We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Cardigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good pub food.”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We ate in the bar 2 nights out of 3 whilst staying in the village. This is good pub food. We had fish and chips, gammon steak, venison pie, meat platter and steak. All food was fresh and plentiful. Nice atmosphere, used by locals and visitors alike. Good place to sit and enjoy a drink and chat after eating. Lovely to be in a pub with no music or TV on. Attractive looking building. Comfortable benches with cushions at some tables. Good, friendly service. Seating by the river. Refurbished toilets with nice Duck Island hand creme. Excellent selection of single malts for sale in the bar ( prices ranging from about £3.50-£25 a shot!). Recommend a visit. Will definitely return if in the area again. (Hotel and restaurant in the same building although we did not use these)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you.We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. We really look forward to welcoming you back on your return visit, hopefully in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    121
    54
    18
    13
See reviews for
73
289
14
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lambourn, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

A wonderful five night stay. Everything we needed, even a mobile phone charger as we'd forgotten Ours! We stay every year. The staff as always were wonderful. We'll be back again next year. The room is always clean, the staff are always friendly and the scenery is breathtaking.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernadette R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much and we really look forward to your next visit, returning guests are very very important to us. And Exmoor always has something new to offer, no matter how many times you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We went here for lunch on bank holiday monday. Good efficient service and good traditional pub food. Also had a very nice cream tea. The only disappointment was the coffee. I know this is not a coffee shop but the machine coffee was poor. Given the huge demand for good coffee these days surely it has to be worth while investing in a proper coffee machine. Overall we had a good experience and would return but not for the coffee.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
We thank you for all your comments and can only apologise for your poor coffee experience which we are now looking in to. We agree with you regarding good quality coffee which is why we do use excellent quality coffee from local supplier D.J Miles Co Ltd. We have never received complaints about the coffee before and so can only assume there is a problem with the machine (which is also a top quality machine) which we were unaware of. Following your comments this will be tested straight away and we thank you for bringing it to our attention but if you had mentioned it at the time you can be assured that we would have done our utmost to rectify it.
We hope we can welcome you back on a return visit to show you how our coffee should taste!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Our room was very small although well decorated. The double bed was tiny as was the bathroom, however good bed linen and towels were a bonus.

The bar had a good selection of local beers and ciders, wine by the glass was pumped to the bar and had a limited (poor) selection, which was disappointing. The staff were all friendly and happy to spend time discussing local attractions and sights.

The food in the restaurant varied from very good to average, which is something I think the management need to address. The cream teas however were excellent.

A lovely hotel in a great location, we'll worth a visit

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikeyt955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
We have read and noted all your comments. The double bedded room you had was a standard double bed size but was a room that falls into our Classic Double category which in this traditional 16th century inn is the category into which we place our smaller (and cheaper) rooms , but larger rooms, which are only slightly more expensive, are available on request. However, all rooms, whatever the size, are furnished and decorated to the same high standard but as we are sure you can appreciate, in a building of this age the rooms are all individual in size and character. With regards to the wine, although wine by the glass is limited, it is definitely not of poor quality and we do carry an extensive bottled Wine List which is available to both bar and restaurant customers and we are sorry if this was not bought to your attention.. We can only apologise if the food in the restaurant did not meet your expectations and the comments have been forwarded to the Chef. We were pleased o hear that you enjoyed our hospitality, something we place great emphasis on and we really hope we can welcome you back to experience one of our other room types.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winchester
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed for two nights as two couples. We thought our room was small, but our friends' room was smaller, however in good order with good quality bed linen and thick, generously sized towels. The beds are small and very firm. It was busy when we stayed which put pressure on lounge space to meet in as a four. When we could sit outside, it was very pleasant and we became involved in the cricket club's duck race (we didn't win). The beers (I'm told) were good but any wine by the glass had to be chosen from a very poor list which seemed like a missed opportunity. The staff we came across were very friendly, approachable and knowledgeable about the area and places of interest. We were served a very lovely cream tea on one of our afternoons, so all in all a very pleasant stay was enjoyed by us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning_Diner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you. With regards to Wine by the Glass, although the selection might seem limited you can rest assured that they are quality wines which are more than amply backed up by our extensive Wine List for Bottled Wine, as we take great pride in offering a very extensive and quality bottled wine list. We hope to be able to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this lovely hotel. The bedroom was lovely & big with a very comfortable bed and views out from the front of the hotel. Sneaked a look into their Honeymoon Room which was being renovated - definitely try to book that one next time, it looked delightful! Staff were very friendly and knowledgable about the area, happy to chat rather than rush off like some do. Had an enjoyable cream tea sitting by the river, it was great just to watch the world go by and so quiet too, I think the beautiful weather also helped! Only had one evening meal at the hotel which was delicious, good portions & fresh ingredients. As we'd booked through Secret Escapes received a free good quality bottle of wine, would definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggybaghurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Thank you. all of you comments are much appreciated. We treat all of our guests as we would hope to be treated ourselves and take great pleasure in getting to know them, its all part of the true Exmoor Hospitality that we pride ourselves on.. We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exmoor National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Our family was staying at nearby Westermill Farm and had various meals in the White Horse bar. Fab service, very reasonable prices, scrumptious food, thoughtful children's menu and not too mean to serve bowls of excellent chips at lunch time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank 132cristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PeterHendrie, Manager at Exmoor White Horse Inn, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Your comments are much appreciated. We aim to provide value for money and truly value all our customers, bar, food, restaurant and hotel and we pride ourselves on offering a quality service at reasonable prices right across all the various area. We hope to welcome you back when you are next on Exmoor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
9.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
694 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
168 reviews
4.9 mi away
Simonsbath House
Simonsbath House
#1 of 1 in Simonsbath
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
572 reviews
6.1 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
332 reviews
10.8 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Exmoor White Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exmoor White Horse Inn

Property: Exmoor White Horse Inn
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7PY, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Exford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Exmoor White Horse Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst the scenic beauty of Exmoor National Park, this family run, historic coaching Inn offers luxury accommodation, free Wi-Fi, free parking, and is just 10 miles from both Minehead and the West Somerset and North Devon Coast. Dating back to the 16th Century, the Exmoor White Horse Inn is wreathed in Virginia Creeper ivy and sits majestically by a bridge over the River Exe. Oozing with rustic charm, the Inn celebrates the wonders of its historic past whilst providing a contemporary and sophisticated accommodation experience. Classic period features blend seamlessly with sumptuous soft furnishings and chic interiors to form an idyllic welcoming atmosphere in this spectacular part of the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Exmoor White Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Exmoor White Horse Hotel Exford
Exmoor White Horse Exford
Exmoor White Horse Inn Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing