We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Monks Cleeve(Exford)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
302
150
58
23
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
302
150
58
23
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite horsethe rivercream teasconesvenisonluxury roombar menusunday carveryself servicethe main hotelfour poster bednothing is too much troublelovely breakbooked a tableevening mealplenty of choicemy partner
Filter
Updating list...
364 - 369 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We chose to eat in the restaurant, slightly more expensive than the bar area. We have stayed here before, It was good to see this has not changed. The food was fantastic, the staff attentive and friendly. If you can stay here it is well worth it. Fantastic setting and views.
Will be visiting aga

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank You. We really hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stopped here last weekend for lunch as we were following some cyclists participating in The Exmoor Beast Cycle Challenge and it was a perfect position so we wouldnt miss any action.

The food was lovely. I had chicken keiv and chips and it as delicious, generous portions, and the kiev wasnt from the freezer it was freshly made and very tasty.

Everyone in our group commented on how lovely the food was, and how quickly it arrived.

All the staff were very pleasant, and we even had what I am assuming was the owner come and make sure we were all happy which was brilliant.

I wil definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you so much. We always try our best to ensure that all our customers receive the service and hospitality that we pride ourselves on, from both management and staff alike. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very friendly family run hotel in the heart of Exmoor and extremely convenience to reach all the other parts of the area. The room was very comforter ball and more than adequate however I would suggest some attention is given to the shower as the water temperature was very variable.
One word of advice is that as there is no lift there is quite a distance along corridors and stairs to get to certain rooms especially with large luggage and this and would not be suitable for disabled people however there is an annex available for people with difficulties
The food in the restaurant was very good and interesting and I would certainly recommend drinking glasses of the house wine wines that were available they were very good
Very nice friendly bar plenty of room to park and I would recommend a room overlooking the river and bridge if you're not worried about listening to water all night

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we really hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Seven of us stopped here on our way back from a camping weekend in the Doone Valley.The inn was very busy with most tables reserved. The kind gentleman carving meat took time to find us tables and push them together. Everything about this place was excellent! Such friendly helpful staff and a fantastic sunday lunch, with pork, beef and venison. How lovely to have real roast potatoes not horrible frozen ones!!! On top of that such a reasonable price. Well done The White Horse Inn!! We will definately make this our route home every time now. Just a shame we couldn't fit in a pudding because they looked yummy as well

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much. Chef remembers your group well and really appreciated all your comments. Chef prides himself on his traditional Sunday Carvery and hopes to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

What could be nicer than a Ploughman's lunch outside by the river? The food was excellent and plenty of it. We were even fortunate with the weather as the sun shone. A lovely spot, great food, friendy people. Will definitely revisit and may even stay sometime. Terrific!

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

We would love to be able to welcome you back to stay with us here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn where you would be able to explore Exmoor and all that it has to offer. We hope to see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews