One ordered toast to your liking which was brought to you from the kitchen - no ineffective self service hotel toasters in this place!
We ate dinner in the bar and in the a la carte restaurant with a good and varied menu with ample portions and attentive service. Vincent, the French born head waiter with over 20 years service at this hotel was friendly, highly professional and entertaining even apparently understand my schoolboy French.
Peter Hendrie, the co-owner with his wife Linda, was most conscientious in making sure that we were satisfied and made to feel welcome in their excellently run establishment. One further delight was looking at the multitude of large hand printed photographs of Exmoor scenes hanging on just about every wall in the public areas. These were taken by Peter himself in his other career as a semi professional photographer.
One final point I really appreciated as a retired engineer. On paying our bill at reception I mentioned that the hinges of our ensuite door would welcome a little oil to prevent creaking during midnight openings. This minor task was immediately written on the maintenance sheet in front of me. No fob off here like I get in a large hotel I use in Bournemouth "I'll tell the manager to ask the maintenance department to do it" and then nothing happens. Perhaps, another occupant of Room 37 will confirm in a later report that nocturnal visits to 'the heads' do not wake ones partner!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baronscroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Thank you so much for all your kind comments. And "Yes", the hinges were oiled straight away! We pride ourselves on our personal and friendly service and we truly hope to be able to welcome you back in the very near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We have just returned from 3 days break at White Horse ,it was the BEST !

the food and room were TOPS .We enjoyed a day at clay shooting ,and best

was trip with Eddy in L/Rover over moors ,when we saw the L/Rover with

both front wings and bumper damaged ,we wondered what was to come.

Emma thank you hope to see you soon.Tell Eddy i will give him £1 for each

deer we saw 80 next time

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank david9080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2012

Thank you so much, having guests like you is a pleasure, it puts a smile on all our faces and makes all the hard work worthwhile. We hope to see you both again soon, and Eddie is looking for the biggest herd of Deer he can find and counting the £'s already!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

very comfortable and welcoming hotel. Really good bar food with proper sized country portions. Breakfast was excellent. The only downside was the recommended 'Exmoor safari' that was disapointing and not value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim1002010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

We are pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn and thank you for your positive feedback. However, we were very disappointed to read about your experience with The Exmoor Safari, and surprised that you did not bring this to our attention at the time. We are used to receiving amazing reviews about the Safari trips, and can only assume that maybe you did not experience a true Safari trip but used it to follow the local hunts over the festive period, a journey that is dictated by the route of the hunt, and not by ourselves as would be the norm on a true Safari trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews