We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Country Pub but very overated.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Country Pub but very overated.”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

First impressions from staff where disappointing part from the bar staff.
I booked for the Restaurant side and as we did not have 3 courses we had to sit near bar side this was not explained when booking found the waiting staff and chef unfriendly and Roast was 6/10 the beef was chewy.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
We can only apologise if you were unhappy with where you sat for your Sunday Lunch but we believe that you were the party who turned up with a dog and unfortunately we cannot allow dogs in the Restaurant. If you had notified us at the time of booking we would have made sure that you were aware of this. We area truly "dog friendly" establishment who welcome well behaved dogs on leads in both the bar and gallery area of the inn. However, as we are sure you can appreciate not all people are dog lovers, especially when they are eating and this is the only reason that we had to ask you to sit in a different area. With regards to the beef we received no other complaints and as you could see from how busy we were, we are a very popular destination for Sunday Lunch and you can rest assured that this would not be so if we did not offer quality, both in food and customers service, a reputation that we have successfully built up over the 25 plus years that we have been trading here. Once more, please accept our apologies if we upset you, it was never our intention but we do have to consider the needs all our customers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    121
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
73
289
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Luxulyan, Cornwall
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I booked a large party, (36 + babies! toddlers and dogs) into this hotel for a surprise party weekend for my husband's 70th birthday. Right from the start they were so helpful. Emma who took our complicated bookings was delightful and couldn't have made it easier for me to make the arrangements.
The hotel is set in the middle of beautiful Exmoor. It is old but has been refurbished to a very high standard. Everyone, without exception had nothing but praise for their rooms and the rest of the building, in fact many have said that they will return.
We held the. Elaboration meal in their Haddeo Suite which a marvellous room for such an occasion. Part form the tables which were beautifully laid out, there are also some easy chairs and a bar. The staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble for them.
All through the weekend, there were so many lovely little touches which enhanced our stay and we cannot praise the management & staff enough for making our weekend so memorable.

Room Tip: They were all lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Churchtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
And we would give your party 10 stars too! To see so many people having a lovely time is what we are all about and it makes all our effort and hardwork worthwhile. We go out of our way to ensure all our guests feel special and that all of their needs are met, as far as we possibly can.We aim to deliver Exmoor hospitality at its very best! We so look forward to seeing some of you return to the Exmoor White Horse Inn soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We met up with friends here taking advantage of the 3 nights for price of 2 offer, we were really impressed with the rooms which were well decorated, clean, plenty of hot water soft towels and a great assortment of beverages provided - couldn't have asked for more.
We all ate in the bar for the 3 nights enjoying good food at reasonable prices, all the staff were helpful and friendly. Although the breakfast is a self service buffet there is a very good choice of cereals and fruit and all the cooked items are kept very hot, the fried eggs are topped up frequently and it was all very good quality.
Location is beautiful and we loved the walks we did.
We were slightly disappointed to find that if you want to take advantage of the Loyalty card scheme you must apply for it before your visit, then any points you earn on payment of the accommodation can be used on another trip.
We would definitely stay here again, just need to find the time.

Room Tip: Our room (7) was at the front and on the top floor, a fair amount of stairs which could be a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank S P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
All your comments were much appreciated and we really hope that you will make a return visit to The Exmoor White Horse Inn in the near future. We are sorry that the Loyalty Scheme caused you some concern but rest assured that if you intend visiting us it is well worth registering for. We place huge importance on returning guests, hence the reasoning behind the Loyalty Scheme in the first place. We look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stopped here for a drink after a long walk on Exmoor and we're made very welcome. It's a really nice pub and the menu looked great. We'll definitely return for a meal. It looks like a really nice place to stay as we'll.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fiona W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review and we really hope to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Yet another pleasurable stay at this oasis on the Moors. Management and staff always warm and welcoming. Menus superb, breakfasts to die for. Our annual pilgrimage may well become more frequent. Fantastic walks and scenery that pictures cannot do justice to. Thanks to Peter and Linda for outstanding service. From the Marvins

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Regorstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter H, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you so much. And nothing gives us greater pleasure than to welcome back returning customers, many returning 4 - 6 times a year! So we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We recently stayed here for Easter 2014. The staff are lovely and the service is great. The only think is the confusion that happened over the pricing tariff that we were working from. We found a good rate on line (from the hotel's own website) which was £100 A ROOM a night. We then rang the hotel and they confirmed availability and quote £85 a night. We thought great - good deal. However, checking out of the hotel we found out it was £85 PER PERSON a night - therefore one night was £170. Quite a difference and rarely I am used to prices being PER PERSON. We approach the reception with this and were met with a unsatisfactory response of a yes we have different tariffs - cheaper online to compete with booking agents - you should have made it clear. I know we should have questioned the phone conversation but never thought there was a difference of £70 per night which certainly adds up with a 3 night stay. So we had a lovely time - but was soured slightly by the check out bill and I do not believe it is worth a price of £170 per night. So the moral of this story is make sure you understand what you will be paying - sounds obvious but we learnt the hard way and we are very used to staying in hotels for both business and personal.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sally H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Please accept our apologies for the confusion that seems to have arisen regarding tariffs and we were upset to hear that it spoilt your stay with us. What should have been explained to you is that "Online Tariffs" you mentioned are exactly that, available online only,based on Bed & Breakfast, (rather than the Dinner Bed & Breakfast rate that you were quoted direct from the hotel) and they are prices not offered direct from the hotel, with many requiring upfront payment in total which is non refundable, with prices fluctuating on a daily basis, depending on availability etc. We are sure you are aware that this is the way that online transactions work, be it hotel bookings or simply purchasing goods online, the online price is nearly always cheaper as it is automated, involving no man hours etc! However, we do try to avoid these situations and our full tariff rates are clearly displayed on our website which quite clearly indicate prices as per person, along with any special offers available but once more can only apologise that it was not explained more clearly at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We recently stayed for the weekend with our 3 children to explore the area & do the Exmoor Landrover safari. It is a fantastic hotel, very welcoming, superb food, comfortable rooms etc etc. The view from our window overlooking the green was lovely & the family room was huge! We were made very welcome, the French waiter at breakfast was fab & great with the children :) it was lovely to see the owner's photography adorning the walls too. All in all, a fantastic hotel in a charming location with amazing scenery a short drive away. We must've seen about 150 red deer on our safari too!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GLPJ62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
What more can we say but "Thank You" and please return soon. The Exmoor White Horse Inn and Exmoor itself has so much to offer that one visit can never be enough!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
696 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
578 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
333 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Property: Exmoor White Horse Inn
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing