We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Wow, what a find this was. We had the most fantastic stay here whilst doing some filming down on Exmoor. It's an extremely friendly place with loads of character and the food and accommodation are fantastic. We also loved all Peter's amazing photographs on the walls. We would highly recommend this place stay especially if you are in to photography and fishing, like us, as they have resident experts!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenLangdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
We really look forward to welcoming you back to The Exmoor White Horse Inn where both ourselves, and the stunning area that we are lucky enough to be situated in, have so much to offer to both visitors and residents alike. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we hope to see you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    121
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
73
289
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Called in for lunch on Saturday over the bank holiday. I had the most amazing ploughmans, very tasty, can especially recommend the exmoor blue cheese and the chutney, delicious! My sister had a meat platter, big thick pieces of meat that tasted amazing, especially the pork, must be an excellent local supplier. The beer was delicious too, Exmoor gold. We even considered driving a long way out of our way to go back on Monday for more! We are already planning a return trip in the future. It was busy so we had to balance on a small table but the landlord was very friendly, kept checking we were ok. Had a great lunch, please go if you are in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louweas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 9 May 2013
Many thanks for all your kind comments. Your review sums up what we are all about here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn, where we pride ourselves on offering excellent service, value for money and top quality food, topped off with a dose of our very own Exmoor hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Our local Classic Car Club had taken part in the National Drive IT Day today. Our route was to take in The White Horse for lunch and onward then to the National Trust Knightshayes at Tiverton.
We arrived and several of the club members had a carvery meal. This well to be honest I think a Mc Donalds would have been better, One slice of beef and a small piece of venison about two inches square. Frozen French beens some sort of orange coloured stuff ment to be swede, Roast potatoes all burnt a decent chef would not have the nerve to put them out. NO peas,carrots or cabbage at all. Our Club members are much to polite to complain. However Im not.
If you have any intention of staying in this Hotel I would advise calling at a superstore to buy some extra food. Our members on arival at Knightshayes went to the resteraunt to top themselfs up.
To sum it up my wife and I and some members would never go back. Poor quanaty, very poor quality and very poor seliction of veg all frozen.
I guess some people would rather take the money of holiday makers to the region and not worry about repeat business being lost.
Such a shame

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
We were shocked and dismayed to read your review, and amazed that as someone who was so unhappy and not afraid of saying so in print, that you did not request to speak to a member of staff and raise your concerns. Readers of this review can rest assured that a McDonalds would not have been better, we have customers returning regularly at weekends for our traditional Sunday Carvery, many travelling great distances to do so. Your party visited us on what was a very busy Sunday lunchtime, as you could see for yourself, and we can only apologise if the Carvery selection available was somewhat depleted by the time you came to eat, there were however, other options available to you with a huge Bar Food Menu for customers to chose from also. We are certainly not the type of business that takes money off holidaymakers and doesn't worry about our local trade, local trade is a major priority for us and we are thankful that we have a great deal of repeat trade, both local and otherwise. Whilst we appreciate that we cannot please everyone all of the time, we do try to make sure that people leave our premises having experienced good quality service, hospitality and value for money, and you can be assured that the majority of comments we receive are that portions are too large, not too small! As previously stated, we only wish you had spoken to someone at the time as it would then have been possible to try and rectify the problem, something it is not possible to do once a customer has left.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Spent three nights here over Easter. We had a standard room which was on the small side but nicely decorated and clean. Exford is a great location, very quiet, in the middle of Exmoor, and easy to get to most Exmoor attractions.

The bar at the White Horse is very nice - pretty busy whilst we were there. Good selection of beers. Food was disappointing. I tried the curry (available on a Friday night) and carvery (available on a Sunday). My husband struggled as he is veggie and there wasn't much choice. We didn't eat in the proper restaurant.

We had a nice meal at the Crown pub/hotel nearby, which has a posh expensive restaurant and a more homely bar where you can eat too.

Breakfast at the White Horse was good. Buffet selection, plus the option of requesting extras like poached egg, haddock etc. The hot cross buns were a nice Easter touch, but a bit burnt!

All in all, we had a lovely break and would recommend the White Horse.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you for leaving your review although we were saddened and surprised at some of the comments. We can only apologise for your disappointment with the food but rest assured, this is not the norm. We have a huge amount of repeat business, both for bar,restaurant and hotel customers. You commented yourself on how busy the bar area was and you can be assured that this is due to both service, atmosphere and reputation. We do take on board your comments about vegetarian options and this has been passed onto our Chefs to action.

We do also offer a 5 Course A La Carte Restaurant Menu for residents and outsiders alike, as well as our Bar Food selection and we would like to hope that we could welcome you back in the future so that you could experience The Exmoor White Horse Inn at its best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We stayed for one night as we were walking in the area. We arrived well before the check in time and whilst we were unable to check in early the receptionist was very welcoming and gave us lots of information about walking in the area.

Our room (22) was lovely. A little on the small side if you want to stay for a longer than a couple of nights but was clean and beautiful.

Breakfast was good and the staff were excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waffley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
Thank you so much, we appreciate all your comments. The age and layout of the hotel mean that all our rooms are different in size although all are decorated and furnished to the same high standard. We hope to welcome you back for a return visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We arrived with a very nice welcome. Rooms were very comfortable. The service (Bar Restaurant and Reception was of a very high standard.
Would recommend this place to my friends and family.
Hope to go back again very soon.

Room Tip: Looking out the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivienne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2013

My other half and I were looking for somewhere to stay for the night on our road trip when we came across The White Horse Inn. There are only a few lodges in Exford but this one stands out from the rest. The building itself is very old but very beautiful, we had room No.2 which faced out to the front garden and had the sun beaming in. The room had modern decor, a HUGE bed, large bathroom & great shower. The staff were all so friendly and couldn't have been welcoming. We ate in the bar that evening and the food was lovely, we also had breakfast included which was fantastic- lots of choice.
We would definitely stay again if we're ever passing through!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveTheSun501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 16 April 2013
We are so glad that you called in and experienced what The Exmoor White Horse Inn is all about - quality, service, hospitality and value for money. We hope to be able to welcome you back for a longer stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
576 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Property: Exmoor White Horse Inn
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing