We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ongoing service & hospitality simply A1!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2012

FIrst stayed here a few years ago, since moved to the area and now a regular visitor to both bar and restaurant and never been disappointed! The hotel facilities and service ticked all the right boxes, charm of a country hotel/inn where the service we received always had that "personal" touch, nothing was ever too much trouble. Now we see that carried through to the service we receive in the bar & restaurant where we are recognised by familiar and friendly faces working throughout the hotel. British Pie Night and Curry Night both well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

It is lovely to hear from someone who has experienced all that we have to offer, both as a visitor and as a "Local". We look forward to welcoming you back to the Exmoor White Horse Inn for many more years to come. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

418 - 424 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

Well where to start?

From the first moment we arrived we were greeted with warm and open hospitally, something that is rarely seen these days!

The room was spacious and comfortable. We were staying the one night to have some much needed time out and relaxation and we our needs were definitely met!

We ate in the restaurant and the food was spectacular! The Sea Bass was beautifully cooked, and just the right amount for me! The venison was also delicious and since my other half has an ENORMOUS appetite and the waiter procured him some lamb and chips to fill him up. The waiter (Vincent) made the evening, he had the knack of putting the whole dining room at ease and put a smile on everyones face without being over bearing - turly talented at his job! For a truly lovely meal it was very reasonable!

All in all the evening was a delight and I cannot recommend it highly enough! The whole atmosphere was incredibly relaxed and all guests want to chat and say hello! A perfect escape from busy lives! Already planning when we can come back! Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

Thank You so much, you have made our Monday! We try so hard to make sure all our guests leave here as happy as you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

A group of about 15 of us booked ahead for a birthday meal on June 9 2012
On a relatively quiet night elsewhere in the White Horse, we were served with garlic prawns that were mostly still frozen and garlic mushrooms that looked more like soup and didn't taste of garlic. The prawns were replaced without apology or comment, but were now so overheated, (microwaved?) that they were rubbery.
The next course just got worse with very dried out venison pie, I think the gravy managed to escape, and self claimed award winning burgers that were too full of fat to eat. Vegetable of the day was peas? Salads seem to have come from cartons. I could go on. We easily resisted trying the puddings. This is a place that re-heats from the freezer, I cannot see where the cooking comes in. A very poor experience
We managed to get a reduction of 2 starters and 2 main meals but no one came to offer any explanation or apology. So no customer service either. A really disappointing birthday meal.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

We were distraught to read your review and after checking our diary we have found a contact telephone number for your party, whom we will be making contact with later to offer our sincere apologies. We can assure you that this is definitely not the norm and it is not how we expect our customers to be treated. Making no excuses whatsoever, we did actually have a full restaurant that night, along with another 60+ people booked for Bar Food, so quiet we were definitely not, but we expect all our customers to receive high quality service and food, whether we are quiet or busy. We hope to be able to make personal contact with your party later to offer our apologies in the proper manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

I feel a little guilty only giving The White Horse 3 out of 5 as the staff were superb, the room excellent and the location right by the river wonderful!! A perfect base for enjoying the beautiful Exmoor National Park or for a romantic break. All this would normally lead to 5 out of 5. But then we went down to dinner....
.... mistake. Our meals were awful.
There was a Carvery option (which looked nice), bar food and a 'fine dining' menu. We chose the latter and paid the price of this hotel's attempt to be all things to all men. I feel that they should focus on much less choice and much more quality.
A shame as our stay was, otherwise, wonderful.

Room Tip: Choose a top floor room at the front for great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2012

We thank you for taking the time to leave your review but are only sorry that you did not raise any concerns when I checked you out in the morning. We will always do our utmost, if given the chance, to put right any problems that our guests experience during their stay with us. We do try to cater for everyone's taste, which in this instance seems to have been to the detriment of your experience, but we do hope you visit us again and allow us to show you all that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Hi There,
As mentioned above, after wandering around on Exmoor, it is very refreshing, to come off the moor to Exford, and to find this Hotel, with all it can offer.
We went into the bar area and had a very good pub lunch, good service, good food, good atmosphere, and people that make you feel welcome.
We have not stayed here yet, but saw the rooms and they look good, prices seem competitive,and of course it is in a fab position. We normally stay in Minehead, but will consider this Hotel for a two/three night stay over next time. Paul and Joan Bennett

Room Tip: Great Break from Coming off the Moor at Exmoor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

We thank you for all your kind comments and really hope we can welcome you back to spend some time here with us at The Exmoor White Horse Inn when you can experience all that we, and this stunning area that we are so fortunate to live in, have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights here in May 2012, and paid a £20 per night supplement for a "superior" room, since that was the only twin room left. The room was spacious, the food was excellent, the staff were friendly and helpful. There was free wifi, which is important to us. So why am I not giving it 5 stars? Several reasons:

- There was no mini bar or fridge in the room. But to be fair, the waiter cheerfully provided a bucket of ice for our champagne (it was our 20th wedding anniversary)

- The twin beds were narrow and the mattresses uncomfortable - I could feel the springs.

- The shower didn't work properly - water cascaded all over the bathroom. There was a note about this, and we followed the instructions (turn the water on slowly or the shower head jumps out of the bracket) but the shower head had been installed wrongly. We mentioned this at Reception, and a plumber came, but he was waiting for a particular part, said he'd be back to fix it, but that would be after we left. So after that we had baths instead.

The food was simple, beautifully cooked and plentiful. Thursday night is Pie Night, and the Steak and Kidney Pie was the best I've had in years. The staff were all lovely, helpful and friendly. The White Horse Inn is not a corporate place - I really like that.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisyrootsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Firstly, please accept our apologies about the shower and the bed. As explained during your stay, the shower was an ongoing problem that we were in the process of fixing. As far as the beds are concerned, they are actually zip and link twin beds which make a 6ft double, so definitely not narrow, each being 3ft wide, but we take on board your comments about the springs and the room attendants are now in the process of changing the mattresses over. It is not until someone points these things out that we become aware of a problem, but we are always happy to provide a remedy if we can!

You are right as far as "not being corporate" goes, we pride ourselves on both our individuality and on offering excellent quality service (with a smile!) and food - Chef's pies really do take some beating!. We hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

A bit like a rabbit warren inside but our room was large and warm - just right for two wet walkers. Nothing was lacking and dinner was excellent and very large portions. Breakfast was good but not quite up to the standards of dinner. Pricing was definitely in the hotel range.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DorsetTravelmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2012

Thank You. We are so pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us - we try strive to provide "good old fashioned" hospitality to all our customers and it is very satisfying to learn that it is all appreciated. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
745 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
627 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
252 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
148 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range: £105 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing