We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westermill Farm holidays Ltd
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

As has been said by other reviewers, beautiful setting but limited facilities. And despite the fact that the farm has won 'green' awards, there appeared to be no recycling facilities and two of the four or five toilets in the block on Field 4 flushed themselves continuously. I realise there's not really a shortage of water at the moment (!) but this doesn't seem very environmentally friendly. On the plus side, while the field got incredibly soggy because of the continuous rain we've had this 'summer' the owner was on hand to pull anyone out who got stuck which was reassuring. The stream was a big hit with the kids and the firepits were great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JemmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spending the Bank Holiday at this site - we were pleased on the arrival - a picturesque area of the country and a bike ride away from the nearest village.

The 4 fields were smallish so difficult for the kids to wander off too far and had a stream running across the bottom of the fields which again kept the children busy, though also very safe.

The fields had hills surrounding it which provided ample opportunity for walking if you wanted to and being a working farm that we were also able to take the kids to see the chickens, pigs, cows, sheep.

Also the fact that you could have camp fires was a big plus.

I would say that the toilet block, whilst always clean was a bit limited, particularly for men and showers, though you're not expecting 5* accom.

Would certainly recommend for active families looking to make the most of the local area

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The campsite is in a lovely setting with 4 fields with level pitches. There is a stream which runs along the bottom of the fields and there is lots of wildlife about (owls, dippers and cuckoos!)

The showers are limited (3 for ladies) but it seems another block is being built. The ladies shower room could do with some better lighting as quite dark in there.

The camp website advertises that this is a quiet site and you should not be able to hear your neighbours radio and that most people like to retire by11.00 pm. I think it would be useful to have signs to this effect up at the site as not all campers seem to be aware of this on our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have recently come back from a stay at Westermill farm. I have to say that we were left disapointed, althought the location is beautiful, and the pitches are nice and flat, the facitities were really lacking.

It would seem that someone has spent money on this campsite a long time ago, in building toilet blocks, then just left it, with no updating and maintanance. I have read on other reviews, from this site and others, that many campers are as disillusioned as we were, commenting on similar things we found to be at fault, such as a lack of hot water, and in one toilet block, no hot water at all! The toilets were not cleaned for at least 3 days, as the same sweet and sanitary wrappers littered the floor of the ladies toilets for the entirety of our stay. The lights in the main toilet/shower block would not turn on, meaning I had to shower my self, and children in a very dim light, which was quite tricky.
I wouldn't really have minded any of this, had I been paying less money, but at £6.50 per adult per night, £3.50 per child per night, then an additional £2.50 per night for the car, it puts a night of family camping int the £20+ range. I am sure this is excellent value in the high summer, but out of season, I have to say it is a rip off. We have stayed on cheeper, cleaner and better value sites on Exmoor and the surrounding areas, and whilst there this time, took the time to visit others, which were also better value and better cared for and maintained.

We camp a lot, and are used to things not being perfect, but my BIG complaint, as I mentioned above, is that you normally get what you pay for, and we certainly did not feel this site was value for money, and would not return unless things changed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank leezard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Westermill Farm was visited in August of this year. We went on the recommendation of several national newspapers who rated Westermill as one of the best in the country. I can see the appeal, but here is a run-down of good and bad:-

Good
- Beautiful surroundings, good access to Exmoor, which is amazing.
- Good food places nearby in Exford
- Shop has useful things in it like beer and meat
- Freezers for ice-blocks
- Toilets are okay as are showers - think this view may differ if you are a man or a woman
- It is fairly cheap

Bad
- It is not really a walk to Exford for a pint / meal in the evening (we did it and it was an hour each way)
- The toilets / showers could be improved
- It is down in a valley, so gets quite cold at night. Position your tent carefully to get an extra hour's sunlight at night (we failed to do this)

Oh yes, the answer to the question in the title thread is no it is not wrong to laugh. This is particularly the case when they are an absolute bunch of toe-rags by the names of Albie, Millam, Milo (no, that is not a joke!), Barnaby etc. etc. and their parents are a bunch of Guardian-reading, non-disciplining fools with no concept of other people.

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dazcarrlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2011

This was the second time we have visited Westermill Farm, although my wife has been visiting this site with her family since she was a child. One of the reasons she was keen to return was that the site "hadn't changed" from how she (fondly) remembered it, but we are now of the opinion that this may also be the site's biggest downfall too.

There's no denying that the location is fantastic - probably one of the best for camping on Exmoor. The valley is nicely sheltered, the pitches are almost all flat and the surroundings are stunning. Unfortunately it seems Westermill is riding pretty much on location alone now and has little to shout about in the way of facilities. We note also that it is one of the most expensive sites we have camped at on Exmoor, yet it struggles to justify any premium.

As other reviewers have mentioned, the welcome was not especially warm, both in person and ease of entrance. The entrance road has a number of very large pot-holes which I know have gone untouched for at least 2 years, but I suspect much longer. Not a problem for 4x4 farm traffic I suspect, but not acceptable for the majority of visitors in normal family cars, especially when heavily laden as most new arrivals will be. The same is true of the track through fields 2/3 which no matter how slowly you approach is a strain on the suspension.

The shower and toilet facilities are also desperately in need of updating, or at least MUCH more attentive maintenance. Admittedly we we camping out of high season, but I was not aware of the toilets being cleaned at any time during our stay. The female members of our party complained of no toilet paper in any but one toilet by the last day. The hairdryer also did not work.

There was no hot water (or soap) in the far toilet block at all, with no messages/posters etc. to explain why or when it might be resolved. Also apparently no hot water at the pot-washing area.

The main gent's toilet block was better stocked and did have hot water, however it is seriously showing its age and considering there were no more than 5 tents on the entire site during our stay, was not especially clean. The suspended ceiling for example is covered in a layer of cobwebs that could have been vacuumed out in minutes. Again, I note this was exactly the same on my last stay over 2 years ago. There is no hand dryer in the far toilet block (gents), and the one in the main toilet block didn't work.

We're experienced campers who don't enjoy nor make habit of finding fault but sadly we will probably not return to this site. The lure of the superb location just isn't enough any more, when only a slight compromise in location finds you on a cheaper site with significantly better facilities.

Room Tip: Camp in the quieter fields 2 or 3. Don't expect A1 facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank campatronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We have just returned from what should have been a week long holiday camping at Westermill. We left after five nights for several reasons but mainly because of the adverse weather conditions.
This campsite is situated in the most amazing location, miles from the narrowest single track lane, with a stream flowing through it and walks straight up onto Exmoor. But the facilities desperately need updating.
Upon arrival the welcome was professional, if a little abrupt but the owner told us all we needed to know and we duely paid and found a place to pitch our tent. There are no set pitches which is nice but we were surprised to see it so quite during the week leading up to August Bank Holiday weekend.
We camped in field 3, which could easilly accomodate 20 or so tents but the most there were at any one time was about 7.Our children enjoyed the freedom this site allowed , they played on the tyre and rope swings and enjoyed paddling in the stream.
But at the end of the day when they wanted a warm shower the water was luke warm and the shower block wasn't the most welcoming place. There isn't a shower tray or curtain so other than a few broken hooks on the back of the doors there is nowhere to keep clothes dry and nowhere dry to stand after the shower. The concrete floor was covered in grass a lot of the time too. The soap dispensers never had soap in them and there is no hand drying facility or hair dryer (which I can cope without, but the website says there is one!) I saw the shower block being cleaned once but the girl was juts pointing a hose pipe in the cubical and there wasn't a cleaning product in sight.
We are quite seasoned campers but at the price they are charging you do expect the basic facilities to be up to standard.
The shop seemed well stocked but to be honest there is a perfectly good Spar type shop in Exford and that's only 2 miles away.
We did the blue walk one day and found the directions to be excellent and the scenery outstanding but the red walk was harder because the directions weren't as good and we ended up getting lost high up on Exmoor in the pouring rain and turning what should have been an hour and a half walk into over two hours long but it was entertaining.
The cows make for an interesting stay too and the owners need to think about how disputive they are. Because whilst we were trying to sleep in the valley of this campsite, high up in the fields are cattle that howl all night like they are being slaugtered.
There is a real missed opportunity with this site, with a few updates this campsite could be so much better. We have stayed at sites with better facilites and paid less.
We won't be returning unless we swap our tent for a caravan complete with our own facilities but there is not much change of that happening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
3.2 mi away
Exmoor Forest Inn
Exmoor Forest Inn
#1 of 2 in Simonsbath
398 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
16.1 mi away
Combe Martin Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#1 of 8 in Exford
155 reviews
16.3 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#6 of 7 in Combe Martin
634 reviews
2.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westermill Farm holidays Ltd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westermill Farm holidays Ltd

Address: | Westermill farm, Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Exford
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westermill Farm can be found tucked away at the end of a private valley, deep in the rugged heart of Exmoor National Park. Family run beef and sheep working hill farm, with Scandinavian style self-catering cottage. Campsite Top farm on the River Exe ideal for the getaway from it all experience ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westermill Farm Holidays Ltd Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing