We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great staff”

The Crown Hotel Exford
Ranked #2 of 3 Restaurants in Exford
Certificate of Excellence
Description: 17th Century Family Run Coaching Inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. 16 en suite bedrooms, cosy country bar and award-winning restaurant.
Restaurant details
Description: 17th Century Family Run Coaching Inn at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. 16 en suite bedrooms, cosy country bar and award-winning restaurant.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped here for a pint and some lunch and stayed for a few more and returned again for dinner, the food was amazing, good sized portions on a very difficult to chose from menu, I will be returning!

1  Thank CaerChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed your lunch and dinner with us.

Our food is all freshly prepared and cooked in our kitchens with a wide choice of dishes to suit most palates. Plenty to choose from with our main menu and seasonal specials and all home cooked where possible.

We look forward to your return.
Best wishes - Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2018 via mobile

We stopped here on a sunny afternoon for a lunchtime drink. The staff were very welcoming even though we had 4 dogs with us. The locals were also friendly and created a very relaxing atmosphere.

Although we didn’t eat, the food did look good. We will definitely come back.

Thank 5goldens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for your review and it was lovely to meet you and all your dogs.

We are a family run establishment with three generations working to make the make the Crown a friendly and welcoming place to come whether for a drink, food or to stay. Dogs are always welcome and add to the convivial atmosphere.

We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit.

Best wishes - Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

So had a meal here on a Sunday night when in the area. The restaurant was very quiet but this didn’t effect things, service was friendly and efficient, menu was varied with plenty of choice, our starters of twice baked cheese soufflé and crab cake were good, mains of pork belly and barbecue pork ribs respectively were tasty and plenty of both, nice bottle of Pinot Grigio from a good wine list topped this off. Very good all round.

Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your meal with us on Sunday.

Our food is all freshly prepared and cooked in our kitchen with lots of choice on the menu from pub classics to more refined dishes. Our wine list offers a good selection and our real ales are also popular.

We hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Exmoor.
Best wishes - Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Good location, service, food , staff ... heart of Exmoor.... great place... have rooms too but didn’t see them

Thank Leigh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for your review.

We are very lucky to be in the village of Exford at the heart of the Exmoor National Park. We overlook the village green a great spot to sit and watch the village and relax. We have rooms as well as our bar and restaurant, all individually styled with modern amenities.

We are pleased you enjoyed your visit with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes - Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We really enjoyed our stay here. Our hosts were warm and friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room, room 3, was well appointed and had some nice touches that are so often missing, free bottle water for instance, whilst the bed/mattress was extremely comfortable. We ate in the bar on both occasions and on both nights the food was exceptional - far better than we expected - congratulations to all concerned. Breakfast was wide ranging and plentiful - the super food breakfast was innovative and tasty. All in all a lovely stay - we will be back - when it stops raining !

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CAHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbrides, Owner at The Crown Hotel Exford, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your review and lovely comments and it was great to see you both.

We are a family owned and run hotel and like to make all our guests feel at home when they stay. Our rooms are individually styled with guest comfort the main priority.

Chef does a great job in the kitchen with our varied menu and freshly prepared dishes.and the bar is cosy and a great place to catch up with all the local gossip!

Sorry we couldn't fix the weather but look forward to seeing you both again.

Very best wishes - Sara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Crown Hotel Exford also viewed

 
Withypool, Exmoor National Park
Dulverton, Exmoor National Park
 
Porlock, Exmoor National Park
Winsford, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to The Crown Hotel Exford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing