We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Our friends booked this for a couple of nights through Secret Escapes and as I always read the reviews on trip advisor some were very mixed, so when we arrived I was really pleased the location was beautiful .
The greeting from reception was warm and welcoming .
Our room at the front of the hotel was large and luxurious and overlooked the river .
All the staff instantly made you feel at home and we were given a cream tea lovely warm scones with clotted cream which was lovely and we had it served out by the river .
The location of this hotel is perfect to explore Exmoor and the surrounding area.
Really enjoyed the breakfasts and unlike so many where you help yourself it can be cold or dried up , this was hot and good quality and staff ensured you had plenty of tea coffee /toast .
We chose to eat in the restaurant on both evenings and were given a bottle complimentary wine per couple again I was surprised as this was a good bottle of wine ( not house wine) there was plenty of choice on the menu and we all had a different items off the menu and all meals and prices were good value .
We also looked at the bar menu and could have easily chose off this .
On the Saturday it was busy all day in the bar with people enjoying sitting by the river or having a bar meal and did not hear one negative comment .
The only problem is that we were only there for a weekend and I would like to return for a longer period and see some more of the sights and I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We stopped t the front of the hotel in a Luxury Room was lovely to see the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you, it is people such as yourselves that make all our hard work worthwhile. We have a really hardworking and conscientious team working here at The Exmoor White Horse Inn who pride themselves on the service they offer. So often people only comment on the negative so to receive such positive feedback is like a breath of fresh air to us all. We really hope to be able to welcome you all back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (504)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Enjoyed a couple of nights at this hotel. Food and service were very good. Stayed in a so called Luxury Room which to be fair had seen better days! New carpets would uplift this hotel in one stroke! However, it was spotlessly clean and we had everything we needed!
Hotel is perfect for exploring Exmoor and north Devon/ Somerset coast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EntrepidEastAnglia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you. Your comments have been noted, we run a continuous refurbishment programme for all our rooms, for which feedback is very important. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My second visit of the year and it was perfect. The menu is regularly updated, so I was still spoilt for choice. Breakfast remains one the best things about this hotel - impossible to resist!

The room was comfy and clean with a spacious bathroom.

Exford is an excellent location for exploring Exmoor - but there's several walks that leave from the village. All involve a climb, but what a great way to build up that appetite for dinner!

Room Tip: I love the rooms that overlook the river-side of the hotel's grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you. It is always a pleasure welcoming back familiar faces and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Pretty and peaceful location. We chose this as our touring base for three days, meeting friends from London. Our room was large and luxuriously appointed, very modern for a traditional Inn / Hotel, enjoying a view to the river at the front. A nice touch which we appreciated was the complimentary Cream Tea which we enjoyed sat in the sun by the river on return from a days outing. The Restaurant Menu was very comprehensive with a wide choice, but flattered to deceive as far as the quality was concerned, so here we come to the only negative comment we feel needs to be pointed up. Strangely, like an earlier reviewer, we experienced the very same thing, with our meals on the first evening being overcooked. This happened particularly with the Fish (Skate) which was dried up, but also with the Mediterranean Tart with roasted vegetables. However, I would not wish this to detract totally from that which overall proved to be a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thank you for all your comments and they have been passed on to the relevant people. We really appreciate your time, feedback is very important for us in order that we can continue to improve and make everyone's stay here with us as enjoyable as possible.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

A central to Exmoor busy hotel in lovely quiet village. Room very good, well equipped with wi-fi. Food however varied, breakfast excellent, the dinner menu sounded mouthwatering, unfortunately the eating of them not so, nearly very good but most food overcooked, especially the fish, also overpriced for the quality served. Staff all very helpful.

Had a special escape deal, which made the price about right for the b&b, to pay the full rate would be much too much.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FFC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Whilst we appreciate all your comments we were a little surprised as a couple checking out on the same package as yourselves have just told us that "we tick all the boxes, are exactly what they were expecting and couldn't have wished for more, with both food and service being of excellent quality". However we do understand that everyone's tastes and expectations are different but we always do our utmost to cater for all, offering quality accommodation, food and service at what we consider to be a fair and acceptable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed for one night. Reserved by telephone and was dealt with efficiently and pleasantly by Emma. She was also there to welcome me on my arrival. I had been given room 21 on the second floor. No lift. But not a problem for me.

This is an old Inn with rooms added to the side at some point. Possibly the 70s. Not sure. So there are passages and stairs that have to be negotiated. Both the hotel public rooms and my room were clean, comfortable and in excellent decorative order.

My room was v small for a double and I think not suitable for more than a 2 night stay as a double. No room for an armchair for example, just a over decorative dining chair. Everything worked and the bathroom was, compared to the room itself, a good size and well appointed. V limited tv channels. I had a view over the river Exe, which forms the Inn's boundary to the front. Unable to turn off the bathroom radiator during the night so I sweltered. Didn't shut the door as I had visions of walking into the door in the dark!

Although the public rooms were busy, there is a lovely residents lounge. I enjoyed my supper in the dining room. (Bar meals are also served) My fishy starter of crayfish and salmon was generous and nicely seasoned. My main was a superb piece of local venison. Quite the best that I have had in a long time. Well hung, beautifully roasted but rare. There is a lengthy if somewhat confusing winelist. Breakfast was good and the croissants stood out. Surprisingly poor oj.

Exford is a v pretty village favoured as a stop for walkers and trippers. So the Inn is busy with lunches and also cream teas. In Somerset? Who knew? It seemed pretty busy overnight as the car park was full early morning. Despite this all the staff were helpful and pleasant .

Recommended.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a v small double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dshackell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to leave your review and we thank you for all your comments. The size of our bedrooms vary according to room type and the room you had is a Classic Double which tends to be some of our smaller rooms although there is also a choice of Luxury and Superior rooms. As you can appreciate, rooms in a 16th Century Inn tend to be non-uniform, with all the rooms being very individual, both in size and furnishings unlike modern travel hotels. However, all our rooms are decorated and furnished to the same high standard, with the amount of furnishings being dictated by the size of the room, hence no armchair.
We hope we can welcome you back again when you could have the opportunity to try some of our other room types.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in the White Horse Inn and we loved every single minute from the moment we set foot in the hotel. All the staff is great and made our stay even more memorable. The Inn is in the hart of Exmoor National Park, in the beautiful little village of Exford.
We had a beautiful large room with a view to the river in front of the Inn.
You can eat in the restaurant or the pub in the inn, both offer terrific food and drinks.
When you stay in the inn, make sure you take the Exmoor Safari, 2,5 hours you get to see all the corners of Exmoor Park, with a great guide who will take you to see the red deer ( if you're lucky) and tells great stories.
I recommend the White Horse Inn to everyone who visit Exmoor or the area.
We will come back for sure next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Thank you so much! Please visit us again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
764 reviews
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
Kentisbury Grange Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
650 reviews
5 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
147 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
186 reviews
10.6 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range: £99 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LateRooms, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing