We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great 3 for 2 offer.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Went there for a birthday mini break. Hotel and location superb. Staff friendly, polite and attentive. Special thank you to Vince for his knowledge and enthusiasm on recommending his malt whiskies. I thoroughly enjoyed the ones he recommended. We will return!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vincent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you, and we really look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for Exmoor White Horse Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

300 - 306 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

Recently stayed 3 nights at the White Horse in Exford and overall found it to be an extremely comfortable and convivial place to stay. The staff (and the owner) were all very pleasant and professional and generally the service was excellent. Any food and drink we had was good, the real ales should get a special mention, well kept and a good local selection. The room i had was perfectly adequate and nicely fitted out with en-suite etc....clean and tidy, just basics done well and comfortable. Overall good value for money.

Only slight negative was the extremely cosy car parking arrangements on a couple of the nights we were there although this is exacerbated by every vehicle being a 4x4 of some description and guests parking across more than one space!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BazWestYorkshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

We thank you for your kind comments and can only apologise for the parking problems you experienced. We do try to get people to park correctly and sensibly but as we are sure you can understand, this is not always easy!
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Beautiful location with excellent walking from the door. The hotel is great, warm clean and welcoming with such helpful staff in all areas. The food was amazing both in the evening and at breakfast. I would definately recommend this hotel and will hopefully return again soon - nearly everyone there seems to be a regular which probably says everything you need to know!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank You. We pride ourselves on our repeat customers, with many customers returning numerous times through out the year, and many who have been coming here for many many years. We really hope you will become one of these!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We chose to eat in the restaurant, slightly more expensive than the bar area. We have stayed here before, It was good to see this has not changed. The food was fantastic, the staff attentive and friendly. If you can stay here it is well worth it. Fantastic setting and views.
Will be visiting aga

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Thank You. We really hope to be able to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stopped here last weekend for lunch as we were following some cyclists participating in The Exmoor Beast Cycle Challenge and it was a perfect position so we wouldnt miss any action.

The food was lovely. I had chicken keiv and chips and it as delicious, generous portions, and the kiev wasnt from the freezer it was freshly made and very tasty.

Everyone in our group commented on how lovely the food was, and how quickly it arrived.

All the staff were very pleasant, and we even had what I am assuming was the owner come and make sure we were all happy which was brilliant.

I wil definitely be returning in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2013

Thank you so much. We always try our best to ensure that all our customers receive the service and hospitality that we pride ourselves on, from both management and staff alike. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very friendly family run hotel in the heart of Exmoor and extremely convenience to reach all the other parts of the area. The room was very comforter ball and more than adequate however I would suggest some attention is given to the shower as the water temperature was very variable.
One word of advice is that as there is no lift there is quite a distance along corridors and stairs to get to certain rooms especially with large luggage and this and would not be suitable for disabled people however there is an annex available for people with difficulties
The food in the restaurant was very good and interesting and I would certainly recommend drinking glasses of the house wine wines that were available they were very good
Very nice friendly bar plenty of room to park and I would recommend a room overlooking the river and bridge if you're not worried about listening to water all night

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank theerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and we really hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Seven of us stopped here on our way back from a camping weekend in the Doone Valley.The inn was very busy with most tables reserved. The kind gentleman carving meat took time to find us tables and push them together. Everything about this place was excellent! Such friendly helpful staff and a fantastic sunday lunch, with pork, beef and venison. How lovely to have real roast potatoes not horrible frozen ones!!! On top of that such a reasonable price. Well done The White Horse Inn!! We will definately make this our route home every time now. Just a shame we couldn't fit in a pudding because they looked yummy as well

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Thank you so much. Chef remembers your group well and really appreciated all your comments. Chef prides himself on his traditional Sunday Carvery and hopes to welcome you back again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
723 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
180 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
337 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
143 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range: £110 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing