We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super food”
Review of The Crown Hotel

The Crown Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Description: 17th Century Family Run Coaching Inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. 16 en suite bedrooms, cosy country bar and award-winning restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: 17th Century Family Run Coaching Inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. 16 en suite bedrooms, cosy country bar and award-winning restaurant.
Alcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super food”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Loved everything about it. Friendly staff, good service, excellent real ales and good wine. The food is a delight, superb produce beautifully cooked. There is a dining room (it is a hotel) but we ate in the bar which has the friendly atmosphere of a local pub with the addition of really seriously good food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Josie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    22
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly staff”
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Have eaten here a few times and it never disappoints. Good choice on the menu, hearty portions and great tasting food. Will be back again next time we're in the area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The Crown is a nice, traditional Exmoor pub.
We ate in the bar, rather than the formal restaurant area, so that we could bring our dog in with us.
Although it was rather noisy (some lively local characters downing their pints), we had a good time.
Excellent, prompt and very friendly service.

The real surprise was the food.
The stake & ale pie and the fillet were both magnificent! This is pub food that puts many other pubs to shame. Superb, home-cooked, English food.
A pint of Exmoor Gold turned out to be the perfect accompaniment.

Also worth exploring is the nice riverside walk along public footpaths, directly opposite the Crown - walk past the school, follow the signs.

The Crown is a a real credit to Exford!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank staghunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We stopped here for Sunday lunch; a cosy pub with very few customers. We both had the roast beef, which I found very good, though it was too rare for my partner's taste.
At £11.50, it was quite expensive, and we did not appreciate the rather raucous piped music.

Helpful?
1 Thank DevonGrockle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“GOOD FOOD”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

The menu was extensive and the food well cooked, the beer was excellent and the service was fine. We ate in the bar area on both occasions we visited and the same 'character' was in both nights. Use the restaurant if you want to avoid the colourful language from what I guess was a, 'not so young regular'.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank roger c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Hotel also viewed

Challacombe, Exmoor National Park
 
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
Wheddon Cross, Exmoor National Park
 
Winsford, Exmoor National Park
Wootton Courtenay, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing