We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Spot”
Review of Westermill Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Exford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Westermill Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton UK
Level Contributor
229 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A Great Spot”
Reviewed 14 February 2013

We spend 2 nights in our campervan at Westermill Farm on their camp site (they also have holiday cottages/lodges) We were the only people camping at the time so really enjoyed getting away from it all, woke to snow on the second day !! Our first camp in the snow
Due to the winter only part of the campsite was open the larger toilet and shower block closed. But small block open (older but but fine) plenty of hot water for those broving the shower.

Small farm shop on site


This is the type of camp site we like no club house etc Well done Westermill farm and thanks for opening 365 days a year

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthamptonUKAndy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    17
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed 3 days in Gorse cottage, a lovely cottage with great facilities - a woodfire, comfy beds and a well equiped kitchen. It wasn't the lap of luxury, but isn't charged as such. Friendly collies and chickens. Would happily return. We looked at the campsite too and whilst it was fairly basic, it looked like a lovely quiet place to camp.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McDencho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

As has been said by other reviewers, beautiful setting but limited facilities. And despite the fact that the farm has won 'green' awards, there appeared to be no recycling facilities and two of the four or five toilets in the block on Field 4 flushed themselves continuously. I realise there's not really a shortage of water at the moment (!) but this doesn't seem very environmentally friendly. On the plus side, while the field got incredibly soggy because of the continuous rain we've had this 'summer' the owner was on hand to pull anyone out who got stuck which was reassuring. The stream was a big hit with the kids and the firepits were great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JemmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

Spending the Bank Holiday at this site - we were pleased on the arrival - a picturesque area of the country and a bike ride away from the nearest village.

The 4 fields were smallish so difficult for the kids to wander off too far and had a stream running across the bottom of the fields which again kept the children busy, though also very safe.

The fields had hills surrounding it which provided ample opportunity for walking if you wanted to and being a working farm that we were also able to take the kids to see the chickens, pigs, cows, sheep.

Also the fact that you could have camp fires was a big plus.

I would say that the toilet block, whilst always clean was a bit limited, particularly for men and showers, though you're not expecting 5* accom.

Would certainly recommend for active families looking to make the most of the local area

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2012

The campsite is in a lovely setting with 4 fields with level pitches. There is a stream which runs along the bottom of the fields and there is lots of wildlife about (owls, dippers and cuckoos!)

The showers are limited (3 for ladies) but it seems another block is being built. The ladies shower room could do with some better lighting as quite dark in there.

The camp website advertises that this is a quiet site and you should not be able to hear your neighbours radio and that most people like to retire by11.00 pm. I think it would be useful to have signs to this effect up at the site as not all campers seem to be aware of this on our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAntony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We have recently come back from a stay at Westermill farm. I have to say that we were left disapointed, althought the location is beautiful, and the pitches are nice and flat, the facitities were really lacking.

It would seem that someone has spent money on this campsite a long time ago, in building toilet blocks, then just left it, with no updating and maintanance. I have read on other reviews, from this site and others, that many campers are as disillusioned as we were, commenting on similar things we found to be at fault, such as a lack of hot water, and in one toilet block, no hot water at all! The toilets were not cleaned for at least 3 days, as the same sweet and sanitary wrappers littered the floor of the ladies toilets for the entirety of our stay. The lights in the main toilet/shower block would not turn on, meaning I had to shower my self, and children in a very dim light, which was quite tricky.
I wouldn't really have minded any of this, had I been paying less money, but at £6.50 per adult per night, £3.50 per child per night, then an additional £2.50 per night for the car, it puts a night of family camping int the £20+ range. I am sure this is excellent value in the high summer, but out of season, I have to say it is a rip off. We have stayed on cheeper, cleaner and better value sites on Exmoor and the surrounding areas, and whilst there this time, took the time to visit others, which were also better value and better cared for and maintained.

We camp a lot, and are used to things not being perfect, but my BIG complaint, as I mentioned above, is that you normally get what you pay for, and we certainly did not feel this site was value for money, and would not return unless things changed.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leezard1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Westermill Farm was visited in August of this year. We went on the recommendation of several national newspapers who rated Westermill as one of the best in the country. I can see the appeal, but here is a run-down of good and bad:-

Good
- Beautiful surroundings, good access to Exmoor, which is amazing.
- Good food places nearby in Exford
- Shop has useful things in it like beer and meat
- Freezers for ice-blocks
- Toilets are okay as are showers - think this view may differ if you are a man or a woman
- It is fairly cheap

Bad
- It is not really a walk to Exford for a pint / meal in the evening (we did it and it was an hour each way)
- The toilets / showers could be improved
- It is down in a valley, so gets quite cold at night. Position your tent carefully to get an extra hour's sunlight at night (we failed to do this)

Oh yes, the answer to the question in the title thread is no it is not wrong to laugh. This is particularly the case when they are an absolute bunch of toe-rags by the names of Albie, Millam, Milo (no, that is not a joke!), Barnaby etc. etc. and their parents are a bunch of Guardian-reading, non-disciplining fools with no concept of other people.

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank dazcarrlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Exford
0.0 mi away
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
Sandaway Beach Holiday Park
#5 of 7 in Combe Martin
562 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
0.0 mi away
Edgcott House
Edgcott House
#2 of 8 in Exford
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel, Exford
0.0 mi away
Edgcott Cottage B&B
Edgcott Cottage B&B
#6 of 8 in Exford
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Exmoor Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westermill Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westermill Farm

Property: Westermill Farm
Address: Exford, Exmoor National Park TA24 7NJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Exford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Exford
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Westermill Farm can be found tucked away at the end of a private valley, deep in the rugged heart of Exmoor National Park. Family run beef and sheep working hill farm, with Scandinavian style self-catering cottage. Campsite Top farm on the River Exe ideal for the getaway from it all experience ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Westermill Farm Exmoor National Park/Exford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing